2000 Pontiac Grand Am from North America


It's a bargain if they work out the mechanical kinks


In Decemeber of 2002, the starter was replaced. In March of 2003, the fuel injector was replaced. Now, (June of 03) the car is currently at the Pontiac Dealer. At first, the mechanic stated that the starter censor needs to be replaced. Then the mechanic stated that after they replaced the starter censor, the car was still cutting off and they are not sure what is wrong with it. The car is still in the shop now. Also, earlier this year, the automatic seat controls stopped working. The brakes started acting up a few months after we bought the car in.

General Comments:

The vehicle is good when it works.

The interior is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 6 cylinder from North America


Not worth the trouble


1. Usual bad brake rotors. Seems fixed, but too early to tell yet.

2. Intermittent Turn signal Operation. No idea on this one.

3. "Service Vehicle Soon" comes on when low beam H/L went out. Why?

4. Terrible radio reception. No fix as of yet.

5. "Loose" rear end under hard braking/cornering.

General Comments:

I just hate having to pay payments on something that I have to keep fixing. Guess I'll just have to get something that doesn't have so many little issues. As of now, the car's engine and tranny are great at 54,000 miles. (knock on wood). The lights, breaks, and small electrical issues will drive you crazy. The car is fun to drive if you can get past having to have it fixed at least once and oil change cycle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

18th Jul 2003, 12:03

I have had my car for almost 2 years and I have just replaced the brakes and rotors.

The only major problem I have had was the transmission.

I had it rebuilt at 55,000 miles. However, I drove the car for 8 months before we finally concluded that it was the transmission that needed to be replaced. Yet still, it never left me stranded.

Overall I love my car!

30th Sep 2003, 20:53

I also had turn signal problems. They would only work half the time with a loud buzzing noise. I replaced the turn signal relay switch which is connected to the hazard button. I tried to buy it at an aftermarket store, but it was a dealer only part. I was able to buy it from the dealership for about $45.00. Dealership told me this was a common problem with the grand ams. All is well with them now.

6th Apr 2004, 10:43

I like my car the only problems I have had are the blinkers.

13th Oct 2004, 02:02

Here is a link for a GM recall on the notorious random clicking from your Grand-Am turn signals.


2000 Pontiac Grand Am V6 from North America


Even though this car looks great, looks are deceiving when it comes to this hard to fix car


When I first got this car, the engine light was on. I had to have a sensor put on which cost over $200. After that was replaced, the car was doing fine until one day I was driving along and it just shut off. I coasted to the side of the road, waited for a while, started it again, and drove it home. Now, I can go about 30 miles before it shuts down again.

I took it to a Pontiac dealer, who did a diagnostic and had another $200 sensor put on. I drove it home fine, but when I drove it again, it shut down again while driving. Now it seems that no one knows what is wrong with it. Some say it's the fuel pump, and some say it's the computer system. All that I can say is that I'm really hating this car now, and that I've run out of time, patience, and money.

General Comments:

I used to love the style and handling of this car, but with the problems that I'm having now, I don't think that a Pontiac will be my next choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th June, 2003

26th Oct 2004, 06:43

I got a 2000 Pontiac Grand AM with the same exact problem as you stated. My mechanic (20+ years experience) that does most of my repair work don't know what the heck is going on here. Also, the turn signals work whenever they want. I checked on the recalls, but my car wasn't built at the factory of the recalled cars.

4th Nov 2004, 12:20

Glad to know about the recall-hope mine's one of them.

Mine keeps loosing power for a few seconds while driving it (highway or city), then most of the time, I get the power back. Sometimes it will completely stall. I've had it in the shop three times so far, and the mechanics can't figure out what's wrong with it. I have a new converter and muffler (it was backfiring-and still does sometimes just a little when the car loses power), new fuel injectors, fuel pump, fuel filter, plugs, and "wires/boots". No codes are being set off. Does ANYONE have any ideas? I've spent over $2000 in the last year and still haven't gotten it fixed. Please e-mail me @ cmelkins7@yahoo.com if you do. Also, my turn signals/hazard lights sometimes don't work and there's an annoying clicking noise in the dash if they do work. I'm.