2000 Pontiac Grand Am 3.4 from North America


I love the car, but I am frustrated


I am having problems with the window regulators. Right now Both windows have broken. All pontiac has is two small plastic brackets holding the window in place. I live in a cold weather state and now neither of my windows work and to fix them it is over $700.

I am frustrated, but I do love my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

16th Aug 2004, 16:32

I have the exact same problem with my 2000 Grand Am, both windows have broken, to replace the "plastic" that holds them up it would be over $500!

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 RAM AIR from North America


A great car, if Pontiac would fix the tire rubbing problem


Side Molding Falling Off.

General Comments:

This review might help a lot of you other Grand Am owners out there. The horrible "rubbing" noise coming from your front tires are not the brakes and rotors... so STOP replacing them. The noise is from the tires rubbing on the rims. I have been told by my dealership that Pontiac has had new tires re-engineered to stop this problem. All 4 tires need to be replaced and Pontiac should go good for the cost. I have been waiting over a month now and haven't gotten my new tires yet. There is such a demand (because every Pontiac Grand Am has this problem) that it could take months for them to come in. Until then I will have to live with the grinding noise.

Other than the rubbing, I have had no other problems. It is a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th March, 2003

2nd May 2003, 18:23

Finally I know what the problem is! Everyone that's driven in my car has guessed the brakes... and here I thought it was just my car!

24th May 2003, 22:36

The Noise on my car was the beaks and rotors. At 29,000 Miles they started making noise. The inner breaks on the 2000 Grand AM GT wears irregularly, do not listen to what the dealer tells you. They are full of it. I have had to take mine in 4 times for recalls already. The engine runs fine, it's the rest of the car that isn't so great. It seem like something is always broken.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L V6 from North America


A great car to lease and get rid of


Brake pads replaced every 8000 miles or so, far too often.

Horrible front-end grinding at 25,000 miles, had to replace rotors.

Horrible front-end grinding has returned now, although the noise is now constant at low speeds. I was told the caliper piston seized ($650)

Coolant leak on intake manifold at 45,000 miles ($700)

Rubber molding on rear bumper peeling off.

Water in the headlamps.

Slight rusting on drivers side door.

General Comments:

This car was great... when I first got it. All the above listed issues are far too much for a car to have in its first three years. The future is scary with this thing.

Sound system is excellent.

Car handles fairly well around tight turns and in poor weather conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

8th Aug 2003, 15:06

The horrible front end grinding that you hear at low speeds is most likely the tires flexing and rubbing on the wheel. Replacing the brakes, etc will not make it go away. The noise is actually more like a "chug-a-chug" sound. The only way to fix it is to replace the Goodyear tires with another brand. I think the only other brand that has the correct size is Dunlop.

30th Sep 2003, 20:59

I had the grinding noise on my front end too. Turned out to be tires. Bad design by Good Year. Ribs rubbing on rim causing noise (most noticeably at low speeds). If you are still under warranty, complain about all 4 tires making noise. They replaced 2 of mine, but by the time the new ones come in, my warranty had expired. But my noise is only coming from back tires now.

23rd Mar 2004, 20:04

I have a lot of problems with my 2000 Grand Am Gt:

* Horn has stopped working

* Trunk release on driver side door no longer works

* CD player no longer works and display panel is constantly garbled and unable to be read

* Rubbing of front tires on rims at slow speeds

* Power seat no longer works

* Trim on back bumper is coming off

* Fuel pump went out

Other than this, love the car-fun to drive, I get tons of compliments on it, and love the look-getting rid of it here in the next month or so before anything major goes wrong!! I would like to add that I take VERY good care of this car, it has relatively low miles, and is cleaned inside and out EVERY weekend weather permitting (I live in OHIO!) I even have EVERY oil change and service record for this car-so it isn't poor care that has caused these problems!!