2002 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 12 of 21

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 HO V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 HO V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53138 miles
Most recent distance56832 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Fast, but maybe frail?

Faults:

Shocks squeaked, but that was fixed under warranty.

Power Steering shaft broke at 56,000 miles. I forced the dealer to fix it at gunpoint.

The turn signal clicker will click rapidly without the turn signal being on. Not a real big deal to me.

The computer messes up sometimes, it says that the engine and brakes are not working in high humidity.

General Comments:

I like this car a lot better than the 98 Malibu I had before, It's a lot more solid and well built. I like the fact that the starter is electronic and prevents you from over-cranking the engine.

This is a very powerful car and I like it a lot. I just hope I don't have any serious problems.

I think that the newly designed computer system in this car makes the guages much more accurate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2006

24th Jul 2006, 15:28

The constant clicking noise is actually the turn signal selector switch. It is easy to remedy the problem by removing it from the top of the steering coumn (3 screws and 3 wiring harnesses), remove a couple of screws and pry the turn signal side open a bit, then spray some electrical contact cleaner inside. I did mine about a year ago and have not had a problem since. Good luck.

For a step by step, go to gaownersclub.com.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

Weird

Faults:

My car will go for weeks without anything going wrong, and then it will just not start at all. The shops can’t even get a code on it. It does it almost every month? Does anyone else have this problem?

General Comments:

It is a fast (when it runs) and a very good-looking car. The inside is very roomy and comfortable as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

5th Apr 2006, 18:15

I have a 2001 Grand Am as well. I have only had it not start on me once. It is because of the security "GM Pass-lock II" system. I can't remember now what I did to make it start, but it's in the manual and it was quick and easy. Hasn't happened since.

19th Sep 2006, 19:49

The electronic crap can be a real headache on ANY car. Your dealer (or even Auto Zone) will usually be happy to help you with these kinds of problems. I, too, own a 2001 Grand Am, but I have been lucky enough to never (yet) even have one problem with it. In the past I did have some electrical problems with my Japanese car and Auto Zone was really great about helping me with that. They are really good about trying to help people with car problems.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L Ram Air V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L Ram Air V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Overall an extremely awesome car!

Faults:

When I bought the car it was three years old and there was 62000 miles wrong. Dealership swore nothing was wrong, but I bought a extended warranty with it. Good thing:

Fog lamp relay blown.

Driver side window switch worked when it wanted to.

Headlight fell out of the car.

Front stabilizer bar and strut went bad.

Sunroof works when it wants to.

General Comments:

All of the above was covered by my warranty. Most of the above problems are nothing major.

I have read reviews of many of the same major problems reoccurring. Kind of scares me.

I love the acceleration power, takes nothing to get going.

The transmission, that is supposed to be more choppy in the GT that the SE is extremely smooth.

Starts rough and cranks hard, but that is common, scares me a little though.

Seats are comfortable, the back seat is hard to get into however.

The factory sound system (Monsoon) is bumpin'!!

It is extremely stylish, doesn't need any after market parts, wheels, etc. to make it stand out it does it on it's own.

I love the car, despite what I have recently read on this site, especially for the money! I would definatly buy another one if they still made them. Next car will be a GTO.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2005

17th Feb 2006, 19:39

I absolutely love my 2002 Grand Am GT. I've always loved foreign cars, and recently owned a Honda and a Mazda, but after test driving a Grand Am, I quickly changed my opinion on domestic cars. It rides smooth, handles great and has a lot of power. This car is so driver friendly, it's got a great stereo, and it is so fun to drive.

I have read the comments of other owners, and the only thing that worries me is the window thing. But, the truth is that all cars need repairs eventually, and I've done fewer repairs on my Grand Am than any other car I've owned.

2nd Jun 2006, 11:10

My Grand AM SE-1 has 50,000 miles on it now and I have yet to have one problem with it. I have the 4 cylinder and get an average of 27 to 29 mpg. The power is more than adequate.

I've owned one German car and one Japanese car, and the Grand Am is far better (and faster) than either. This car has once more (after a lapse of 25 years) brought me back to GM. I'm impressed with the quality and refinement. The imports have nothing on the Grand AM.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 72 reviews