2002 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 14 of 21

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Look at something else

Faults:

Brakes felt lousy when I bought it. Dealer replaced them.

One of the computer modules went and the car wouldn't start (covered by warranty, but about $1200 if not).Had to wait almost a week for parts to come in and schedule (car dead in the mean time) One week later the module that reads the chip in the ignition key (Pass-Lock) also went (replaced under warranty, but within a week of warranty end). Asked Pontiac to extend warranty because these expensive repairs seemed related. After weeks of arguing, they still refused.

Sunroof leaks in heavy rain.

General Comments:

Pontiac could have easily extended the warranty to give me peace of mind, but refused.

I cringe every time it rains.

Eats brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19379 miles
Most recent distance27373 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A car that most people would be jealous of, if kept up to showroom standards

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

In a previous review, I read that it starts hard and cranks late, that's true, but once the engine is going, it's all smiles from there.

General Comments:

This car is a very sporty, rather comfortable car to drive.

Accelerates quick, smokes a lot of the competition.

Turning is smooth, shifting is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2005

17th Oct 2005, 11:46

Well, with the bad experience that I had with my 1999 Grand Am, it wasn't a matter of keeping it up to showroom standards, it was a matter of just keeping it on the road! With one repair after another every other month that was draining my bank account, the Grand Am name deserved to be dropped by GM.

6th Jun 2006, 10:41

I traded a near-mint condition '89 Mustang 5.0 in on my 2001 Grand Am and I have never missed the Mustang one bit. The Grand Am is far and away the best vehicle I have ever had the pleasure of owning. Mine is an SE-1 with the 4 cylinder, and the performance is absolutely awesome. It is almost as fast as my Mustang, but is much smoother and quieter, and gets exactly TWICE the gas mileage.

The styling of the Grand Am is very sleek and sporty. It's the only compact car that doesn't look like all the boring and bland ones uglying up the roads.

I've never had a second's trouble with mine, and it looks like it just rolled off the assembly line after nearly 6 years of use.

I'm furious that Pontiac replaced this beautiful and sporty car with the boring and ugly G6.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired400 kilometres
Most recent distance71000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Garbage like all other GM's I've owned

Faults:

Battery cable replaced few weeks after owning it.

Grinding noise coming from front end. Two goodyear tires replaced under warranty.

Scratches on windows from putting then up and down.

Power seat quit working.

68,000 head gasket blew not covered under warranty. Warranty ended at 60,000kms.

71,000 strange noise from the front end, but knew it wasn't the motor. need to replace wheel bearing and control arm bushing.

Since my warranty has ran out in 2months I will have forked out 3000.00 in repairs on this Grand Am.

So glad I purchased such a reliable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2005

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT1 3.4 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20100 miles
Most recent distance22600 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Not a BMW, handles well, and doesn't break the bank

Faults:

Two days after the car was purchased, the passenger power window regulator was bad. GM certified.

General Comments:

Perfect first car for a single person.

Has awesome low end torque.

Great gas tank for high gas prices in Illinois. Hopefully it will handle well in the winter.

Some older person must have had the car. It came with weird options; leather seats/lumbar support, no moon roof.

The 8 speaker Monsoon sound kicks, and the low miles for being used.

Added a trailer hitch too. It tows a personal watercraft just fine, and added Sirius radio; will never go back to FM.

So far so good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2005

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 SFI V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 SFI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

I love my 2002 Grand Am GT, but it's had some fairly large issues

Faults:

Had to have the head gasket replaced at 26,000 miles. It was one month within GM's 3yr/36,000 mile warranty, so I lucked out. Most recently, at 38,000 miles I had to have the driver's door window and window regulator replaced, as the regulator burnt out and the tabs on the window that connected it to the regulator snapped off. About a $600 job that insurance and my extended warranty covered all, but $100 of. Today I couldn't get it to turn over. Cranks, but won't turn. Probably a fuel pump/injector issue. We'll see.

General Comments:

I really like this car when it's working well. I love the aggressive look and the 3.4 V6 in the GT that handles like a dream. But someone who didn't buy an extended warranty would be up s@#t's creek with the amount some of these things would cost. If currently it is indeed a fuel issue I'm expecting a job worth another $600. That would make $1200 worth of repairs in under two weeks to a car with under 40,000 miles and well under four years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2005

1st Jun 2005, 14:28

Turns out that repair was a combination of dirty fuel injectors and a bad battery during heavy heat. Not too bad, cost about $75 for the battery and $6 for the fuel system cleaner. Not nearly the $600 I was expecting.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 72 reviews