2002 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 17 of 21

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Will decompose in 3.1 years

Faults:

Brake rotors completely shot by 20k miles.

The window and sunroof switches sometimes take a day off.

Bumper trim and Pontiac logo have come off twice.

General Comments:

The brake issue is by far the most annoying. All four rotors were warped at 10k miles and needed to be replaced at 20k. Pontiac dealer and owner assistance claimed that is normal wear and refused to do anything about it.

The window switches on the driver door and the sunroof switch all seem to be worn out. They work like a remote with bad batteries.

I had an Alero GLS before this that held up much better. Without the Olds 5 year warranty, there is NO WAY I am keeping the Grand Am around past 3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

12th Jan 2008, 23:27

My Grand Am is now over 7 years old. It has never had one single problem. All I have ever done is change oil, buy 1 battery, and 1 set of tires. I haven't even replaced the original brake pads yet. If Pontiac still made them, I'd buy another one without a moments hesitation.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT RAM AIR 6V from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission RAM AIR 6V Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles

Summary:

Good looking car

Faults:

NOTHING REALLY JUST RIDES ROUGH. I CAN FEEL EVERY BUMP I THE ROAD.

General Comments:

Just purchased the vehicle and love it. its real fast and quick.

But the car rides rough. every bump in the road is felt while driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

The paint on the hood keeps bubbling and chipping off. It started doing this 3 days after I bought it. The dealer has repainted it 3 times now.

Replaced the fuel regulator.

Excessive Runoff onto the rotors, made the brakes vibrate and not stop that easily.

The car cranks excessively until starting or it just stalls out.

General Comments:

This car has caused and is still causing me a lot of aggravation and headaches.

I purchased it brand new and it has been a lemon from the first week.

I continue to have problems.

Three years is definitely not enough of a warranty for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2004

5th Dec 2004, 10:12

Wow, my GT also has that cranking problem. Dealer told me it was normal. Now I am worried.

11th May 2006, 18:30

You don't really need to worry about the cranking, its pretty PONTIAC, common on the 3.1, 3.4, 3.8 motors.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Fast and sporty eye-candy

Faults:

Drivers door slightly out of alignment. Dealer adjusted it under warranty.

Front stock tires started to squeal at low speeds at about 23,000 miles - apparently indicative of this particular tire. Dealer said mine were exceptionally bad, and convinced GM to replace for free.

General Comments:

This is my third Grand Am in a row: a GT, then an SE2, now back to a GT, all 2 door coupes. I LOVE this car. Pontiac makes a great, sporty car that is priced very reasonable. It's quick, nimble, looks good, has good storage, decent stock stereo.

I recently drove an '04 Grand Prix, and that just might become my next car. It has more room for my family (three car seats don't fit in the back of the Grand Am!), and is even quicker.

Some aficionados have said a true sports car doesn't have front wheel drive, but for the money, once you learn to track through your turns (and any time it's wet/snowy), front wheel control is worth listening it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

2002 Pontiac Grand Am NY 3.4 3.4 SFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 3.4 SFI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance41931 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A beauty and a beast on wheels

Faults:

There is nothing wrong with this car. It's perfect. Nothing wrong, except there was a tire pull on the front passenger side. It was nothing major.

General Comments:

This car handles like it's on a race track. The passing power it has from a V6 is unreal. It's a lot better then my 1994 Pontiac Grand Am SE. Just the '94 was better on gas. The bucket seats are good on my back (for I having a bad back in the first place). Overall, this car is the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 72 reviews