2002 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 15 of 21

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired400 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carGM Grand Am GT

Summary:

Money Pit

Faults:

A few days after I had this car it wouldn't start. Should have been a sign.

Battery cables needed to be replaced.

Had the Goodyear tires replaced because of a grinding noise.

My warranty just ran out 3 months ago and at 68,000 kms, my head gasket blew. $1911.00 Canadian dollars to fix at a GM dealership.. then again, the spark plugs were $15.15 x 6.

They also informed me that my control arm bushing is going to be another $600.00.

I contacted GM and they are reviewing it, but I know I will get nowhere with this.

GM has lost me as a loyal customer.

General Comments:

I've owned GM since I could drive and have had nothing but serious problems, no more GM's for me.

1991 Sunbird - repairs, water pump (in 6 months), head gasket and alternator. Owned brand new.

1991 Berreta GTZ V6 - 3 alternators, 2 motors from cracked blocks, first one at 90,000kms, sensors bought used. No warranty.

1999 Grand Am GT, best one yet... wheel bearing going when lease was up.

I wondered why I am done with GM. They are great to drive when working, but that is it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 Ram Air from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Ram Air Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

Now that I have paid off my car all sorts of things are going wrong.

Two weeks ago, I had it into the shop. I needed new brake pads. The caliper was also not releasing.

Now I have to take it in because the head gasket is leaking onto the engine.

There is also a ticking noise inside the car. It sounds like the blinker is on, but it's not. They have to tear apart the steering column to fix it.

Every time that I've gone to my mechanic with this car they tell me that it's a common problem with this car. I hope there are no more common problems with it.

General Comments:

I'm just very frustrated with the car. It will be 3 years old in October of this year. It just stinks because I'm having these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

2002 Pontiac Grand Am SE 1 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance68257 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great ride, not worth buying

Faults:

Power windows broke 4x. The dealership replaced the tracks and clips, and they still broke.

3 brake jobs with new rotors each time. I even paid more money to get police style rotors (they are thicker and can cool faster and operate better under much heat), and my rotors are warped and need to be replaced some time in the near future.

Lower control arm bushings replaced on both sides 2x on my passenger side, and once on my driver's side. But there is still a knocking noise that the dealership cannot figure out.

Last, but not least, I would be sitting at a red light while my RPMs dip a little low, and it sounds/feels that it is about to stall. Fuel pump replaced, and I thought the problem was fixed, but I was wrong. I am still having the problem.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Pontiac again.

I am afraid that the next one I buy will have the same problems, or others that they won't be able to figure out nor fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

17th Sep 2005, 16:15

You should of got a GT!

5th Jun 2006, 20:27

I suspect you have a very crappy dealership service department that has contributed to your problems. My 2001 SE has never given me a bit of trouble and I have yet to have the original brake pads replaced. If Pontiac hadn't stopped making the Grand Am I'd buy another one in a second.

As it is, the G6 is ugly, slow and boring and I sure won't buy one of those.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I would not purchase another. If given one, I would trade it

Faults:

Idles at high speed.

Complete brake overhaul.

Cd player scratches Cd when ejecting.

Intake manifold gasket melted.

Cruise control faulty.

Cigarette lighter blows fuses.

Light on radio screen went out.

General Comments:

On initial start up, the car is registering 15mph. it takes a while to idle down OR I can decrease the speed by tapping the accelerator once or twice.

The brakes were dragging within a week, so the dealer did a complete brake overhaul and found faulty calipers and cylinders in the rear braking system. I spent several hundreds of dollars trying to get the front brakes done correctly.

When I eject a Cd, I noticed the Cd player would make a slow dragging sound. The best way to remove is with the radio in the off position. (which I thought was odd also.)

I kept having to add coolant, and at oil change time the dipstick registered empty. The dealership didn't know what was wrong. So, with some troubleshooting, I figured out it needed an intake manifold gasket. I started smelling plastic burning under the hood and just followed the scent.

I got the intake manifold gasket replaced and changed oil and filter. The car started knocking after that, so I did addl research. Several incidents were reported regarding engines going for no obvious reason (s) I haven't started negotiations with GM/Pontiac and the dealership told me to buy an engine and put in it.

I can use the cruise control, but inadvertently it accelerates. I have to turn it off and start over. The second time usually causes it to operate correctly.

I'd like to use the cigarette lighter for car charger, but it did'nt work. They changed the fuse, but every time they put on in, it would immediately burn. I don't smoke, but I do have need for the lighter.

Within three weeks, the light on the radio screen went out and no one seems to know why or what to do about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

11th Oct 2005, 07:41

If you are considering negotiations with the auto maker, my advice is to NOT go through a certain organization that is supposed to keep track of the better businesses in America. I don't want to name them, but there are few and one has a specific Auto department. I found in going through them for the NUMEROUS brake problems I've had with my '02 Grand Am that they are FUNDED through the auto makers! Second piece of advice is to hire an attorney that you can trust before even messing around, they'll keep you going in circles for years unless you do!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 72 reviews