2002 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 20 of 21

2002 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29730 miles
Most recent distance33700 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Roomy and Sporty - Fun to Drive!

Faults:

I haven't had this car very long, but so far I haven't had any trouble with it at all. The engine sounds very smooth.

I don't expect any problems although the temperature sits at 200 degrees constantly. I have not yet had the opportunity to drive the car during the HOT Florida summer.

General Comments:

This is the 3rd Pontiac Grand AM that I have owned. My last car was a 1995 Grand AM GT. It had a 6 cylinder.

My 2002 Grand AM accelerates much faster than my 95 did, but I can't get it to go faster than 95 MPH. (My 95 did 110 easy!) I miss the power and the dual exhaust of the GT model. I got the SE - it has a 4 cylinder.

Other than that, I don't have ANY complaints about this car. It handles great. It has an excellent sound system. It has power door locks and power windows. It's a 4 door. It is sporty looking and economical. It's roomy and the engine is quiet. There's not a lot of 'wind noise' when you're driving. All of the controls are easy to use - the stereo buttons are large and I love the remote key-less entry! I didn't think I would need it, but it's great! It pops the trunk, too which is good when I am carrying groceries.

When I get ready to purchase another car, I will be looking at the new Grand Am's - but I'll get the GT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

7th Jan 2004, 07:48

The temperature is normal at 200 degrees.

19th Nov 2008, 15:19

It not going above 95 is not that it can't, it just won't allow it. It is called a governor and GM cars usually have one at 173kms per hour, Dodges at 180kms an hour. The car could go faster, but the computer will not let it.

20th Nov 2008, 17:39

Either they started putting governors on the Grand Am in 2002, or the one on my 2001 is not working. My 2001 "Quad 4" will easily slam the speedometer hand against the 120. I have no idea what top end is for it. I'd estimate 135 to 140.

It is faster on top end than my 2007 Mustang, which is limited to 120.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance11000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Good performance at low price

Faults:

Nothing. I didn't had a problem with my car since march.

General Comments:

The car seems perfect to me. The speed is good, it is comfortable, and U never had problem. Quality versus price is OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

2002 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28996 miles
Most recent distance29700 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Not a good car for cold weather.

Faults:

We bought the used 2002 Grand AM SE on November 9, 2002. The car won't start when the temperature is below 20 degrees. It turns over, but it doesn't fire. Most of the time I put it in neutral and coast it down the driveway and then it usually will start. We've had it in to the dealers 3 times; they towed it in twice. When they get it there, it starts. They say they are unable to duplicate the problem.

General Comments:

The car is sporty looking and runs good, when you can get it to start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th December, 2002

20th Mar 2009, 23:32

Over the past four years - I have had problems with the car not starting at least six times. It seems as if there is a problem with the passlock security system. It has started stopping while driving the car. I am getting rid of it and not buying another Pontiac.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L Ram Air V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L Ram Air V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance13265 miles

Summary:

An affordable high performance, for it's class, sports sedan

Faults:

After having it for one week the rear speakers started making a crackly sound.

Three days after that, I had trouble getting the sunroof to open, it would only open occasionally.

When taken into the shop, was giving a Ford Taurus to drive for 2 days.

Went to get the car, and everything was fixed, they told me that there was one wire that controlled the "Sound and Sun" package and it wasn't screwed in all the way.

General Comments:

I've had this car since the very first day of 2002, and those are the only things that have gone wrong, very minor problems, no major ones. I love the acceleration, and the control. I do have a problem impressing people by peeling out, yes the car DOES peel out, but not for very long, the traction control stops the wheels, then starts them slowly again when it realized there is low traction. But the 0-60 in 7 1/2 seconds is awesome. Very flashy car. I love all the gadgets and the car itself. Wonderful car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

24th Feb 2003, 02:37

I'm not sure if the GTs are like the SEs, but on my Grand AM SE I can turn the traction control off and I've noticed a bit of a difference. Although the 2.2L's can't peel out all that great it does do a little better.

19th Mar 2003, 00:56

You can also turn the traction control off in the Grand Am GT's. They will pill out better with it off. The Grand Am GT's do pill out better than the Grand Am SE. I would also recomend trying some racing tires.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 72 reviews