1990 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America


An unreliable, worthless piece of junk


Everything has gone wrong.

The air conditioner quit working twice.

It has a bad strut.

It quit running and I had to have a lot of work done to it.

General Comments:

I have had to spend a lot more money on this car than the car is even worth.

It is a piece of junk.

I also get recall notices from the manufacturer every few months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

17th Feb 2005, 08:57

Wow, 133,000 miles and all it really has is a bad strut. Quit being a girl. That's not bad at all.

22nd Aug 2006, 13:24

What a pointless review. "it needed a lot of stuff done to it" ur worthless.

1990 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America


A reliable old friend


Parking brake problem.

Power steering.


Water pump.

Nothing major, only stuff you hang off the motor.

General Comments:

Great car, still starts every time.

Nearly 150,000 miles, still gets nearly 35 miles to the gallon.

Paint has stayed in beautiful condition.

Never had any work done on either the engine or the transmission.

Change the oil and give her gas, and I'm convinced she will run another 150,000.

I would never talk anyone out of buying a Grand Prix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

1990 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America


Great car!


There is a constant whining under the hood. I thought the problem might be the power steering or alternator, but both have been checked and they are fine. The car has been making the noise since I have had it, but the noise has not affected performance. The engine has started leaking from the seal of the oil pan, but it still has plenty of horsepower.

General Comments:

I had to do one major brake job on the front, but otherwise this car has been very dependable. I am even considering putting some money into this car and keeping it!

Overall this has been the best car I have owned. Love the Prix!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2000

23rd Jul 2002, 22:42

The whining is your power steering pump as I have the same car and have thus changed the power steering pump eliminating the whining sound.

21st Jul 2003, 11:42

I just changed my power steering pump on a '97 Grand Prix. We have been living with noise for years. I was affraid it might have been the transmission, but realized it was worse on turns. Rebuilt pump from Autozone =$68. 4 hours of work to do the job. I'm a good mechanic with a full set of tools. It wasn't a pleasant job. Pay someone to do it if you don't qualify. Car sounds better than new now. Wish I'd have changed it back in 2000. Of course the Pontiac dealer said everything was fine when I took in in back then. They didn't want to do the job either.

4th May 2007, 15:40

If you guys with the whining power steering pumps had just put some tranny fluid into your resevoir, that whining would have gone away. Ask me how I know :)

5th Mar 2009, 16:24

Your supercharger may be low on fluid. It runs about $8 a bottle. Use an allen wrench, squeeze it in till it overflows, then replace the screw. The fluid should be changed changed out by the dealer every few years.

1990 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 6 cylinder from North America


This car was purchased new, we have had it the entire time. I has over 175000, miles on it, it is still running in tip top shape. Mostly just general maintainance, the fuel pump had to be changed, as well as the power steering pump, however, that is not too bad considering the amount of miles it has.

General Comments:

It has been a very reliable car, as well as being a very sporty looking car. It will still turn heads even at 8 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998