1990 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America


No wonder there are a ton on the road


I had to get a new fan belt tensioner. The crank pulley also needed to be replaced. That was no fun.

It leaks a little oil and used to leak a little transmission fluid, but then it stopped leaking. I thought well a car that can stop leaking, I really like that.

General Comments:

I've had to spend some money on the maintenance of this car, and that would normally really bother me. But in this case I still really love this car. It looks fun, it is fun, yet it is totally functional. It's comfortable for 5 people and also has a nice ride.

As 23 year old, I can now understand why the entire adult population doesn't drive Mustangs and Camaros. These cars are more fun when you factor in the practicality side. Something I couldn't even contemplate at 16.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

1990 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1L from North America


A good looking lemon


The frame mount for the engine corroded through and the engine fell.

The seats have worn.

The power window buttons stick.

The coolant system leaks.

The only functional gauge is gas.

General Comments:

This is a stylish, but undependable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

30th Jun 2002, 18:27

My 1996 Grand Prix had coolant problems as well. Just had the head gasket replaced to the tune of $385.

The dash light bulb is burnt out on the radio. I understand the entire radio has to be sent in to replace a board on it to the turn of a minimum $75.

The light on the steering column is burnt out. No bulb to replace, you must replace an entire unit.

The light on the gear column is burnt out. What's the scoop with that?

9th Jul 2002, 22:00

I am a proud owner of a grand prix, now listen. You put 187,000 miles on the car. Things are bound to go bad. Any car will need repairs now and again. Now the engine falling out is another story, but quit complaining about the other problems because they occur with all types of car on the market at some point or another.

13th Apr 2004, 20:45

I have had my Grand Prix for 4 years now. I have had to replace the heater core, struts all the way around, the buttons on the door consoles for the power locks and windows have broke as well as the console broke away from the door. and the rubber around the doors (which the car still leaks when it rains). I have also had to pay $3,000.00 to rebuild the motor. Many of the sensors are going out, the turning signal lever thing smokes when switched on. The transmission is going bad as well as the radiator needs to be replaced. Yes, I love my car, but I am very unsatisfied with the overall scenario. It is difficult for me because there are no junk yards where I live and I either have to go to the auto parts store or the Pontiac dealership ($$$$$).

17th Feb 2005, 08:55

Wow, 187,000 miles and you have some problems with your car!??!?!?! get outta dodge! What do expect?...

1990 Pontiac Grand Prix V6 turbo from North America


Extremely fast, reliable, comfortable and good handling


Well the rear view mirror fell off before it was sold.

General Comments:

This car is fast as all hell. Some racing parts were put in it and it flies like a bird. Handles great for a fast car.

Pretty comfortable. Has been raced a few times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

1990 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1 from North America


The best of the best


The EMS brakes lock up.

The oil pressure sensor went out.

The driver's side window gear is stripped

Other small things..

General Comments:

I love the seats and roominess in the car.

I also like the body styling.

I didn't like the stock rims on it (I got a set of aftermarket 20" rims for it).

I love the takeoff and braking of my G.P.

It handles very nice too.

I'm thinking of buying another 1990 Grand Prix.

Overall it the best car my grandpa ever brought home...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2001

5th Jun 2002, 20:26

Do those 20 inch rims you have fit close on the car or does it have enough room for you to hit a bump.