1991 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 2 of 7

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

Gutless wonder

Faults:

Leaks from just about everything.

Warped rotors.

Seized calipers.

Alternator went at 100000.

Water pump at 120000.

Turn signal switch at 100000.

Driver seat no longer reclines.

Interior gets worse every day.

Doors freeze shut a lot.

Door handles break in bitter cold.

Power antenna never worked.

Power steering hose replaced at 110.

Power steering pump replaced at 110.

Transmission slips out of gear and gets stuck in gear at high speeds.

Strut bearings on both sides are seized resulting in terrible pull.

I could go on for days.

General Comments:

Who ever thinks this is a sports car needs to go try a bmx bike.

Good car for a sixteen year old kid, but you will probably put more money into it than you paid for it.

On the plus side it runs clean (except for oil leaks) but that's about it.

And 4000 rpm it sounds like a dying cat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

5th Apr 2005, 11:22

Sounds like you have not been properly maintaining your car.

Read the owners manual!!!

21st Sep 2008, 15:37

You buy a nearly 20 year old car and wonder why you are having problems?

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.4 Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 Twin Cam Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Outstanding in every way

Faults:

When I bought the car I had to replace the driver's window due to a break in.

Window motor stops due to a broken window guide.

Had to replace the intake gasket.

Valve seals getting bad. I winter store this car and has been since new. So at least 4-5 months out of each year this car is not running, and this is why valve seals are getting bad.

General Comments:

This car is and always will be a great car.

I have not done a thing to it except the intake gasket and tires.

Will still out run most of the cars on the road today.

The seats in this car are like no other. Power lumbar all the way!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

Nice car if you like twisting wrenches!

Faults:

Fuel injectors needed replacement at 65,000 miles.

Starter replaced at 69,000 miles.

Steering rack and power steering pump and hoses replaced at 86,000 miles due to severe leakage.

Radiator replaced at 86,000 miles due to warping of the upper plastic cap and subsequent leakage.

Fuel pressure regulator replaced at 90,000 miles.

Replaced front brake rotors at 70,000 miles and again at 125,000 miles. Replaced brake master cylinder at 125,000 miles.

Power steering pump now very loud when car first starts up, with lots of foam in fluid reservoir. Probably leaking again somewhere.

Replacement master cylinder is leaking fluid out the back (where the piston goes in and out) now at 132,000 miles.

Water has always leaked in around the rear drivers door top when it's driven in the rain-good thing I live in Las Vegas.

Since around 85,000 miles, whenever you jack up the front of the car, all the freon leaks out of the air conditioning system. Dealership dye-tested it and couldn't find any leaks.

General Comments:

Car does ride nice, and handles decently for an average sedan.

Gas mileage is pretty good. I do all city driving, and it gets about 23mpg in town.

I realize I have a lot of miles on it, but it seems like a lot of little things have gone wrong. At least the engine still runs good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

22nd Jan 2004, 10:03

The 1991 Pontiac Grand Prix is a nice car for average driving, and it should be maintenced to keep it in running order. I've had my car for 7 years, and it does a nice job of getting me from Point A to Point B. Although, I do think that gas mileage is not perfect, but also not creditable.

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carDodge Magnum

Summary:

Typical new age confusing electronic junk

Faults:

This car has major electrical problems.

I have gone through 4 batteries since I bought the car.

I have gone through 3 starters.

The brakes are expensive to repair or replace, and has to be done on a yearly basis, GM was sued for this, class action suit.

The battery goes dead when the car sits for a period of time.

The switches for the windows and mirrors do not work all the time.

The fog lights short out each time I use them.

The radio eats my tapes and both back speakers don't work.

Trying to find an electrical short is almost impossible to do with 5 fuse blocks to check.

Oil sending unit has been changed 3 times... finally got one that shows I have oil pressure.

Right rear strut is stuck in the open position. Changes to compressed position in the winter.

Car will not go through deep snow.. sits too low and it will dig itself in real deep.

Parts are expensive for any part..Example, wiper arm was 27.00 for just the arm, no wiper.

Wiper arms keep going out of position, causing them to hit each other and smack on the windshield, causing chips on the windshield.

Steering wheel sometimes smokes through the center of the wheel.

Horn goes off while the car is parked and not running, while I'm in the house.

The air quit working and nobody has discovered why yet.

My next car will be a dodge, no more GM junk for me.

General Comments:

Body looks great still.

Seats are very comfortable, very form fitting.

There are lots of these cars in the junk yards, so getting parts are somewhat easy to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2003

18th Apr 2004, 17:36

You buy a Dodge after a GM and think it will be better? Yikes... GM is the best domestic car maker, and IMO the best car maker (no import crap for me, unless it is a high end luxury/performance car)

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 30 reviews