1991 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 2.3 liter quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

Speedy little car

Faults:

Had to replace the power steering belt.

General Comments:

A very fast reliable car. The Quad 4 provides the power to keep up with cars such as Mustangs and Camaros. Its performance is outstanding for a car that is almost 10 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2000

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix SE Coupe 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A good used car

Faults:

Brakes, brakes, brakes.

The car had a broken fuel injector LONG before I had it, but that was fixed in 1993 and was never a problem again

General Comments:

This car still feels fairly new even if it's nearly 10 years old.

The engine runs perfect, everything works, the car is spotless inside and there are a few minor nicks in the metal outside (what do you expect with the careless dopes nowadays?)

Even though the brakes (calipers to be exact) had problems, I say the car is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A well-built, well engineered car

Faults:

Not a whole lot, given that it's nearly 10 years old:

A couple of major brake jobs.

Recently had to replace the turn signal switch.

Headliner has started separating from the roof around the sunroof.

For some reason, the headlight lamps can't be easily replaced; must be taken into shop, costing $80 versus $15 if I could do it myself.

One power window motor burned out about 8 years ago.

General Comments:

It has been a great car, with relatively few problems and it still continues to run fine.

Car has been garaged, but aside from a few scratches, the finish is still in excellent condition. I'm hoping it will last to 200,000. Would definitely buy another!

For someone who owned a Nissan before buying the Pontiac, and was suspicious of American quality, it has restored my trust in American-built cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2000

1st Mar 2001, 11:12

Just thought I would let you know that if you take car of your car it will last as long as you want it too. I also have a 1991 Grand Prix SE. With an oil change every 3000 miles and all basic services done, it is at 206,000 miles right now and still running good. I don't think it will die any time soon either.

26th Nov 2001, 17:16

I also agree. I own a '91 LE with 130,000 miles. Still runs like a champ, has a few little mechanical problems, and is speedy and comfortable to drive.

I would definately own another. I have no problem buying American cars, as long as you know what to buy!

23rd Jun 2002, 21:22

Hello

Just wanted to backup your comments by saying that they almost match my situation perfectly!

The car is at 126k miles, still runs amazingly and the only problems I've had were major break jobs, the left power window motor, the turn signal, the roof lining and the headlights! I find it almost comical that our only problems are identical!

I push the car a lot actually - used to bring it to the local track to put up against some other racers, and it performed amazingly. So as a daily driver or a performance machine, it's a great car and I'm very very pleased with it!

25th Feb 2003, 12:22

I purchased this car with almost 200 thousand KM. on the odometer and for its good "looks" as far as the body was concerned. No sooner did I take it for an extensive drive the automatic transmission acted irrational in a jerking motion and the instrument cluster failed and had to be replaced. My advise would be to have this car checked by a certified Mechanic before buying it privately.

Used vehicles are bought "AS IS" and there is no recourse through the Courts. In other words you are stuck with a lemon on your hands.

Hans Grande

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

20th Aug 2004, 14:46

I need a picture of a fuelpump installtion.

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

A good car, will definitely last to 200k

Faults:

Condensation in the brake lights.

Power locks occasionally don't work.

General Comments:

I added 700 miles to the car, and according to the Driver Information Center, I get 40 mpg driving to and from college.

The 8 way power seats and HUD are great features, and although the bucket seats in the back are comfortable, the car can only seat 4.

The alternator seems a bit weak, but is driving 1000 watts of stereo equipment just fine.

No problems as of yet, will definitely buy a Grand Prix as my next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

30th Jun 2003, 01:29

I hav a 92 grand prix GTP I had the same problem with the taillights.

1991 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Take care of it, and you won't have problems

Faults:

Three fuel injectors, front brakes, lots of rattles, struts.

General Comments:

For putting on over 25,000 miles in one year, this car is pretty reliable. It's quick, has an excellent design, and gets great gas milage. Headlight illumination is poor, especially in snowy/rainy weather, due to the recessed headlights. The alternator is weak, as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 30 reviews