1994 Pontiac Grand Prix 2 door SE 3.1 litre from North America


For the Price The best you can get American


I Brought this Grand Prix SE back to life from the junkyard. Florida Car only thing that has gone wrong is the alternator, and the transmission that did have a recall, but was never taken in to be fixed. Have a little bit of oil leak in winter, but in the warmer weather it seems to not leak at all. No real problems.

General Comments:

I've always liked GM products and I believe Pontiac is one of there best lines.

Very Quick for how heavy it is handles like a sports car should. Impressed how well that 3.1 can move.

The little sqeak everyone talks about up front is from the struts. I Had them replaced with top of the line and handeled even better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

1994 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 Liter. from North America


A fast and comfortable ride


Replaced front and rear brake pads at 156,000.

Had a full tune-up also at 156,000 miles.

Slow leak in front left tire at 157,000 miles. Repaired. Another slow leak in my front left tire at 166,000 miles. Repaired.

New tires on the car at 170,000.

General Comments:

The car is real quick and very smooth at high speeds.

The car runs and sounds brand new. The engine makes little or no noise.

This car is very roomy for a person well over 6 feet tall.

The dark window tint makes the car look sharp!

Custom compact disk/Mp3 player. (2) 12 inch Orion sub-woofers with Orion amp and box. (2) 5 and 1/4 inch Infinity Kappas for the doors. And 2 3-way 6x9 Infinity Kappas in the rear.

I installed a Tornado Air intake that doesn't seem to improve horsepower or gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1994 Pontiac Grand Prix S.E. from North America


Good used car value most of the time


Major cost to repair, replaced the alternator twice, still showing idiot lights all over dashboard most of the time.

Uneven tire wear.

Unstable handling.

General Comments:

Although I have had some major repair costs I all in all love my G.P.

I've owned 2 G.P. 1rst one kept me happy for 213,000 miles.

94 G.P. is extremely quick on take off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1994 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 V6 from North America


A good performing, nice looking machine


Small things in side the car seem to go wrong.

Such as a squeak in the passenger door.

The plastic lock cover over the drivers side door lock fell off.

The plastic that moves with the shifter sticks.

The brakes are not very good.

General Comments:

As of now I've been able to fix the small problems.

The car gets around 22 miles per gallon.

This car looks very sharp after a wash.

No serious problems yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

1994 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America


A high performance car that's reasonably priced


The head gasket blew and I had to have the engine replaced at 120,356, the engine in it came out of a 1997 Grand Prix GTP.

I've had to replace the driver side outside door handle numerous times.

The airbag module went out and I had to replace it at 147,326.

I've had to replace the ignition system at 140,213 due to a faulty security sensor.

General Comments:

The 3.1 has a lot of power and torque.

I have put a Magnaflow racing exhaust and an APC intake on it, it now has a lot more power than before.

The interior is roomy, quiet, and the driver controls are very well placed.

I put Monroe shocks and struts on it and to me it rides better than most luxury cars I've driven in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2002

19th Jun 2003, 21:40

Where did you purchase your APC intake system? Please respond to tatooz@adelphia.net.

1994 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.4 DOHC from North America


A high performance wanna-be


Alternators go out every 13 months and wheel sensors are junk.

General Comments:

The 1994 GTP is junk!! I encourage if you even think about buying one don't! The alternators go out of them every 13-18 months and GM only has a warranty on them for 12 months and it's a $500 job!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

2nd Oct 2002, 15:18

The alternator (serpentine) belt is probably being put on too tightly which would cause failure prematurely. Also why don't you buy a different brand of alternator? GM doesn't manufacture their own alternators, they contract them out to other companies, as does every other auto manufacturer. The alternator on your Pontiac probably is the same one used on a Toyota, Honda, Ford etc. To say a car is junk just because of a problem with an oem part is ridiculous.

4th Nov 2002, 13:50

Also, why are you naive enough to pay $500 for a $100 alternator? Go to Pep boys, buy the $113 brand new alternator with a 'for life' warranty and install it yourself in about a half hour. If you have the 3.1 V6 grand prix, it's the same as my car ('92 Beretta) and it's easy as hell to fix.

9th Jul 2006, 11:17

Also if you keep running through alternators then look around the net, in 15 minutes I found a solution to fix this problem, multiple solutions actually, make an air duct, check belt tenion and so on.

27th Aug 2007, 21:26

If you don't like the performance of a car, it would take more than an alternator's premature breakdown to do it for you. There has to be more than this that you don't like. Its helpful to everyone else if you be as detailed as possible. I've driven a '94 Grand Prix SE for almost 3 years now with only 1 alternator replacement. Great car in my opinion, minor replacements necessary though.

11th Jan 2009, 21:15

Hmmmmmmm... maybe if you'd stop going to the same shop where they're obviously raping you, cuz I just bought my alternator for my 94 GTP at Autozone for about 100 bucks... and that was the first time I replaced it in 5 years, and installed it in about an hour...