1994 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.4L DOHC 24 Valve V6 from North America


Stay clear of 3.4 liter DOHC GM engines


The big thing was the engine blew at 100,000 miles.

The left side rotors on the brakes warped.

General Comments:

This car sticks to the road like a rug.

A fairly quick car, the K&N air filter was a good performance upgrade.

Very comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

3rd May 2001, 20:36

I too own a 1994 GTP Grand Prix. It is currently at 86,000 miles. I love this car!! It's 7 years old and it's still an eye catcher. I added nothing to it except an alternator replacement. I'll have to try the K&N air filter but the power is nothing near one to complain about. The one thing that worries me is that when I accelerate the engine hesitates when it is cold, then I get a thrust of power. I have no idea what is causing this. Other than that, I don't see many cars I'd rather have.

25th Apr 2003, 22:21

I have a 94 GTP as well and it has the K&N air filter, it was like 20 bucks and made a world of difference for me. It's a nice car although repairs are somehwat expensive and the cladding is a little tacky. People complain about the 3.4 motor, but I've had no problems with it other than routine stuff and my car has 130,000 on it. the honeycomb wheels are impossible to clean though, get the 5 spoke ones if you can!

28th Sep 2004, 18:42

I have a 1994 GTP with a 3.4 DOHC. I just replaced the timing belt. It now has 108.000kms. no problems I love it.

1994 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 160hp 3.1l V6 from North America


Keyless entry stopped working, will cost about $100 to fix.

Stop position on the driver door wore out (door just swings back and forth).

General Comments:

All in all, a good car. Still sporty and fast. Low center of gravity and wide wheel base (front-back and side-side) make the car handle great, though the weight of the car (approx 3200lbs) is a little much for the 3.1L engine.

With the factory molding extensions and front air dam, this is a mean looking car even by today's standards.

It's nice to have the little levels on the headlight supports - you can aim them yourself.

Stock speakers sound great with an aftermarket head unit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

1994 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.4 L from North America


A great performing money pit!

General Comments:

Nice driving car with plenty of performance. Problem lay in the 3.4l V-6. Motor had continual maintenance problems. Over revving on starting, continual revving. Spent over $1000 attempting to repair and never resolved the problem. Very expensive engine to have work done on.

Brakes were another problem. 4 wheel disc ABS was also very pricey to have repaired.

Recently was totalled by a wheel that fell off another vehicle, best thing that happened to it during my ownership!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

17th Dec 2000, 03:13

Personally I have a GTP and it runs great and I haven't had any problems with the car. I am very satified with how it performs and how reliable it is.

18th Dec 2000, 22:12

I own a 1993 GTP. I had it for over a year. I had to replace the alternator on it, which cost a lot of money. Other than than that I love the car.