1997 Pontiac Grand Prix 3.8 supercharged from North America





General Comments:

Best car I ever owned. Just bought a 2001 GTP, now I have two great cars, love everything about these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2001

1997 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 Supercharged V6 from North America


The GTP is the best car I ever owned!


Fuel pump/fuel sender.

Oil pan gasket.

Headlight lenses.


Water hose.

General Comments:

If you are looking for a sporty mid-sized car, then get yourself a GTP!

It looks great, handles great, and it drives smooth as ice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

1997 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8l v-6 from North America


A big beautiful piece of crap


My first problem was my alternator went one day after the car was purchased.

One week later my transmission went.

My heating motor went about a month later and then my headlight lense cover popped off.

My steering wheel controls shorted out.

I have never beat on the car and everything seems to be falling apart.

General Comments:

I love the body design of my GP, but the reliability is horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

4th Apr 2001, 09:40

I own a GTP, and I always say that it is the fastest thing around, except when it is in the repair shop.

19th Aug 2001, 22:06

I have a Grand Prix GT. I've had it for 3 years now. But about 3 months after I got it the alternator went out so I put it in the shop while it was there. They did the test drive on it and the driver's side headlight lenses fell out.

Then a few months later the brake sensor module went out, well a few more months later the alternator went out again. And just recently I lost my driver's side headlight lense again. But overall I do love driving this car when it isn't in the shop.

5th Sep 2001, 08:40

I have a 97 Grand Prix with a 3800. It has been a great car with the following exceptions:

1. Rear door panels keep coming loose.

2. Had a real problem with my windshield wipers.

3. Just lost my third headlight cover. Warranties off and these things aren't cheap.

Love the way it drives and handles.

1997 Pontiac Grand Prix Wide Track 6 from North America


Both headlight covers popped off for no apparent reason. Dealer & manufacturer stated that it was out of warranty. Isn't this a design flaw, rather than a mileage problem??? 80k at the time of repair.

$700.00 later, as I have all repairs done at the dealer, and no satisfaction from the dealer nor the manufacturer... I will never purchase another Pontiac again... my family has purchased (3) in the past 5 years...

No more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

17th Feb 2001, 12:20

Regarding the popped off headlamp covers... Word has it that Pontiac's adhesive supplier sold Pontiac a bad batch of the glue that holds the clear cover to the rest of the headlamp assembly. Pontiac's fault? No. Pontiac's problem? Yep. Your regional factory service rep, or dealer, should have gotten the car fixed for you.

1997 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.8 from North America


A very quick and comfortable unit


Windshield wiper motor fixed three times, appears to be a service bulletin that the dealer will not acknowledge.

Window motor, driver's side replaced.

All front lights replaced (water in them).

Oil pan new, and gasket seems original, never fitted properly.

Wipers park switch - three times repaired.

General Comments:

Good car, excellent ride, acceleration etc, however electrical problems have been many.

Dealer is very weak on repairs, however after a few calls to GM Canada it now seems maybe the electrical components might get fixed.

Overall a good car and yes, will buy another next year, hopefully GM will improve the electricals.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2001

24th Mar 2001, 14:12

Has anyone had the problem of when you turn right and pull out onto the road the car will suddenly die. Starts right up and gives no warning.

1997 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 L supercharged from North America


More power than you can handle


I had the headlight covers replaced because of condensation, had universal belt replaced, and installed a new battery.

General Comments:

I love my Pontiac's!! The Grand Prix has been the most reliable car that I have ever owned and trust me, I have been through a lot of cars.

The interior and exterior of the car are just excellent, especially the new body style. This car has the power and the looks that I have always wanted. Of course I have done a few modifications to my car: new exhaust and tips, mecham ram air hood, 17" niche wheels, painted the brake calipers also. Just to add my touch to the car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

26th May 2005, 21:28

I bought my 97 GTP while I was on leave from Iraq. It was a little used, but I still love this car. I also have the same problem with the headlights, but its nothing a little RTV silicone can, t fix. I have replaced my mufflers with some traditional Flowmasters, but I advise that you leave the intermitten muffler on because I had a valve rattle at 5000 RPM till I had the shop put it back on.