2000 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 10 of 15

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired77150 kilometres
Most recent distance109933 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, bad transmission

Faults:

Complete transmission failure at 109933 km.

General Comments:

This was my first car, 22 years old. I justified spending the money on this car by the fact that it was deemed reliable. My opinion on the car overall is one of uncertainty. I loved everything about the car, but in my opinion an automatic transmission should not fail at 110km or so.

If you plan on purchasing this car be advised to take out extended warranty if possible. I've been dealing with both the dealership and GM to try to rectify the problem, but both claim no responsibility. After much research and discussions with other owners I have come to the conclusion that this isn't an isolated problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

18th Jul 2005, 23:25

I was wondering what ever happened with your 2000 Grand Prix. My car shakes/studders when I accelerate at about 45 miles per hour. Just wondering if this is what your car did? My car has 59700 miles.

4th Aug 2005, 11:12

I have a 2000 Grand Prix with 41,000 miles. My transmission started shifting hard. I have had it checked out and the diagnosis code I was given is 1811, which refers to a too slow shift. My understanding is that this will eventually destroy the transmission and must be taken care of. The estimate is anywhere from $1500-$2000. I have been told by two different transmission shops that this is a problem with the transmission on these cars. Apparently the valve body goes bad which causes the transmission problem. I am told that this is not an excessive wear issue, but rather a part that appears to have a pattern of failing prematurely. I have contacted GM customer service in Oregon. Has anyone else experienced a similar problem?

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carAcura RSX

Summary:

I love the car, but buy one used

Faults:

The brakes seem to wear faster than other cars.

The leather seats come apart at seams.

These cars depreciate too fast.

General Comments:

The car handles extremely well.

The quality of the car is wonderful for the price.

I love the sporty, but economical appeal.

The options that come with the GTP model are excellent in terms of other cars in the same class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

18th Jun 2007, 22:28

Hey, do you think I should get a gtp that has about 85k miles on it. thanks.

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carPontiac Pontiac

Summary:

Very dissapointed in this car

Faults:

Power window on passenger side replaced motor.

Car bucks after long distance slow traffic.

A/C motor replaced and still not working.

Shifter will not shift into gear, need a screwdriver to put in hole by shifter to get it to shift.

Cannot get keys out of ignition.

Brakes had to be replaced five times.

General Comments:

I cannot afford to get this car fixed and am still making the payments on it. I would love to drive it into a lake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

5th Nov 2005, 11:27

I hear your pain. I have not owned a Pontiac that has been reliable. 1978 Bonneville (back in the 80's), 1990 Grand Am, and currently a 1997 Bonneville. Pontiac is crap.

19th Apr 2007, 22:09

I own also own a 2000 Grand Prix GT, and in the past year I have had to replace the power steering pump and 3 of the 4 power window motors, and now I have to fight with the ignition to get my keys out.

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 Series 3.8L V6 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series 3.8L V6 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired118 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Great combination of utility and performance

Faults:

The air conditioner drain clogged, causing the passenger side rug to get soaked. After reading other reviews here, I am glad to know it is a common problem and will not be an expensive fix.

The rear driver's side window slipped out of the track, making it inoperable with the power controls. The dealer re-seated it and it hasn't happened again.

The fuel pump fuse blew a couple of times in the 15,000 mile range. The dealer couldn't find a problem causing it and just gave me some spare fuses. It has not happened again in the 30,000 miles since.

General Comments:

Never having owned a "performance" car before, I still enjoy the power and handling that comes with it. It doesn't get the greatest pickup from a stop, but once you're moving 30 miles per hour or so, you'll be leaving all those ricers in the dust.

Other than the minor problems mentioned above, I have had to do nothing other than regular oil changes (about every 5,000 miles.) Again, since I've never owned a performance car before, I was not expecting the tires to be worn out by 40,000 miles, and they were not cheap (~$135 per tire) to replace.

Depending on one's driving record and location, the car bay be a bit pricey to insure. Well worth the extra cost, however.

After almost four years, I have no major complaints about the car at all. Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2004

9th Nov 2005, 16:16

Well, this seems like the best place to update my own review. The bad news is the car was totalled in an accident (not my fault, yay!) a few days ago at just under 66,000 miles. The things I had to fix between the original review and then:

Front left tie rod end and hub assembly needed to be replaced. I don't know when they went bad, but it started eating tires like mad. It may have needed some other suspension work too, as the ride was not as smooth as it once was, even after those repairs.

Another window mechanism went out, and needed the whole internal assembly replaced. I never got around to doing this, since for the $400+ the dealer wanted for that was a bit much, so I just put up with the window slipping down a couple inches.

Something went wrong with the windshield washer, causing it not to spray well when I hit the washer button.

The glue holding the inside rear view mirror in place failed during one of the very hot summer days when the heat index was around 110. I replaced it with a regular mirror since the auto-dimming one was garbage - the lights from behind me had to hit the sensor just right for it to darken.

Overall, no major complaints during the 5 years and 66K miles I had it, and I'd still recommend the car.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews