2000 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 13 of 15

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40200 miles
Most recent distance64800 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A great car for people of any age

Faults:

Heater fan made cricket-like noises at 48,000 miles. Dealer stated worked as designed. 3 days later fan blew and NO heat in winter.

Bronze paint has started to fade on spoiler. It was repainted at 35,000 miles by previous owner.

Transmission acts like it doesn't know what gear to go in over 50mph. Hesitates when it feels like it. Dealer cleaned fuel injectors, but it still persists.

Have replaced both fog lights twice in only 24,000 miles.

Extended warranty purchased has not been able to be used with any problems I've had.

General Comments:

Car has great pick up and power.

Lots of storage space. Huge truck, but hard to maneuver in larger objects.

Leather seats polish up great. I only wish that I had heated seats for my cold winters.

Nice sound system. I'm 18 and factory system is fine for me!

Bronze paint is a real eye catcher.

Sporty and luxurious. I'll definitely keep this car until it dies or I kill it!

I only wish that my Pontiac dealer was more trustworthy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2003

2nd Feb 2004, 15:45

It's me again!

My Grand Prix has 67,000 miles on it now, and it looks like its going to die before I get around to killing it.

Everytime I take it to my dealer for a service something else goes wrong with it.

Now the transmission and the ignition decided to freeze up.

I have a full battery... no low voltage.

Since I'm 18 I can't get a rent-a-car or courtesy car from my dealer. So in the mean time... since I have to wait around for the weekend to drop the car off...I'm riding around with a screwdriver in the car to activate the shift and ignition lock releases!

These problems had better not persist, it's beginning to become costly and a nasty habit!

Anybody else had these problems?

6th Apr 2004, 18:31

Hi. I have a 2000 Grand Prix GT. It has 110 000 km on it. That is about 70 000 miles I guess. Nothing has gone wrong with it except a wheel barring needed to be replaced. I love it though. It will do a quarter mile in 15.2 seconds and it's all stock. I have to go now.

22nd Apr 2004, 22:38

I have owned my 2000 Grand Prix GT for about a year now and I think it is great. It only has 65,000 KM so I decided to purchase an extended warranty. So far I have had the stereo replaced through warranty and nothing else. I think it is a great combination of style and comfort. My wife and I are both 26 and have two kids. However, we didn't want a minivan so this fit the bill.

30th Jun 2009, 11:27

Owner of a 2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT. And proud

I've had this car for 3 years and it has been wonderful. My car has 130000 miles and still running like new. It's true that some things are not made of the most quality products, but what really matters (I mean engine transmission etc) still there perfect. I'm sad now that GM decided to eliminate Pontiac, it's a shame as they make beautiful cars. I recommend this car to anyone.

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A fine example of mediocrity

Faults:

When I got the car it needed complete brakes all the way around, after driving it 28 000 km it needed brakes again. I've been told these cars are bad on brakes.

Shortly after getting the car the blower motor needed replacement. I should have expected this as I have two friends with the same car, they too have had to replace their's. One of them is on his third blower motor.

My rear speakers only work on very rare occasions, one of my friends also has the same problem.

About 6 months after I got the car the air conditioner compressor fell off, that's right FELL OFF.

My transmission wasn't the smoothest shifting transmission in the world and in fact was little on the "clunky" side. I didn't bother getting it checked out when my friends mechanic told him to live with his similar problem in his Grand Prix.

Fit and finish of the interior of this car is on par with other GM products. The interior resembles a mixture of Tupperware and cheap plastic.

The interior door panels seem loose and flimsy, especially when they shake a little as you close the door.

The car is reasonable quick for a 4 door family car and has a decent "stance" on the road. I would say the word tough describes this car.

The drivers seat had an annoying squeak in it regardless of how is was adjusted.

I sold the car in anticipation of further problems.

General Comments:

The car was fast and fun to drive as long as you weren't expecting it to be anything more than it was, which is a relatively cheap disposable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

23rd May 2008, 21:50

I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience with such a good car in my opinion, although I believe you have a lemon.

12th Sep 2009, 19:13

I agree, I did have a lemon. The irony is my two friends with the exact same car (although theirs were 1999's) were also lemons.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews