2000 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 7 of 15

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired262000 miles
Most recent distance263000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

I bought the Grand Prix on January 18, 2007, the car had 262000 miles on it.

I paid $1,900 for the car as is, it is running great and it drives great.

I haven't had any problems with it until recently. When I turn on the heater, it gives off this smell, and I can't quite figure out what it is. I have checked all the fluids and everything is OK, it doesn't burn anything, and it doesn't appear to be leaking anything.

When I bought the car everything was original, down to the spark plugs (it's had oil changes and new tires and basic stuff like that), but I still can't seem to find out what the smell is coming from. Does anyone know?

General Comments:

The car is in excellent condition, it has no rust on the body and it runs and drives great.

It looks excellent and the interior is in excellent shape. Although it does have a lot of miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2007

9th Feb 2007, 11:51

Sounds like your blower (heater) motor is on the way out.

10th Feb 2007, 19:47

I own a 2000 Grand Prix with 96k miles. I am pleased with this car, but lately the steering wheel initially stiffens up when the vehicle is started up then loosens after a short while. I had a nationally known shop take a look and they wanted to replace the rack and pinion along with the realignment. The cost they wanted me to pay was $1,800. I took my keys and got out of there quick. Could there be another cause for the steering stiffness and was this shop trying to give me the shaft?

Bill.

Chicago, IL

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Coupe 3.8L Supercharged from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A great car through and through, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Faults:

Heads up display fades in and out.

General Comments:

This car is a dream. It drives like a sports car, it has the get-up and go from the supercharger that you can't find in other vehicles of this class. The 3.8L V6 is a great smooth running engine from GM.

The options of this vehicle are very expansive. Dual climate control, the auto dim mirror, sharp leather interior.

The only things that I can say I wish were improved which GM did in the later models is the Bose sound system which lacks depth, and the fuel costs can run a little higher with the premium fuel.

I would highly recommend this car to anyone with a taste for speed and style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Beware of electric phantom

Faults:

Major electrical problems when I drove it home new from the lot! Had to take it in with less than 100 miles on it, no interior lights worked. Continues to have electrical problems to this day, especially when it is hot out. Dealer took car apart almost trying to find problem, never did. Climate control has mind of it's own, factory alarm goes off at random, fuses keep blowing, in dash computer goes out at times, warning lights blink on/off etc. etc.

General Comments:

Still looks nice after 6 years. Engine has been pretty reliable, cheap to maintain. Idles smooth runs quit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix SE V.6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Cougar

Summary:

I will never buy another Pontiac...I'm returning to Ford products

Faults:

Both headlights are smokey with water condensation. Unlike other owners of this car the headlights haven't fallen off yet. I just can't see through them at night.

I have replaced everything possible in the front end of this car.

The transmission has not worked correctly since I bought the car.

The check engine light comes on about every 4 to 6 weeks. When the shop checks the codes they can't find out what the problem is.

The cassette player has never worked.

Replaced the thermostat.

Last summer I replaced the motor.

Last week I replaced the transmission.

General Comments:

I really love everything about this car. The problem is all the repairs I have had to make to it. I have spent more money on the car than what I paid for it. I'm at the point that I have to keep the car because of the money I have put in it. I now have a new car from all the repairs. I would never get what I have in it if I traded or sold it right out. This car ended up being a bad investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

9th Feb 2007, 16:49

I strongly disagree with the review of this car because I own the same year and model car and it runs great. It has 110,000+ miles and has not been in the shop other than for a set of new tires. Whoever wrote these surveys obviously didn't do their research because I know several owners of this car and they are extremely happy with it. Next time do your research before you degrade a great car.

17th Feb 2010, 19:32

@ above comment: Your car was made on a different day and most likely in a different factory. Your car is fine, this car is junk. Pontiacs of this age are decent cars spoiled by awful factory consistency and cheap materials. The one my friend has is awful, it seems there are more awful ones on the road than there are O.K. ones. I wouldn't buy any Pontiac ever myself.

29th Mar 2010, 14:53

I agree with the above poster. Irregardless of where or when this car was assembled, it is my and many others opinion that too many Pontiac lemons were produced between 1997 and 2001. My 2000 Grand Prix GT that was purchased new had four blower motors replaced, transmission rebuild at 38,000 miles, steering rack replaced at 40,000 miles, plus a host of other irritating and expensive failures.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews