2000 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 8 of 15

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT Sedan 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VII

Summary:

Awesome performance sedan for under $30,000

Faults:

Front right strut and tie rod at 58,000 due to hitting a large pothole at a high speed.

Front right brake line and caliper replaced at 111,200 miles.

General Comments:

Unbelievable handling in good and bad weather. Handles better in snow than my Dad's SUV in 4WD (not including ground clearance).

Gas mileage in great. I get about 22 city and 27 highway on average.

No wear or tear on the leather seats.

Awesome acceleration and passing available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 Supercharged from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

A Powerful, Lovely, LEMON

Faults:

Wheel bearings @ 63K, Fuel Pump @ 56K, Fuel Sending Unit @ 56K, Battery @ 56K, PCM @ 65K, EVAP sytem Solenoid @ 65K, Been towed twice (56K, and 65K), left me stranded three times (55K, and at 65K twice). Dealer service is horrible. Nothing is EVER their fault.

General Comments:

It is quick, luxurious, and nice to look at; but get in to drive, and it is a ticking time bomb, just waiting to break down on you. In 6 months, it has been in the GM dealer 8 times. I love the power and looks, but it is not worth it. I paid $11,000 for this car, and have it has already cost some $1800 to repair in 6 months. I would not recommend this vehicle to someone with a limited budget.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

7th Apr 2008, 21:11

FYI.

Fuel pump, wheel bearings, evap system are all considered "wear items," in other words, they will eventually wear out from use or neglect. You bought a used car, it had a few items that needed to be refreshed.

15th May 2008, 19:39

I have recently purchased a 2000 Pontiac GTP, and as soon as I drove it, I had to have it. The power is great; you can really burn rubber like in the old days. Crazy thing is that it's the front wheels doing the black stripes. Very happy with the car overall.

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 SC from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 SC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance64100 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Exceptional sports sedan!!!

Faults:

Wheel bearings (hub assemblies) both sides, @ 62K. I am told this is a common problem with high powered front drive vehicles. Tires seem to wear easily, but the 280 lb.-ft. of torque could have something to do with that:)

General Comments:

This is the ULTIMATE sleeper machine!!! Very nice interior, stylish exterior, all supplemented by a 240 horsepower supercharged GM 3.8 liter V6. GM's 3.8 has proven to be a very reliable engine over all the years it has been produced. I recommend the addition of a cold air intake kit, and freer flowing exhaust, as these really wake the car up. If you plan on adding a smaller diameter pulley for the supercharger, make sure you get a transmission cooler, to help with excess power put through the tranny. I will update this as the miles are racked up on my GTP. Oh, yes, I also achieve around 26 mpg, in combined city/highway driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

16th Mar 2007, 14:24

You don't need a transmission cooler on a '97-'03 Grand Prix, our transmissions do not get hot, even with mods.

Grandprix.net

clubgp.com

28th Jul 2007, 08:13

Yeah, that's why mine is slipping @ 85K huh? Wish I had listened to this guy.

22nd Feb 2008, 10:45

I would suggest replacing the fluid and filter to take care of the problem, instead of dumping additives into it same with the nose drive every 50,000. These transmissions are built strong, but if you abuse it, plan on replacing it.

I also remove the brake fluid and power steering fluid, and replace with new every couple of years, to try to try to keep them new.

You can't blame mechanical failure on poor maintenance.

29th Aug 2008, 17:47

I am the original poster of this review: That being said, I never did trade the GTP in, and I now have just over 120K on the car. My wife was involved in an accident which necessitated the rebuilding of transmission, 4 new wheels (SHINY AGAIN), and a whole new passengers side of the car (cosmetically). I have had no further problems with the car. I had a tune up done @ 115K, and that felt as though the car had a new lease on life. I have been very happy with this vehicle, and I hate that my wife is bugging me about getting an SUV to replace it. I plan on keeping the car for my daily driver when I get the SUV, because I just can't let this car go!!!

19th Jan 2010, 14:57

I am the original poster of this review: @ 124K miles, the engine went, and it is not driveable!! I have made a car payment on this vehicle for over 1 year without being able to drive it, as I have 2 kids and don't have the money to replace the engine. I cannot believe that it happened, but I now have to change my original postings. This cars reliability sucks now!!! I have driven it fairly hard; but no harder than any 19 year old would... The motor should have lasted longer than 124K miles!!! I now hate this car!!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews