2000 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 5 of 15

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 supercharged from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance59800 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

As soon as I saw it, I said "that car is mine". The test drive sealed the deal

Faults:

Heater controls.

Wire in steering touching horn ring causing intermittent shut off.

Fuel pump, fuel pump relay.

Lower ball joints. all taken care of by the local dealer, without question or cost to me, even though I bought the car out of state.

I do very meticulous maintenance on this car, and it looks and performs as it did the day I bought it, including the engine bay.

General Comments:

The car is built well, is fairly quiet, comfortable, and has very good acceleration at takeoff and passing.

The tires do not last, which is not the cars fault.

Gas mileage is OK.

Interior has held up well, but I clean and condition it regularly.

You have to keep the filter clean often; I use a K&N, and just blow it out often, as the supercharger likes air.

I live in rust belt. If you keep salt washed off and wax everything, including jambs,and inside of lids and doors, any car will last longer. Mine still looks new after 8 years of happy ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2008

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 litre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet El Camino

Summary:

American junk

Faults:

Supercharger out at 90000.

Fuel pump resister left me stranded, cost hundreds.

Front suspension shot at 100k.

Starting problems forever.

A lifetime of electrical problems.

Wheel hubs shot at 90k.

General Comments:

Car is fast.

Quality is very poor.

Fun car if you can afford all the repairs. My next car will be a Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2008

12th Feb 2008, 20:11

The Camry will be a big step up after driving your supercharged GTP. The Camry performance and sportiness will blow you away!

19th Feb 2008, 18:08

I think I'd look at the Camry reviews before running out to buy one. They are some of the WORST on here. The Grand Prix reviews are much better than those for the Camry.

22nd Feb 2008, 11:55

My buddy has one with 125,000 miles and had no major issues; just regular maintenance.

7th Jun 2009, 07:49

The 3800 series II engine is probably the best engine that GM will ever put out. You get 200 - 300,000 miles on those babies. I got the same engine supercharged with 130,000 miles on it and absolutely no problems with the supercharger. Don't think the Camry will keep up with the supercharged GTP, but you can try. Suspension (shocks, ball joints, hubs) wear out at 100,000 miles if you don't take car of your car. Keep it off the rough roads next time. Good luck.

17th Dec 2009, 15:20

Hey all true lovers of the GTP! Believe it or not, I just purchased 00 GTP for $2300. Beautiful blue with leather, tint, chrome and in amazing condition, and holding breath, 173,000 miles! Had the car 2 months and it runs amazing, gets lots looks when clean, good gas mileage when not flooring it, which seems hard because with added true dual exhaust and Flowmasters, it purrs right along with my 94 built Mustang GT!

Bought the car for my 16 year old son, and he loved it, great first car, and cheap, especially when it was a $20k car new!

Wished I coulda had a fast yet comfy and roomy ride, but with mamaw family insurance when I was 16! Scooter.

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8L Supercharged from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The best part about this car is the engine

Faults:

Speedometer wouldn't work unless the car was warm.

Struts needed to be replaced.

Both right and left window motors went out.

Front pads and rotors needed to be replaced.

Intake gasket replaced at 76000.

Dash made cracking noises.

A/C compressor was replaced.

HUD started to dim.

Heat would stay on even after it was shut off.

Seat heater didn't work.

General Comments:

The car's performance was great; the car would fly when you step on it.

I love the way it looks (wider is better).

Besides the 3.8L engine that's in this car, everything else is no good. Even though these are minor problems, they still add up after a while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2008

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews