2000 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 15 of 15

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Roomy, great performance and a looker!

Faults:

Anti-Theft module failed.

General Comments:

For a car this size it handles very well even with four people (comfortably) and the trunk at capacity. Performance is great. The only real complaint I have is the wind noise from the windows. I sometimes find it hard to keep from spinning the wheels in a hurried start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L 6 cylinder. No/SC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L 6 cylinder. No/SC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance19800 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Reliable, roomy, and above-average performance for a larger car

Faults:

The driver's side headlamp had condensation on the inside of the lense after about 2 months of owning the car.

The paint (black) on the hood and mirrors chips easily from sand, rocks, or nothing at all (air?).

General Comments:

Overall, I am happy with my purchase of the car.

The performance is great for a larger car.

It is sometimes difficult too see through the rear windshield because of the angle.

Leather seats are worth the extra money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 supercharged V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

If you want a sports car, don't buy a Civic!!!

Faults:

Had a serious accident, but repaired beautifully.

Squeaks from the dashboard.

General Comments:

Absolutely the best all around performance car for the price.

Negative, needs premium fuel.

Positive, great mileage for a large performance car (true 28mpg highway).

Bottoms out a little too easily, but handles well.

Love blowing by little souped up Civics and Golfs in my stock American car.

Lots of cool options (e.g. heads-up display, dual zone climate control).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1900 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carChrysler 300M

Summary:

Fun to drive!

Faults:

Had electrical problems, dealer was going to replace the transmission and it was the alternator overcharging that damaged the computer - 51,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is quick and fun. I like it almost as well as my Shelby! Love the supercharger, if it only had a manual transmission!

A lot of bang for the buck, more fun and more reliable than my old 300M.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

19th May 2005, 07:51

I had the same problems with the alternator. Bought the car used, though. Have no idea what's the actual mileage on it. Looks like the engine might have been replaced, it's a lot newer looking than the rest of the "guts"

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 pushrod V6 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 pushrod V6 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3600 miles
Most recent distance13 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

The best performance for any sports sedan under $30,000

Faults:

Well since I got reared ended, I have a cracked bumper and that's it.

General Comments:

The Grand Prix GTP is the only sedan that has any performance, I test drove the Intrepid, Accord, Taurus, Camry and none of these cars compared to the GTP, in cornering, acceleration, and styling.

If you want a sports car that you could hold five people in, pick the Grand Prix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th December, 2000

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A great performance machine

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a great car! Looks wonderful, fast as the wind & a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

3rd Jan 2001, 08:48

I have only had my Grand Prix GT for about 1 month, but I really enjoy this car. But I do wish that it had a little more acceleration, but that is always my problem. But it's a great car.

13th Jan 2002, 17:27

IF anyone is looking for a 1998-99 pontiac Grand Prix GT, I highly recommend Stricklands Automart in Stratford Ontario! they have the best prices in town. I picked up a 99 GT for $13,950. Mind you, It has 127,000 kms on it but if the 3.8L is as good as they say, I don't anticipate any major problems. They also have a good selection of GTP's. I drove the GT first and then a Mercury Sable! what a joke, the Mercury was noisy as hell and couldn't touch it as far as power goes. This is my first GM product. I'm hoping It's as good as all you "good old boys say It is"

Flem, St. Thomas ON.

18th Sep 2002, 14:36

A quick note for all you Grand Prix owners... If your car is running rough, make sure you get the Mass Flow Sensor looked at first! They will want to sell you plugs, wires, etc... and don't pay the $350 price tag on a new one.. the auto wreckers probably have one for under $100 and It takes 5 minutes to change!!!It's located in front of the air sleve. Oh yeah, the 3.8L.

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired170 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme

Summary:

Performance outweighs the problems

Faults:

Rear passenger window motor.

Shifter.

Rear passenger window moulding.

Trans-axle (twice).

General Comments:

I have never owned a car that demonstrates original equipment performance like this one.

Despite the problems I have had (as long as they don't continue), I would not hesitate to purchase another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

16th Dec 2000, 01:54

I have a 2000 2 door black GTP. I got it with 80 miles on it and I now have 14,432 miles on it, and nothing has gone wrong, not one thing. I can't understand why you had problems with it, but they are good cars overall. I had a 1994 GP SE, and that was great too, with 134,785 miles, and it ran strong. But my heart was set on this 2000 black GTP 2 door, and I'm super happy with it.

If I had to make some kind of comment, it would be that the price, 27,000 is high, do you agree??

Jim from Utica, NY

sirjim777@aol.com

2000 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3800 II from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3800 II Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired750 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles
Previous carDodge Ramcharger

Summary:

A sleek, high performance head turner

Faults:

Minor problems with front end alignment. Wants to pull continuously to the left, although the dealer says it's within specs.

Stitching came out of driver's leater seat. Lumbar support and the driver's headrest won't stay in position.

General Comments:

I love the looks and performance of the car. The interior is comfortable, although persons over 6 foot do not have enough leg room in the front seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

27th May 2006, 02:05

I'm also 6'6", and I am buying this car specifically because it fits me better than any other car this size or price...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 58 reviews