2002 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 6 of 10

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance99600 kilometres

Summary:

Classic Pontiac - speed, handling, style and plastic

Faults:

Front rotors replaced - warped; replaced by dealer at no cost, 3 days after delivery.

Foggy headlight replaced by dealer.

A/C and heater not working on level 1 and 2 - only at levels 3, 4 & 5.

General Comments:

This is my first car, after having driven my parents' mostly GM vehicles for 7 years.

The 2002 GT has the always reliable 3.8L engine, putting out 200hp. While the mileage on this car was relatively high when I bought it, the car runs very quiet and smooth on the highway and in the city. However, when cruising at 75mph on the highway, RPM is at nearly 2400, making me wonder whether or not overdrive will kick in at some point.

Like most Pontiacs before 2004, it's stuck with the disgusting Fisher Price plastic dash. A little cheesy for a car which retailed for over $30k Canadian.

However, after the first 600kms, the car has plenty of pep on the highway and in the city. Great turning radius with plenty of room in the front and back seat. Exterior looks fantastic too, I don't know why GM ever changed the design.

Crossing my fingers that the car gets me through 2-3 Ottawa (Canada) winters and 40000km with minimal repairs...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2006

17th Apr 2007, 02:35

The Overdrive does Kicks In @ 43 MPH, Of course at a moderate acceleration...

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Hope you are a mechanic

Faults:

Oxygen sensor #1

Oxygen sensor #2

Oxygen sensor #3

Yes, all three went in the span of three months

MAF sensor

MAF sensor wiring (Pigtail)

MAF sensor (Because wiring (pigtail) shorted the new one out, and probably the old one)

Gas cap after Gas cap, the 440 code will not go away

Expansion tank solenoid (Made the 440 code go away)

(at least I think it was 440... :)

General Comments:

Comfortable car.

Goes like a scared cat.

When running well, it is a really nice car.

I think I got the lemon of the lot.

No problems in the snow, trac control is a really nice feature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2006

11th Jun 2007, 13:25

I drive the same car and think my MAF sensor may have blown too. Where exactly is the MAF located?

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix GT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

LOVE it

Faults:

Nothing to date.

Brake don't last long. and are expensive to fix.

General Comments:

I love my GP-GT... I quick, but a little heavy.. and uses a lot of gas

But other than that I love it.. it's just enough power for a 20 yr old college student and I LOVE the Sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2006

15th Aug 2007, 15:03

I had to replace a rotor because it was warped. I replaced all four and pads all the way around just so it was done. Did the job myself. Took only a couple of hours. Parts came to under $250.00. Called a mechanic out of curiosity and the job would have been close to $500.00. Saved some cash and it was very easy. Just get a Haynes manual because of torque specifications and you're good to go. I do hear brakes go quickly on these.

Heavy car and fun to drive. Next time spend money on quality rotors and pads. It's worth it, and they last longer. Enjoy!

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix GT Coupe 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Honda Civic DX

Summary:

Great value for the money

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The car has fairly decent power and handling. It has great torque throughout the power band which makes highway driving a pleasure.

The interior is well laid out and durable. I have not had any problems with squeaks and rattles. The only negative is the cloth seats are a little too hard, but otherwise fine.

The stereo is great for a stock unit in this price range.

Overall I find its great value for a 210 horsepower coupe built on a solid platform with great reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix GT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired128 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

I am totally happy

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, knock on wood...

General Comments:

I also owned a 1999 Pontiac Gran Prix and to be honest it was a better vehicle than the newer version. The stereo system was much better so I was disappointed with this. The 199 model topped out at 140 and the 2002 tops out at 105.

I cannot believe that GM changed this model in 2005?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

20th Jul 2006, 20:59

I can't believe Pontiac changed both the Grand Prix and Grand Am. The pre-2004 Grand Prixs were the best-looking 4-door car ever built. The new ones are nowhere near as sporty or well-designed. The Grand Am (pre-2003 with the body cladding) was such a pleasant change from all the look-a-like, boring compacts, and now Pontiac has dropped it for the ugly and unappealing G-6 that looks just like all the other little ugly compacts. I won't be buying another Pontiac until they hire some new designers.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 41 reviews