1986 Pontiac Parisienne Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Sedan V8 5.0L from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Best car I've ever driven

Faults:

Water Pump had to be replaced at 110,000 miles.

Fuel Gauge Broke at 95,000 miles (Told from previous owner).

General Comments:

I use this car to get back and forth from school 300 miles away and deliver pizza when I'm home. Not the most ecenomic on fuel (About 24 MPG on the highway, 15 in the city).

Very powerful car, will spin out at 30mph.

Smoothest ride I've ever had.

Very comfortable cabin- more than adequate room for feet. Ceilings just the right height. Wide enough to sleep in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2007

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Broughm 307 V8 5.0L from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 307 V8 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

My life goal is to keep this car running well and I LOVE HER GREAT JOB PONTIAC!

Faults:

Radiator failed around 110,000 miles.

Factory Thermostat failed around 160,000 miles.

Cruise control wiring caused throttle to stick wide open -- removed cruise control.

Main electrical window control and driver window failed at 161,000 miles.

Driver-side window clip failed at 165,000 miles, causing window to fall forward out of door frame. Still operational.

General Comments:

This car is sturdy, long lasting and incredibly dependable.

Minor electrical issues are cheap to fix.

Body is shoddy/cheap in areas (factory spray paint chrome around brake lights, etc)

Cabin extremely roomy/comfortable, fabric holds up extremely well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2006

16th Mar 2007, 12:16

I see that you have a 5.0L V8. I was wondering what the top speed in the Pontiac was, because I am thinking about having one, and I want it with a lot of power.

Thanks, Phil.

**Please respond**

1986 Pontiac Parisienne sedan 4 door 4.3L from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Great winter car

Faults:

The car is in good running condition. The air conditioning will have to be replaced. Just from lost coolant and lack of use. Hood ornament has been replaced 3 times. Engineering was not for longevity. Do to failing shocks, the springs will need to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car is a land. After a trans oil change and a tune up, the car runs great. Some people confuse the torc coverter function as a bad transmission, it is just a hard shift on the three speed. If you can find one of these buy it. Do not let a kid or a woman drive it. It must be respected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

6th Jan 2007, 21:18

Do not let a kid or a woman drive it. It must be respected.

We can respect cars...

30th Mar 2008, 21:07

I do like this car... But I do not appreciate your comment about respect. I got one of these when I was 16 as my first car at 65,000 miles. I put over 30,000 miles a year on it during high school and early college as I delivered pizza and newspapers. I am now 25 and I have over 340,000 miles on this car and it runs and looks almost like new. I still get comments on having such a nice car, and they are amazed when I tell them how many miles I have on it.

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Brougham 307 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 307 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance116100 miles

Summary:

It feels good to own the car that my grandfather drove, I hope it's as good to me as it was to him

Faults:

Driver's side power seat does not work anymore.

My throttle cable has gotten a bit sticky.

Front driver's side speaker cut from time to time when going over a bump. Also speakers sound somewhat distorted.

My headliner is falling down.

My vinyl top is cracking.

The paint is starting to oxidize from sitting outside.

General Comments:

The car was handed down to me after my grandfather passed away.

Very good, and reliable, first car.

It's made of steel so I don't have to worry too much about it being damaged in an accident.

Very comfortable and roomy.

Sat for a little over a year and still runs strong.

A.K.A.:"Mafia staff car"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2004

14th Sep 2004, 08:21

Steel cars don't get damaged in accidents?

What are all these body shops doing, just fixing Corvettes?

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Brougham 4.3L V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance256000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen CX

Summary:

An economical, likable, and trusty road-yacht for peanuts

Faults:

Starter had to be replaced three times. My theory is that this car likes them and eats them constantly, requiring new ones every 50.000 kms.

An ominous warning light, "Service Engine Soon", comes on erratically, stays for a while, and goes off again. No reason has been found yet, but it has been happening for 10 years now.

The fuel pump has broken down at about 220.000 kms.

The GM cassette deck gobbles tapes.

The little link between the gear lever and the transmission mode indicator has broken after 240.000 kms.

The fuel gouge had to be replaced after 190.000 kms.

General Comments:

Great compromise-car: It manages to look incredibly cool on European roads whilst being utterly economical to own.

The 4.3L V6 has one hell of a time lugging the car's weight around. Better get a 5.0 or 5.7 V8.

Fuel economy is good and can even get great: I average 9L/ 100kms, but have had 8 while driving in Sweden (35 mpg).

Don't do any wild, Alpine driving: Chassis and brakes just can't handle ambitious driving, and the car wallows and lurches in curves, basically feeling inclined to ignore them altogether.

Fantastic long-distance cruiser: The car is a dream on open roads at speeds between 100 and 140 km/h, where it just glides effortlessly and quietly, eating up miles like nothing I've owned before (and I've owned Lincolns, Mercedes, and Cadillacs).

The seats are terribly low-tech, but great just the same. Still look like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 20 reviews