1986 Pontiac Parisienne Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1986 Pontiac Parisienne 307 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 307 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Safe first car

Faults:

I have replaced all of the brake lines. the master cylinder, radiator hoses a. d the water pump.

General Comments:

I got the car from my grandmother in 2001 and just started driving it this. it is a great car with only 50,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2003

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Chev 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Chev 305 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

It's a Beast! and one of the strongest Cars Chev makes

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car. One of the back windows stopped working. The frame broke, but It was driven hard and it can take the abuse.

General Comments:

The car has lots of power.

It will spin at 30 km an hour.

The 305 is one of Chev's best motors, they can out rev a 307 or 350 and they last a lot long and can take a lot more abuse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

1986 Pontiac Parisienne 305 Chevy V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 305 Chevy V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance76500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

I love this car and will never sell it!!!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car.

Replaced front springs as there was minor sag of about one inch on the passenger's side due to the location of the battery.

General Comments:

The 305 V8 has a lot of power as the previous owner removed the catalytic converter and installed dual exhaust.

A full tune-up was so inexpensive on this car it was almost free.

I can easily manage 28 to 30 miles per gallon on the highway.

Car is like brand new as the previous owner literally only drove it to church on Sundays.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1986 Pontiac Parisienne V8 307 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 307 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired372046 miles
Most recent distance372582 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A luxury tank!

Faults:

No oil cap, there was a rag stuffed down there instead.

Windshield wipers go back and forth very slowly.

The previous owner said that when she bought the car it was red, now it's a nice ash color.

General Comments:

I bought my 1986 Pontiac Parisienne for $150, it is going in the demolition derby. When I first took the car for a test drive there was no oil in it and the radiator was bone dry, she still did 75, despite some smoking. When I started to tare the car apart I was surprised at how hard it was to get all the chrome off, we had to pry the rocker panels of with a crow bar. This is one well put together car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

8th May 2006, 01:43

And now you have to live yourself: For the rest of your life, you'll drive cars that are uncomfortable, unreliable, unsafe pieces of crap compared to these classic boats.

8th May 2006, 09:33

Unreliable maybe, but certainly not unsafe. Modern cars are significantly much safer than cars, even large cars, from the past (excluding death trap SUVs).

I'll take a Civic Si with six or eight airbags and a safety cell over Detroit iron from the 1980's everytime.

8th May 2006, 22:13

Death trap SUV's? That's absurd, if SUV's were death traps, nobody would buy them (remember they are still among the most popular vehicles) and the government would have banned them, so that was a silly assumption, if I was going to be in a wreck (especially with my family in the car), I would sure rather be in a large SUV with front and side-curtain airbags then a Honda Civic, any day!

5th Jul 2006, 21:25

I firmly believe my old Detroit steel will plow right through a brand new SUV when one finally pulls out in front of me.

21st Jul 2009, 16:37

These cars did poorly in 35 MPH government crash tests when new. However, my mother was in an accident with her 78 Caprice and the only damage to the Chevy was a scraped bumper rub strip, while the car she hit (guy pulled in front of her for insurance fraud, but there was witnesses) was totaled. The problem is at faster speeds, the heavy steel car doesn't absorb much of the collision forces and passengers take a real beating. The big old cars might have less damage to them when a modern car is crushed (that's why they're great for demo derbies), but the passengers of the newer car will have minor injuries while the passengers of the old car might not walk away. It's worth looking up old crash test data when buying a old car, because certain models and model years did better than others.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 20 reviews