1986 Pontiac Parisienne Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Brougham 5.0L 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired890000 miles
Most recent distance920000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

This is the Pontiac's Caprice Classic

Faults:

Blown steering wheel pump after abuse.

Blown transmission fluid hose.

Alternator gave out.

Third brake light assembly has broke.

Reverse taillight switch is bad.

Rear switch on driver's power seat is not working.

General Comments:

This car's 305 runs like a 350, and the 700R4 transmission is great for cruising.

The car's heavy duty suspension handles like it has sway bars.

This sedans plush interior is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2002

14th Mar 2008, 08:35

How much hp does the 5.0 V8 in the 1986 parisienne produce?

10th Jun 2008, 13:59

I need some skirts for my 86 pontiac parisienne.

1986 Pontiac Parisienne 307 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 307 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles

Faults:

Three days after I bought the car, the power steering belt broke, ironically enough, on the way to the auto parts store to buy new belts.

The car smoked like a forest fire on start-up after sitting more than a few hours.

The alternator was going bad.

The battery died.

The belts squeaked even after being replaced several times.

Seats were badly worn.

Brakes needed redone.

The car needed new tires.

The paint was badly weathered.

The shift indicator was broken so you had to count the gears when you took it out of park and moved it to drive.

The power windows were like a logic puzzle: Certain ones worked from certain switches, but not all of them worked from all the switches. For example, I could put the rear driver's side window DOWN from the front master switch, but to put it back up I needed to use the switch on the rear door.

The air conditioning compressor had frozen up and been bypassed completely with a new belt routing.

General Comments:

I admit that this car was probably nice in its day, and probably past its prime when I bought it. However, it was badly unreliable. It tried to kill me three days after I bought it--the power steering belt broke on the interstate. Try exiting a highway doing 65 MPH in a 3500 lb. car with no power steering!! Plus, that's the belt that ran the water pump, so it overheated in traffic as I limped two miles to a parking lot to call AAA.

The car sat in my driveway for about two months until the title came back, when I sold it. Three days after the new owner bought it, she turned a corner, the battery hold-down came loose, the battery hit the frame and blew up the alternator, shorting out the whole car and almost killing her. Last I heard, she had donated the car to charity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

3rd Feb 2005, 15:28

Well, it did have a lot of miles...

26th Nov 2011, 14:37

How could killing the engine by shorting it out almost kill you? Just shift to neutral and pull over.

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Brougham 5.03 L / 307 Olds. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.03 L / 307 Olds. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

A dream car!

Faults:

Steering system needed rebuilding at 117,000 miles due to abuse.

The engine needed an overhaul at 125,000 miles due to abuse from the previous owner.

The power steering pump failed in the winter at 121,000 miles

General Comments:

After minimal engine modifications (removal of certain emission components) I got 25 miles per gallon in the city in the summer.

This car goes very fast, especially for its size. It rides like a dream. A good family car, with the heart of a hot rod, it's one of a kind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

26th Jul 2005, 12:06

What kind of emissions controls did you remove? I have a Caprice that could use similar modifications.

13th Mar 2008, 21:53

How much horse power would a 307 5.0 V8 in the 1986 parisienne put out?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 20 reviews