1986 Pontiac Parisienne Reviews

1986 Pontiac Parisienne 307 V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 307 V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance140569 miles

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

I've went through 5 rear ends. I've had to replace the lower A arm, a ball joint, and the tie rods.

In 2010, I had to replace the brake master cylinder.

General Comments:

This is the best car ever; it just won't die.

The seats are very comfortable, it drives great, and had good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2011

12th Jan 2011, 14:15

What was the logic or reasoning behind going through 5 rear axle/differential assemblies? I have a 1978 Mark V, and I have the original still in great shape. Is it due to a fatal design fault of that type, or are you just kinda tough on them? No offense intended, just curious.

12th Jan 2011, 17:02

These are amazing cars.

My daily driver now is a 1981 Pontiac Parisienne Brougham coupe, best $500 car ever.

It has over 335000 k on it, and still runs like a charm, no engine noise, and burns very little oil.

Rides better than most new cars do, very quiet and smooth on the highway, super comfortable too.

I love my Pontiac!

13th Jan 2011, 06:21

I would've thought it was rare to have a rear end go out in a normal car lifespan of say up to 300,000 miles.

1986 Pontiac Parisienne Safari Wagon 5.0L V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

It is way over-engineered, thus its survivability

Faults:

Replaced water pump and all belts, front brakes.

Various sub-systems have ceased to function -- air con, vacuum door locks, cruise control, tape deck (radio is fine), rear window is very tired so I only open the tailgate from the side, passenger visor hangs vertically, dash lights have a mind of their own :), passenger seat is stuck all the way back, the window tinting is peeling, the washers come on with the wipers always.

General Comments:

This car seems destined to run forever.

The original owner retired from GM and bought this as his going-away present. He fabricated a custom bed for the cargo area. My father got it in 1991 and used it to haul his sailboat around, then garaged it in 2003. I picked it up in 2005 after my Ford got flooded in Wilma. (I live in Key West FL USA.)

In three years I have put only 6,000 miles on it. I bike to work and walk to the convenience store, and only use it a couple times a week. But when I need to haul paving stones for a new walkway, or a rental floor sander, or lumber for a project -- this car rules! It is so darned practical.

For the first time I feel safe on the Overseas Highway. If any of the new plastic cars hits me, they'll just bounce off. At 45-55 mph the V8 just barely turns over.

It is battleship gray; I have named it the DREADNOUGHT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2009

29th Apr 2009, 04:57

Wonderful cars. Do you know if yours has the 307 or the 305? Perhaps someone can comment if the station wagons always had the Olds 307 or if some had the Chevy 305.

1st May 2009, 10:49

Mine has the 305 with a big 4bbl carburetor. Oh, just yesterday as I turned a corner, a bystander said out loud, "Nice wagon!"

22nd Jun 2009, 09:54

I mis-spoke, it has the "big engine", the 307. I learned this when I replaced the plugs a couple weeks ago -- look for VIN code H for the 305, Y is the 307.

Also, I will have to replace the power steering pump & reservoir this week. I ordered one from RockAuto.com for $65 bucks, not bad. Might need a new belt for all the dripping. :)

5th Jul 2009, 20:30

The power steering pump is in, works fine, 2 hours labor. Now the heater control is locked up. It is vacuum-operated and a vac line has come undone -- I can hear it hissing LOL. Is this a great car or what?!

23rd Aug 2009, 01:43

Yes these are great cars. I might buy a 1986 Parisienne Brougham

2nd Mar 2010, 16:22

The Dreadnought keeps rolling.

A couple of tanks with a can of Techron in them cleared up a snag in the fuel sender, so I now have an accurate reading on the gauge. I got a quote for new tires and shocks all 'round, $900. I will do that in the fall I think. I will also buy new door seals, since it is getting ridiculous in the rain.

It will be due for an oil change soon. We tried to put new plugs in it recently, but #8 would not come out -- driver's side rear. We'll try that again too. I may need a new belt too, it squeaks when I go through deep puddles.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 20 reviews