1995 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1995 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

OK

Faults:

The windshield wiper motor went just after the warranty had expired.

The head gasket needs to be replaced and the car only has 42,000 km on it.

General Comments:

I have been very happy with the car so far, as it has been very dependable.

However, to have the head gasket go when it only has 42,000 km is very disapointing. We were planning on buying a new car soon, but after reading some of the horror stories on the web, I think we will be buying a different make of vehicle.

Toyota had a head gasket problem with some of their late eighties to early ninety's V-6 trucks. At least they had the guts to recall them and have them repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

10th Jan 2006, 07:47

I have a 1995 sun fire and two years ago my head gasket blew, but it was on a real call and was replaced by gm for free..

1995 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L I-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Good deal

Faults:

Head lights are dim. I've been told that's normal for the car.

The transmission was just fixed for a fluid leak.

The fan belt was replaced February 2002.

I think the rear windshield is leaking.

The torque converter had to be replaced in 2002.

The oil filter is difficult to reach, but that's common on a GM product.

General Comments:

Much better throttle response than my 1990 Cavalier (you can find the survey for that under "I wish I had a Ford")

The gas mileage isn't very good.

The back seat is very comfortable on the Sedan.

The trunk can hold about $300 of groceries with only a few being put into the back seat.

Front seats are very comfortable.

It would be nice if I larger place to put the cases for my glasses and sun glasses.

Despite being low to the ground, it can go over a side walk curb with out doing any major damage. I know this from a very scary experience while leaving a hockey game.

The suspension is starting to get a little rough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

1995 Pontiac Sunfire SE from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Faults:

I do not recommend the purchase of a 1995 Pontiac Sunfire.

I have had two 95 Sunfires and both have ended up in flames.

My first Sunfire started on fire at the end of my driveway, and the second started on fire as a result of an accident.

Besides the fire problem, I constantly had lights lit up on my dashboard when there was no evident problem.

Also, the fan belt was incredibly noisy and obnoxious.

General Comments:

I do not recommend this make or model of vehicle to anyone. If you decide to purchase a Sunfire, I wish you luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

20th May 2003, 05:38

I don't know what you are talking about because I have had my 95 Sunfire for about 2 1/2 years and haven't had any kind of problems. They had a recall on the egnition mod because of a fire issue in some of them, but they have fixed that. I would still recomend one to my friends or anybody else for that matter.

1995 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance104300 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

I love my Sunflower!

Faults:

Since I got my 1995 Sunflower, absolutely nothing has gone wrong with it. It is the best car I have ever had!

General Comments:

Everybody should get a Sunflower because they are cute, sporty, quick, and reliable cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2002

1995 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance174000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Sexy, economical problem car

Faults:

Catalytic converter had to be replaced at 95,000 km (blew up at the dealership)

Interior moldings are breaking apart or coming loose. Seats and carpet have remained in good shape.

Minor steering problems. Left and right ball joints and other steering parts.

Computer problems are the biggest pain in the #@*. Cooling system light comes on when accelerating. No one can figure this one out. Check engine light comes on frequently. When the humidity is high and there has been rain, the engine sputters, backfires and will not idle.

Most times it eventually recovers and the check engine light goes out.

I have been told that this is a known problem with this car and it's computer related.

The only other bad thing is the suspension. You feel every imperfection of a badly paved road!

General Comments:

After reading many comments on the sun fire GT, I think I have been one of the luckier owners of this car. It has been a reliable, economical and sexy sports car. My plan has been to hold on to this car and use it as a reliable second car. I'm going to the dealership for the last time to try to solve this computer problem and hope that I won't have to sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2002

11th Oct 2002, 01:40

You feel every bump because you bought the GT model with performance tires and a stiffer suspension.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 35 reviews