1996 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.4 Liter from North America


Great Car


The only things that have been replaced in the 8 years that I have driven it have been:

The water pump at about 50k.

I had the struts, strut tower, strut plates, and strut mount replaced at around 80k because of a thumping noise coming from the back.

The only complaints I have is the clear coat is has been coming off for a year now, some of the plastic inside around the gear shifter and door handle is coming loose and I can't start it and go in cold weather. It HAS to be warmed up for at least 10 minutes or it will die.

General Comments:

This is been an extremely reliable car the past 8 years. It has never left me stranded and its very peppy and still fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

1st Apr 2012, 13:00

Tomorrow I say goodbye to my 1996 Sunfire. It turned 16 last month. What a great car it has been.

Very reliable, comfortable and fun to drive.

With winter tires, it moved through the snow like an AWD.

Yes... I am getting another Pontiac. I only hope it lives up to the reputation of my Sunfire.

RIP Sunfire.

1996 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2 from North America


Feel bad for whoever is driving it now


Every part except motor and tranny.

General Comments:

It is a piece of crap.

Had no pick up at all, my old Accent was faster then it.

Car is very slow, people are stupid to modify them.

Car wasn't very good on gas for a 2.2.

Spent over $4000 in repairs, never again.

Handling was no good.

Could seat 5 pretty good.

Barely pass cars on the highway, crap passing gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

5th Oct 2006, 14:26

This car was a disaster from the start. From the first few years where crash protection was worst in the country, to the overall low quality design of the car...pathetic.

20th Oct 2009, 20:37

My 1996 Sunfire GT is one of the best cars I've ever owned. Other than my 1988 CRX Si, this is my second favorite.

1996 Pontiac Sunfire SE 22 from North America




Air bag light keeps going on brakes every year and a bit.

General Comments:

The car is OK 4 the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2006

1996 Pontiac Sunfire convertible 2.4 litre from North America


Until they make something better, I will be looking for a third, when this one is gone/done


The motor for the driver's window had to be replaced

The expensive fuel pump had to be replaced with a great deal of expensive labour.

General Comments:

This is our second Sunfire convertible, so you know we like it. The fuel pump was expensive to replace ($1000) but that has been the only real repair in over 100,000 kms of fun driving.

For a 10 year old car, it is totally reliable, totally enjoyable and still turns heads.

It has lots power gets great mileage and has more storage in its glove compartment than a Solstice has in its trunk.

I love this car, but if I was pressed to find faults, I would like the windshield to be an inch taller, (because I am very tall in the body), the front seat could have built in shoulder straps (like a Sebring) and the power window switches could be on the door instead on the consul. That is about all>

The convertible body is not as solid as a sedan or coupe, but that is part of the convertible experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2006

1996 Pontiac Sunfire GTX 2.2 from North America


Excellent car overall, Great on Gas!!!


Engine started ticking at 220 000 and I had engine took down and checked out, rings were gone. Got it put back together and ticking is now gone. Running Great Again.

Brakes go often, rotors and drums gone now. and Brakes again for the third time.

I have replaced struts once since owning the car.

General Comments:

I have One question I need answered, what is the difference between a GTX model and a SE model? My car is a GTX and it seems more powerful and faster then a SE model. I raced a 96 SE model (standard trans) and I won big time. And my car is an Automatic.

I need this question answered badly. If anyone can help me out with the answer please e-mail me at calvinhur20@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2006

18th Mar 2009, 19:53


The GTX model, what year is it? The 97 GTX coupe is much slower than a 96 GTX coupe. The reason is that the motors are different is some ways... like there is more cast iron in the 96 model, which in the end you have a stronger motor.

The 97 model uses a few lighter parts... like lighter heads.. great if you want to lose some weight... but I would rather have the 96 model... no tech motor.

The manual shift car should have outran the automatic, cause you control the revs, but you better not put the revs up too high LOL, you will have no motor left.

I split the wall inside the gearbox and lost my motor.. that's where an automatic would come in handy. LOL.

Anyways, to all the Sunfire lovers who have so much trouble with their car LOL, joining the club.. I am on my third motor... and it would kill me to have to sell the car... so I store it in the winters LOL. My summer Sunfire!!!