1996 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4L DOHC from North America


Piece of Junk!


Everything and Anything! It seemed like every couple of months, something needed to be replaced and I'm not exaggerating. I spent, by far, more money repairing the piece of junk than I paid for the car. I could have bought a brand new car with the money that I spent in repairs. I would never recommend anyone owning a sunfire. Not worth the headache.

Also, the car is very small and not very comfortable.

General Comments:

They look cute and the GT does have some speed to it, but that's about it. Oh and I guess it was VERY GOOD on gas!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

1996 Pontiac Sunfire 2 Door 2.0 from North America


Reliable, fun and speedy


There was a Carbon block, which cost $30.00 to remove.

The Brakes seem to wear out a little quickly, and are costly to replace, about $350 for front and $250 for back.

The plastic covers on everything in the interior are not very sturdy, and get knocked out/broken very easily.

Don't ever hit anything, because almost everything is plastic, so one crack in it and you're looking at huge repair bills.

General Comments:

This car has great pick up compared to other cars in it's class. It's quick to respond and fun to drive. It does great even when you miss oil changes (I've gotten away with 8000 - 9000 between changes).

It's safe, and maneuverable, you'll never have trouble getting into or out of tight spots.

Generally, this car has been super reliable, and a great car to drive and be seen in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2005

28th Jul 2005, 19:42

First let me just say that those Sunfires are not quick. 0-60 times are about 14 seconds. Last time I checked that's not very fast. But they do look very good. The front end seems to have a almost evil look. Plus those cars will run for a long time, unless you change the oil every 8,000 miles like this nut. All cars need regular oil changes and other little fluid changes the will prolong the live of the vehicle.

25th Sep 2005, 21:19

350.00 for front brakes and 250.00 for back. I think i'd check where you're getting your work done. Rotors are only 25.00 each and pads are only 30.00. Rear shoes are only 35.00 so I think i'd shop around before i'd pay that shop to do a brake job again.

26th Mar 2006, 17:53

I have a 1996 Sunfire se model 2.2. This car has been excellent to me. It has 178,000 miles now and always starts up. I fill very confident in going long distances. I to have change the oil later then the maintenance schedule (7-8000). I love this car. The brakes I did them myself about $60. I couldn't believe the negative comments about this car. I most of been lucky with mine. I just recently got a transmission flush and mechanic said it looked very good. When its cold a little engine noise, but not much. Only in winter months.

26th May 2009, 05:17

Let me tell you about my Pontiac Sunfire. I have 232000 miles on it and feel so confident I would go out of state with this car. I have had it for 6 years now and haven't put much money in it at all. I only replaced the shocks, alternator, plugs, fluids, air filter, and brakes. Which most of this is just typical maintenance. It leaks a little oil, so about each 6 weeks I add a quart of oil. This has been going on since 168,000, and I just change the oil every 10000-12000 miles. I would definitely buy this car again.

11th Jun 2009, 06:41

I replaced all my brakes and front rotors myself, and spent less than a hundred dollars.

1996 Pontiac Sunfire SE 4DR 2.2L L4 from North America


My sunfire is excellent and reliable


My head gasket blew at 220,000kms.

Spring is poking out of the back of the drivers seat. This is common in these cars.

Bad problems with strut mounts and needed to be replaced at 180,000kms and at 200,000kms.

Bad knocking in engine and resulted in engine being rebuilt.

Ground wiring problem.

General Comments:

This is my first car and still going strong. I bought it used in 2001.

This car has been treated well by myself and my wife.

Therefore it treats us well too.

The car is sluggish going up hills with the A/C on.

Sometimes the car will bottom out with a load in the back.

This car does cruise well down the high way, but it can be unconfortable at the same time. The driver will end up tilting to the right.

This is our everyday car and we have put 116,000kms on it since we bought it (now at 256,000kms) and hopefully we'll get another 256,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2005