1996 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4 Twin Cam from North America


My new favorite car!


Just a few recalls which the dealer fixed promptly for free. The power steering line (one of the recalls) was installed incorrectly by the dealer that caused a leakage and the power steering to go out (which cost $120 to correct, but refunded by the dealer for their mistake).

General Comments:

GT model is a very fast car, I didn't quite expect it to be such a great car yet so inexpensive. Love this car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

1996 Pontiac Sunfire GT from North America


This car is a piece of junk


Two weeks after I bought the car, the brakes went costing me $500.

During the winter, the gas fumes were coming in threw the heat. The antifreeze was also leaking so that had to be replaced. Cylinder head gasket $900.

The inside panels of the car starting falling off. I still haven't had them put back on.

There had to be a button put in so I could start the car.$65.00.

The gas pedal got stuck down. The belt also had to be replaced. About $250.

The transmission the went.$1,800.

I just had the ignition replaced and it still stalls when I'm at a stop light.$500.

The AC also doesn't work anymore.

General Comments:

The car is nice to drive, when it decides to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

17th Nov 2005, 08:23

My sun fire was in good shape when I bought it then eventually started dieing. I needed new struts, new brakes, and a new exhaust. I'm in high-school and wanted a reliable car, I researched it first and found it would be OK, but turns out those reviews were wrong. Now I see almost every sun fire is loud and needs something fixed. I would never suggest to anyone to get this car, its to much trouble.

1996 Pontiac Sunfire 4 door Sedan 2.2 Litre from North America


Would be better off taking a bus!


Car running fine when purchased used. One week later engine leaking oil from head gasket.

125,000 engine making ticking noise. Brought to dealer, nothing wrong.

130,000 car making clunking noise from rear when driving.

140,000 car stalls when low on fuel. Brought to dealer, engine needed tune up. Chugging stopped for 1 week.

150,000 Coming off highways to low speed roads, car still chugs and acts like it's going to stall. Brought to dealer. No help.

Winter 2002 car doors won't open when cold.

Spring 2002 car burning oil. Must refill every week. Dealer can't find problem.

April 2002 windshield wiper transmission breaks.

April 2003 windshield wipers break again.

June 2003 Car chugging worse than ever. Dealer can't figure out what's wrong.

General Comments:

I had better performance from previous Sunbird. (handling, less problems)

Will never buy another Sunfire again. Too many problems.

Have seen many driving in the city with same windshield wiper problems.

Too many recalls, too many dealerships with no answers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

9th Mar 2004, 19:09

The doors freezing shut are not a fault of the car's! You have to put grease on the seals (not grease, I forget what it is called, silicone grease maybe?) to prevent moisture from freezing them shut.

Also, the stalling when low on fuel points directly to the fuel pump, get it replaced and don't run the car low on fuel, the fuel pump inside the fuel tank uses the fuel to cool the motor off.

19th Dec 2005, 00:44

Regarding my sister's '97 Pontiac Sunfire -continuously have problem with both driver & passenger doors freezing shut when we have just the least bit cold whether. Is there an answer to this problem, she has even had the door freeze shut multiple times while she is still in the car!

8th Sep 2007, 22:47

I used to own a 2001 Sunfire and mine was a pile of junk. The ticking and chugging sounds might be the timing belt getting ready to break. Mine would do that every 30,000 miles or so and forget about fixing it yourself - not enough room in the engine compartment to fit a wrench! You have to get a mechanic to do that and it runs about $250 or so each time. I kept mine for about a year and bought a 1979 Cadillac and sold the Sunfire. I've driven the old Cadillac for 3 years with no problems except a minor tuneup or oil change and it is better on gas then they Pontiac's little 4 cylinder motor! Go figure.