2005 Pontiac Wave Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2005 Pontiac Wave from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

I regret buying this car

Faults:

Driver side lock pushed into the door and slid into the car as I was going to unlock it. ($400 repair)

Something went wrong with the "engine wiring", which caused the engine to start backfiring and lost any type of acceleration power and burned out all of my spark plugs. ($1,600 repair)

General Comments:

Luckily I had purchased the extended warranty on this vehicle, but if I could have taken back purchasing this car I would.

I bought it late November 2008, and even though it has never broke down on me - I'd have to say the performance of this car is very unsatisfying.

Since I had the engine repair done 3 months ago, it is already lagging again badly with no acceleration power. I always give regular gas changes and use fuel injector cleaner every couple months.

Honestly my '94 Suzuki Swift got double the gas mileage, and also had more acceleration power. I got the Pontiac Wave since I thought it would be like my Swift but upgraded.

It's just that for the money, $9000.00, I could have bought 5 94' Swifts and I think I'd have been better off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2009

12th Feb 2011, 21:23

You are so right! I had a 95 Geo Metro 3 cylinders (same as the Swift.) It would go forever on no gas. I finally scrapped it at 320000km, but it was still running OK. Why they don't still make these is beyond me. 15 years later, I can't even buy a car that comes close to this. Is that progress?

13th Feb 2011, 14:23

I loved my Swift, too. Great reliability, fuel economy and fun to drive. They stopped selling Metros/Swifts because they were in an era of relatively cheap fuel where hulking SUVs and trucks were all the rage.

When my Swift died in 2007, I wanted another small, fun car from Suzuki or Chevy. In Canada, Suzuki sells a rebadged Daewoo, and calls it the Swift+. It's the same as the Chevy Aveo. I read a lot reviews on these cars, and found they were crap compared to Swifts/Metros. I ended up with a used Toyota Echo, and couldn't be happier. You've really got to do research, and don't rely on the badge of a car. LOL.

14th May 2012, 11:40

I regret buying the car as well. I had the car for two months, and the timing belt broke off, which caused engine damage. I had to replace all the valves in the engine, plus the belt. The car has problems starting up when the weather is cold. The car is so lightweight, that when you drive it on the highway when it's windy, the car veers. The power window buttons on the passenger side don't work as well.

I would never tell anyone to buy this car. It has been nothing but problems.

2005 Pontiac Wave 1.6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

I just bought it, is too soon for a fair opinion

Faults:

Serpentine belt changed, it was all cracked.

Dash, clock, radio, A/T stick lights go out and came back, intermittently, when low beam headlights are on.

Some squealing noises from the front when passing speed bumps - could be the stabilizer bar bushings, links.

General Comments:

The car is not fast but delivers. Tricky when enter the highway - must pick the right moment otherwise you'll be in trouble.

Honestly, mine looks having too many problems after 3 years.

One good thing: engine oil very clean, no traces of sludge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2008

2005 Pontiac Wave from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

If you want an economy car, don't buy GM

Faults:

The car speakers has always been wavering (in/out).

3 recalls on the vehicle.

Fan belt always loose (since the beginning).

Engine caught FIRE at 130,000 kms, but all but a few are highway kilometers. Never missed an oil change and all fluids were topped up.

General Comments:

The Pontiac Wave, for the most part, is a decent car for the money, but MY car was a lemon and the dealership refused to do much about it. GM will NEVER get my business again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2008

6th Mar 2009, 12:23

I also own a 2005.

3 recalls for the very same throttle freezing problem, plus another minor recall. On the first recall, I drove it out of the dealer lot and it stalled with the entire instrument cluster lit, but then we couldn't replicate it.

New tires at 30K as well as my gas mileage being cut in half in winter months. I have a "hold" light come on for the shifter (it's an automatic) which resulted in the dealer fixing valves and cylinders. The stereo has been replaced twice (volume goes down instead of up when cold), the alarm system had to be replaced twice.

My first and last GM product... and I think I'm actually more upset with the dealer than the car itself.

10th Jul 2009, 19:43

I also own a 2005 Wave and mine too is a lemon. Never again will this company get my business.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews