2003 Porsche 911 Carrera 2 Coupe 3,600 cc from Belgium


Drives great but surprisingly poor reliability


The engine had to be replaced after 70.000 kms.

Non working satellite navigation system/ CD reader.

Various oil leaks (had to be towed twice to a garage).

A couple of electrical faults, eg non working light switch.

The car body, the front in particular, gets damaged very easily by chippings.

Generally, the manufacturer is unwilling to help much beyond their (mean) 2 year warranty (Note: a KIA comes with a 7 year warranty!!), which leaves you with hefty bills.

General Comments:

I love the looks of the car and its performance.

Seats are not particularly comfortable, though, in particular for long journeys. Not great for my back.

I thought the purchase of this car made sense from the standpoint of both my heart and my head. I was rather mistaken on the latter as the car proved far less reliable than what its myth suggests. When talking to other Porsche owners, my experience does not appear to be an isolated case.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2008

18th Sep 2008, 12:48

Actually your review is an isolated case. Not one problem with my 2003 996 Carrera 2 coupe. Only thing is the car goes through tires like crazy. Had to replace the rear tires at 15,000 miles. The car drives like a dream... only thing is the maintenance can get pricy. Try not to buy anything from Porsche unless you have to... especially tires. They are marked up by at least 30% over anyone out there.

2nd Jan 2015, 01:11

I agree totally. My 2003 Carrera 2 Dr Coupe is doing well, has 60K miles, and looks like it is new. Tires are expensive, but I found TireRack gives great prices on tires.

2nd Jan 2015, 21:30

The car was a 2003, and it was mentioned that the engine was replaced at 70K km. That to me sounds like it may have been a failed intermediate shaft, which necessitates an engine replacement. The IMS failures, the last time I read about it, didn't seem to have a definite cause of failure - cars that were low mileage, fully serviced on schedule, babied, and otherwise well looked after, still had them fail; some have had very high mileage, driven like they were stolen, even ill-treated, and have not had the failures. If I were to get one used, I'd go for the facelift without the intermediate shaft, I think that was from 2009 or 2010.

2003 Porsche 911 Carrera 3.6 from Australia and New Zealand


Poorly manufactured and appalling build quality for the price


Transmission noise at 7000kms.

RMS (rear main seal) leak at 16000kms.

Interior falling apart and of poor quality.

General Comments:

I've always loved Porsche, but since having bought it, I'm starting to have grave concerns, especially when the warranty runs out!

The built quality is not what I had expected from a car in this price range. The problems with the RMS and transmission are really worrying me, although they were eventually repaired under warranty (dealer support sucks). I'm worried if this happens again, I'll be up for mega bucks $$$$ to fix.

I hear on various forum that the 996 and 997 911's suffer from all these type of problems. This was not the experience I was hoping for. I'm now sadly selling this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

10th Oct 2005, 07:02

Deteriorating build quality has been affecting many of the mainstream German marques (VW, Audi, BMW) for some time, but I am shocked it has filtered through to Porsche.

I would be gutted had I spent that sort of money on a car and had even trivial problems with it.

12th Oct 2005, 04:09

The GS300 has gone to the wife and YES I'm selling the 911 even though I've been informed I stand to lose around $70,000 AUD. I have enjoyed driving the car immensely, but don't want to be stuck with any future problems, once the warranty expires. Associates of mine own or have owned the older 911's mid 80's vintage with high KMS and suffer very few problems. Although I've always loved Porsche, it seems the company philosophy has changed.

2003 Porsche 911 GT3 3.6 from UK and Ireland


Absolutely amazing


The only fault with the car is that it has a small battery to make the car lighter and this battery does not last long without it being charged. Other than that though it is very reliable.

General Comments:

The car is a pure super car, there are no luxury accessories, only air conditioning and a radio. The regular Porsche seats are replaced with Porsche bucket seats and a roll cage is also factory fitted. The car sticks to the road like no one would believe and is just so fast. 0-60 is in 4.3 seconds and the car will do 8000rpm! It is crazy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

13th Jun 2007, 09:00

Good write up. Having recently driven a friend's Porsche GT3 (an even quicker 2007, 997 model no less), I can identify with comments about how crazy it is compared to a "base" 911. Sure, there is also the 911 Turbo, but somehow the Turbo does not convey the sheer excitement (sound, handling, agility, sense of speed) that the N/A GT3 does.

The only problem ironically for the GT3 is that perhaps it is a little too quick for road use. A standard 911 will probably be more practical for day to day use. But if you're after a car for the track, then look no further.

30th Nov 2007, 04:06

I've also been lucky enough to drive the latest model, and I can summarise it in one word. Addictive.

The noise in particular should be bottled and sold as an antidote to depression. It's just fabulous.

A very raw car though which may prove tiring for road use. I agree with the comment above - it's really a track tool first and foremost. However, I reckon I could force myself to live with it as a commuter. ;-)