1984 Porsche 944 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1984 Porsche 944 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carDatsun 280Z

Summary:

Do not buy this car, so another will be around for me

Faults:

Clutch master and exhaust.

Interior overhead light and windshield visor clips...exploded, melted in the heat. My fault for not leaving the window cracked in the sumer. I don't think it gets as hot in Germany as it does here.

General Comments:

Car handles like a cat in turns and at speed even in the rain.

It's a highway tourer and "twisty's" car.

It's not happy in the city and in stop and go.

Watch the coolant temp in the summer.

30mpg average.

I loved my Datsun 280Z too, it handled about as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

20th Sep 2009, 20:45

I felt very happy when I read this article, I have been daily driving my 1978 280z for a while now, and when hearing that he likes it as much as his 280, it left me feeling sold.

1984 Porsche 944 2.5 Non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A high performance, tire screeching, smoking civics, German wonder

Faults:

So far nothing really went wrong with the car. The only thing that needed to be replaced was the wiper motor in the front. Other than that everything is running good.

General Comments:

This is my first car. I think it was a great choice. Performance wise: very quick car with crazy handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1984 Porsche 944 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired192000 miles
Most recent distance227000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Handles like the tires were glued to the ground

Faults:

Wheel bearings went.

Transmission went out (my fault).

General Comments:

This car is a dream on the road. I used to have a Trans Am before this car. The best way I can describe it is: You're not gonna get a Trans Am in a straight line, but you can go around turns at 120 that he can't do at 60. This car handles like nothing else. I have laid waste to 300 ZX'S, Camaros, Mustangs, Rx7's and the whole Honda line.

Great car, I can't say enough positive things about the way this car performs. This is my first Porsche. Just be prepared to spend $1000+ if your transmission goes out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2002

1984 Porsche 944 2.5L In-line 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L In-line 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

High performance... High maintenance

Faults:

The car is in excellent running condition (and was when I purchased it).

The battery had been recently replaced, but after a month of driving the car I noticed that the brake fluid levels were down, and there were marks where I park. After jacking up the car, it became apparent that the clutch master and slave cylinders needed replacement. $150 later, the new pieces were installed. After that the car has been great.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and has seemingly endless amounts of cornering ability. It handles like it is on rails.

My only gripe is that the inside is black and there are almost no lights, so at night it is very hard to find things.

The tachometers are also a cheesy yellow and the speedometer is mechanical and shakes a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

1984 Porsche 944 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carPorsche 914

Summary:

High styling at a low cost

Faults:

Water pump.

Alternator.

Timing belt and bearings.

Motor mounts.

Window switches.

Battery.

Wheel bearings.

Rotors and pads.

Radiator.

General Comments:

OK, this is a great car if you know how to manage it. It drives well, performs more than adaquately and is comfortable on long trips.

This car has been with us for quite sometime now, and has been quite reliable if maintained well. We even shipped this car to Italy for a year and enjoyed it at better than average US speeds. It even made a trip to the factory, to say hello.

It becomes part of the family and is good value for the money. Purchased the 944 for $2000 in 1992 and spent $2500 in upgrades, belts, pumps etc. and it has required minor maintenance over the years.

Just put a new paint job on her and she looks like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

1984 Porsche 944 Standard Coupe 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles

Summary:

A car with which it is easy to develop a true love/hate relationship

Faults:

Wow... Where do I begin?

Starter motor required rebuilding.

Electric window motors and switches required work.

Timing belt, water pump and idlers replaced.

All (4) rotors replaced and calipers rebuilt.

Engine seals leaking; required re-replacement of the timing belt - over $1,000.

Alternator destroyed the battery and both had to be replaced; the second battery in six months.

Windshield wiper motor failed as did the washer motor (the $1.98 one).

Rear wiper wiring fused and required replacement.

Speedometer failed and required a $200 rebuild.

There are a number of other faults that have developed, forcing me to join an auto club and never go more than five miles from home without a celphone.

General Comments:

Let's get the good stuff out of the way. I think the 944 is one of the prettiest cars ever built; I love the looks and the handling. The galvanneal body lasts and lasts.

That being said.. I have had four different Porsche models over the years from a 356 to a 911, not all of them old. I have found them to be overpriced when new, very expensive to maintain, and in some respects cheaply made. I will explain.

The electrical system is second only to the infamous Lucas Electric in unreliability. The gauge of wire is on the edge of acceptable, and since resistance increases with temperature, a point comes where it is inadequate and the wire overheats, the insulation hardens, breaks, and short circuits occur. Additionally, the switches utilized are under designed, either failing outright or developing internal resistance (such as the washer switch).

As time has passed, the routine maintenance expense has increased, in direct opposition to other manufacturers. Changing oil in a 993 is a nightmare, not to be attempted by the faint of heart. In the 944/968, most routing maintenance is relatively straightforward, but this is the last Porsche model for which this can be said.

The 944 engine is reliable, as long as it is properly maintained. A failure of the timing belt is a disaster, which can result in a rebuild which will exceed the value of the car. Oil seals are a problem, particular those on the external oil cooler. Ignored, water will enter the lubrication system and destroy the bearings.

One has to remember that Porsche is a small company, and therefore does not have the ability to change poor designs as quickly as larger manufacturers. Therefore, the stubborn adherence until recently to air cooling in the 911 models (left over from the Volkswagen roots.. sorry, folks) and the development of the timing belt system in the 928/944 which requires a $400 tool to adjust.

In conclusion, had Porsche not become greedy, continually raising the price of the 944/968 to a point where it was no longer an entry level vehicle, and had they developed or borrowed a more versatile engine, this vehicle could have developed into an outstanding competitor as well as a comfortable cruiser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

30th Jan 2002, 04:46

I'm not as knowledgeable nor as mechanically savvy as this person, but I agree with almost everything. Having owned an old (1983) previously-unmaintained 944, I went through a LOT of money in maintenance in a VERY short period of time. Wheel bearings collapsing, steering wheel snapping in half, distributor cap cracking, electric windows breaking down, air-con leaking, etc etc.

That said, I LOVED this car - not too flashy or showy, beautiful to drive (when it wasn't in the shop of course), power to spare, and relatively economical. Would buy another one in a minute!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews