2000 Porsche Boxster Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2000 Porsche Boxster 2.7L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93200 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Awesome ride, best sports car in its class

Faults:

Leaking main engine seal at 97,000 km.

Leaking spark plug seal at 97,000 km.

Replaced spark plugs, ceramic covers and plug coils at 97,000 km.

New clutch at 97,000 km.

General Comments:

Besides a few problems that occurred as a result of improper maintenance by the previous owners, the car runs like a dream.

The power and handling of this car with the 2.7 L 217 HP engine is amazing. The engine note at high RPM is very unique and makes a Porsche what it is.

Braking is very quick and responsive.

Manual 5 speed transmission is smooth shifting and the clutch transition is seamless.

The seats are very comfortable, the interior dash controls are well placed and all work as they should.

Coffee cup holder would have been nice, but it is a Porsche.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2009

29th Nov 2009, 16:32

Can I ask how much all those repairs cost? (the ones at 97,000km)

9th Apr 2011, 00:47

I'm in Australia, and these are the costs I have been quoted:

Rear main seal, clutch kit, fly wheel, bolts and labour = $3000.

IMS bearing replacement with an LN Engineering part + labour = $1700.

Water pump and engine bearing = $1400.

Oil change + magnetic sump plug = $400.

Brakes (rotors & pads all 4 corners using OE parts) + labour = $1200.

New key, supplied, cut and programmed = $325.

2000 Porsche Boxster S 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24660 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A great car let down by low quality parts

Faults:

Reversing light switch failed.

Air conditioning failed twice.

Brake discs corroded at 15,000 miles new discs x4 and pads.

Silencer heat shield came loose at 21,000 miles.

Both front lower ball joints failed at 24,000 miles.

General Comments:

Porsche Boxster S Aug 2000 Mileage only 25,000.

The car is a superb piece of engineering and terrific to own. My car needed new brake discs and pads after 15,000 miles and the dealer said they were not covered by warranty. The car now needs both front lower ball joints replacing. I have asked Porsche GB why these problems have occurred and I have received a patronising reply. Has anyone else had the same problems with these parts? I cannot believe it is just me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2006

19th Apr 2009, 21:11

Is this car driven in the city? If it is driven in the city with a lot of stop and go traffic, then I'd expect your brakes to wear out very quickly, although it is still pretty low mileage to change rotors... but may be your dealer just wanted to make extra $$$ and took advantage of you.

If you are one of those drivers who constantly tail gate other people and use your brakes a lot, then that could be a reason why your brakes wear out prematurely.

If you drive on bad roads - the suspension will wear out prematurely. These things are kinda obvious, but many people fail to "connect the dots" if you know what I mean.

12th Jun 2009, 20:05

On many luxury german cars it's common to see brake pads that last for 15-20,000 miles and suspension parts that you would not expect to be wear items (which are not covered by warranty) to wear out. All of this depends on your usual driving conditions.

2000 Porsche Boxster S 3.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Sweet handling, lovely sound and good power

Faults:

1 radiator fan not working, passenger seat electric not working, coolant filler/tank cracked (!)

General Comments:

Handles great, the most balanced car I have driven so far, the power is very good though not mind-blowing.

As I have very long legs unfortunately all journeys longer than 30 minutes were pain due to unsymmetrical position - left leg had too little room and the right one too much so was hanging...

Otherwise good seats and really quiet even at higher speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2006

2000 Porsche Boxster S 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carPorsche 911

Summary:

A poor mans 911? - NO WAY

Faults:

No faults so far with the car.

General Comments:

The car has fantastic handling and performance. I expected to be a little disappointed with the cars performance having previously had a 964 911. The boxster does not have the out and out savage power delivery of the old car, but its not far off and the handling is awesome.

I am just over 6 feet tall and fit in to the car no problem. The cabin is a world apart from the old 911's with modern dashboard and instrument layout. The heating and ventilation is a vast improvement.

In terms of practicallity the two boots provide adequate storage for two peoples weekend luggage, in cabin storage though is limited to the door pockets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

14th Dec 2009, 13:42

A lot of people say that the only reason for buying a Boxster, it´s because you can afford a 911. (Rubbish)

The Boxster is a mid-engined, 2 seater roadster, and the 911 is a rear-engined, 4 seater GT car. They are in completely different categories. But, what about the Mercedes range?

The SLK is a front-engined, 2 setter (and feminine) roadster. The SL is... yes, exactly the same thing, but bigger, more powerful and much, much more expensive.

So... Which one is the cheapest alternative? Right.

The Boxster, it's a great car.

15th Dec 2009, 09:03

They are ugly cars though, you can't tell if its going forwards or backwards, it's like the designers got bored and just used the same design for the front as the back.

Personally I prefer the Honda S2000, despite the badge, I preferred driving and being seen in the Honda.

16th Dec 2009, 09:21

I guess it is all in what you like.

As for me, I would take a Porsche over a Honda every time!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews