2000 Porsche Boxster S 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland


A poor mans 911? - NO WAY


No faults so far with the car.

General Comments:

The car has fantastic handling and performance. I expected to be a little disappointed with the cars performance having previously had a 964 911. The boxster does not have the out and out savage power delivery of the old car, but its not far off and the handling is awesome.

I am just over 6 feet tall and fit in to the car no problem. The cabin is a world apart from the old 911's with modern dashboard and instrument layout. The heating and ventilation is a vast improvement.

In terms of practicallity the two boots provide adequate storage for two peoples weekend luggage, in cabin storage though is limited to the door pockets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

13th Jun 2005, 11:16

Cool car.

14th Dec 2009, 13:42

A lot of people say that the only reason for buying a Boxster, it´s because you can afford a 911. (Rubbish)

The Boxster is a mid-engined, 2 seater roadster, and the 911 is a rear-engined, 4 seater GT car. They are in completely different categories. But, what about the Mercedes range?

The SLK is a front-engined, 2 setter (and feminine) roadster. The SL is... yes, exactly the same thing, but bigger, more powerful and much, much more expensive.

So... Which one is the cheapest alternative? Right.

The Boxster, it's a great car.

15th Dec 2009, 09:03

They are ugly cars though, you can't tell if its going forwards or backwards, it's like the designers got bored and just used the same design for the front as the back.

Personally I prefer the Honda S2000, despite the badge, I preferred driving and being seen in the Honda.

16th Dec 2009, 09:21

I guess it is all in what you like.

As for me, I would take a Porsche over a Honda every time!

2000 Porsche Boxster S 3.2 from UK and Ireland


Fast good looking car young at heart


Washer hose pipe came off.

General Comments:

There is not one number in the gear box that does not perform and make you just sit there and wonder will this make it around the bend. Guess what he does, I have lost this car at 100mph coming into bend approaching a tunnel in the Austrian alps. Kept my foot down in third and powered my way out. wow factor...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

20th Feb 2003, 08:34

Been to austria and your most recent mileage is 20. hmmmm.

2000 Porsche Boxster 217 hp from North America


Anti-locks and airbags didn't work for me. Read on about how I drove off a cliff



Right rear anti-lock equipped brake locked up on a braking right turn on a mountain road and almost killed me.

Car rear slid out and I went off a 50' embankment and was fortunately caught in some tall pines, where I fell to the ground upright.

No airbags deployed. The pickup truck behind me made the turn, and braked to a stop. The Porsche is in the canyon, the pickup is parked next to my crash site, what's wrong with this picture?

My $50,000 Porsche is sitting is a wreckers yard in NC. waiting for the adjuster. I'm real curious about the rear wheel lock and no bags.

I'm going to do 6 weeks off work for this broken rib. I'm not a happy camper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2001

5th Aug 2001, 17:30

Slamming on the brakes in a turn is inadvisable in any car.

6th Aug 2001, 07:57

I find it highly unlikely that the events described can be attributed to a faulty ABS system. In the first place, the Boxster ABS works on wheel pairs (it is incapable of braking the wheels individually). Porsche does have a system called Porsche Stability Management (PSM) that can modulate brakes on individual wheels. This system is available on later (2001 on) Boxsters as an option. PSM generally activates when it detects a situation where incipient loss of control exists - the beginnings of a skid, for example, and it acts to counteract the problem by individually braking the appropriate wheel (s) and by momentarily reducing engine power (irrespective of throttle position). I've driven PSM equipped cars on the track at high speeds, and generally never noticed it. It only activates if the driver does something WRONG (like trying to take a corner at a speed higher than the frictional forces at the tires can accommodate). When it does activate, you can detect it by the momentary power loss and the fact that your car stayed on the road instead of sliding off the track. As good as it is, PSM cannot overcome the basic laws of physics - someone who is going much faster than they should be in a curve can still slide off the road - it is just more difficult. Having owned and driven a Boxster for the past 3 years and 40,000 miles, and having driven the new Porsche models on the track, I find it much more likely that this gentleman was driving faster than his skills would allow, and the car slid off the road.