2001 Porsche Boxster from North America - Comments

16th Aug 2001, 17:39

So if Porsche do not include luxury, why are they so expensive?

Please don't tell me you pay for the engineering, because it is just not justified. I have been in several Porsches and the interiors are put to shame by GM/Ford let alone the likes of Mercedes.

Also how heavy is a rear glass window relative to other parts of the car - this hardly makes a difference.

24th Aug 2001, 20:56

...oh and to add insult to injury, I noticed today that someone at the IRA body shop had removed three items from the car:

1) The registration (lost but had to be with the car when it was towed since the appraiser checks the registration).

2) The registration sticker (we only get one in MA and cut traces were hanging off the license).

3) The inspection sticker (mounted on the inside of the windshield - no traces remained). Since the inspection sticker cannot be removed without access to the car we now only lack a motive. Could it be revenge after I criticised the body shop for taking FOUR months to repair 37 parts on a current car?

Since this was a brand-new car, and since it had been put through an accident, we know the paperwork was complete when the accident happened... until the car was delivered to the IRA dealership.

Luckily, the police hadn't noticed that I was driving around with a '98 registration sticker before I did. As you can imagine, I wasn't terribly pleased when I found out. For what it's worth, the Porsche repair folks at IRA were pretty upset with the body shop and offered to pay for the registration and inspection fees.

I'm sorry Porsche allows entites like the body shop to claim an allegiance to the Porsche family values. Experiences like these will make people abandon the dealership and perhaps the brand altogether.

27th Nov 2001, 12:48

I've had my 99 Boxster for over two years and I've had nothing but trouble with it. Here's what I can think of off the top of my head:

Faulty battery replaced (caused major grief).

Faulty electronic switch in the handbrake causing the top to stop working (very embarrassing with the top partially down).

Engine replaced at 14100 miles (enough said).

All headlights and taillights bulbs replaced AT LEAST twice each at different times (very frustrating).

Air bag light has come on 3 times.

Sport design interior scratched/dirty and is impossible to clean (scratches on the back side of the seats are ridiculous).

Radio shuts off by itself and the display goes out at random, etc.

I can go on and on here.

Yes this is all warranty work, but I'm VERY worried about the costs after the warranty period is over.

My latest problem is with the rear window having creases and cuts.

I'm EXTREMELY disappointed with my car even though I know for a fact that not everybody has had the same type of experience. I don't know if I should be blaming Porsche or my dealership! I seriously doubt that I will consider another Boxster.

14th Jun 2004, 07:09

The car weighs 1329kg, so I doubt the omission of a glass screen has anything to do with saving weight. They clearly weren't too bothered in other areas.

22nd Nov 2004, 14:43

Amen, I own a 2001 Boxster and I love it. If you don't want the head ache of exspensive repairs and service buy a honda!

The Boxster is a true sports cars and likes to be driven. If you own a Porsche you know what I mean. Have fun and live life to it's fullest. AP~

11th Apr 2006, 00:45

The second post above mine, has spoken truths that many individuals within society look past. As we live in this First-world country blinded by all riches we really do focus on our "Wants". However, Half way across the globe many are still struggling to satisfy their daily "Needs". Please next time when you are driving that porsche, remember that across the globe a person has to settle for his feet as his transportation.

Sincerly

Cpl.Kam.

23rd Jun 2006, 19:57

The Boxster's price is cheap, but you get caught easily with the repairs. Example, the brake replacement cost 600$ (normally, it's a lot cheaper with normal cars). I think Porsche manage to create a cheap price car so people who dream to drive a Porsche could (and eventually, get caught with the high sticker maintenance cost). Overall, the Boxster is a very good car if we compare the performance/quality, and people who would like to buy it shouldn't look at the price, but what they have in their pocket in case the car breaks down (no car is bullet proof).

19th Jul 2008, 14:22

I bought my 2001 Boxster at a non-porsche dealership. I've had it for 3 months and 11 days. My warranty was 90 days or 3,000 miles, I put 3,440 miles on the car.

While driving on the freeway it suddenly shut down, I had to coast off the freeway and park it, put it on a trailer and stick it in the garage until we could figure out what to do.

Today, over 2 months later, we put a new oil filter in and filled it with oil, only to have it completely leak out through the rear main seal. We have heard this is a common problem/defect with these cars. The engine is done!

My question is, how do I know if it can be rebuilt or if I need a new motor, and do I have any recourse, since it is a known problem/defect.

Please advise if you have any information that can help!

21st Apr 2009, 22:54

I can't believe it. The SAME THING happened to me when I bought this Chevy Suburban. The seller swore to me that it was a strong runner and it had several really cool bumper stickers so I took the plunge. Now, I'm still waiting for GM to answer my letter.

28th Apr 2009, 21:03

I'm glad I read this blog. I've been considering either a Boxster, Z3M, Z4 or M3. I now know that the Bimmer is the way to go. Too much drama with the Porsches.

30th Apr 2009, 07:44

I have a 2001 Boxster, and I drive it every day. I am completely happy with it.

The only problem I have had was caused by a rodent who munched on the wires to my gas fill vent. The wire insulation is made from corn based material.

I love my Boxster! Remember to flash your fellow owners (the head lights)

17th Jul 2009, 15:57

I am now 62 years old and have always loved cars. I once bought a 1968 Corvette basket case for $900 and restored it and I would never own another one again. I am a Cancer survivor in remission for 4 years now, and as a reward I advised my Wife that I would like to buy a toy, and I had seen a 2001 guards red Boxster at a local Honda dealership with just under 50k miles. I told her not to let me make any snap purchases, but when she saw it, she got more excited about buying it than me, and we drove it home that same day with the salesman following me home in my Lexus LS430.. I was furnished a car fax and given a 2 month 3,000 mile warranty, and the service manager at the Honda dealership knew me from him previously working at a Mercedes dealership, and he informed me that this was THE car to buy and that they had inspected it and found nothing wrong. It had always been dealer serviced and was up to date with the maintenance.

I found the original owner's name and phone number in the original documentation on the car, and I phoned him and he was in his 70s, and sold it to a young couple only 6 months earlier, which matched what the dealer had told me.. They traded it in because the wife did not like driving the standard transmission.

I have now owned this car for 18 months and 6,000 miles, and I find it to be the most fun vehicle I have ever owned. Everyone compliments me when I am out with it, and I have had no oil leaks or problems with it at all.

I located the guards red factory speedster humps for it on Ebay, and some people ask me if it is a Ferrari when the top is down and they are in place.

I knew little about them when I made my purchase, but I guess I lucked out by not buying one any older, since I heard there were some problems with the early engine seals, but the failures occured early while still under warranty and those engines were replaced.

I hope they are right. $10,000 is a lot to pay for an engine replacement for sure.

3rd Aug 2009, 19:05

Oil leaks from rear main seal (RMS) failures have been a commonly reported problems with the Boxster and the 996 (911). I have heard that these problems occur less often in the 2003 and newer cars, but they are still a potential problem.

I just bought a 2002 Guards Red Boxster from the local Porsche dealer - it came with the 2-year, up to 100,000 mile CPO warranty, which provides considerable peace of mind.

The upgrade from the pre-2000 2.5 liter engine to the 2000-2004 2.7 liter engine transforms the performance to another level. It feels closer to the Boxster S of those years than to the pre-2000 base Boxster. The rev-happy engine makes a "wail" over 5,000 RPMs that is addictive!

For the money, a pre-owned Boxster is a great deal for a Porsche and as a sports car in general. I couldn't be happier with it.

If you're in the market for one, just be sure to have a Porsche mechanic do a pre-purchase inspection.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site