2003 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 16 of 18

2003 Renault Clio 60BHP Billabong Dynamique 1.5 DCI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 DCI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A Wee Beauty!

Faults:

There has been a rattling noise which progressed to a squeak from the offside front - Drivers side. The engine mounting bracket has been replaced.

When the tilt sunroof is open at halfway there is considerable vibration noise from the sunroof.

General Comments:

The car feels sturdy and holds the road well.

It does not feel 'heavy' for a diesel engine, and is just as responsive as a petrol car. Nippy.

Fuel Consumption is superb - with a full tank I am getting around 650 miles. Roughly 60-69 MPG. I do not do a lot of long distance driving - this figure is composed of a few 20 mile journeys on the motorway, and several 6 - 10 mile journeys to and from work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

3rd Oct 2003, 14:23

Just a little tip on the sunroof vibration. Crack one window down just a bit and it will take care of the vibration.

7th Oct 2008, 08:26

I own a billabong 1.5 dci 2003.

The only thing is the sunroof has started to leak onto the drivers and passengers seats...

Has anyone had the same problem, and if so how much to repair.

Dave Bruce

29th Oct 2008, 15:15

Hi,

As an owner of a Renault Clio 1.2 16V Petrol Billabong 03 model, I am just puzzled why they have a pre ignition coil like diesel cars; I didn't think petrol cars had them.

Please could you confirm this is correct to have this on my car.

Many Thanks.

Leigh in Surrey.

2003 Renault Clio 172 Cup Sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1400 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A stripped-out back to basics sports car

Faults:

Exhaust has broken twice.

A few squeaks have begun to appear.

General Comments:

Styling is understated, but sporty.

Unique colour sets itself apart from the standard 172 Sport.

Lovely gearshift, smooth controls and light clutch and steering make the car great to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2003

2003 Renault Clio RenaultSport 172 2.0L 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance350 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing, but a good looking Sheep though!

Faults:

I have noticed an annoying rattle coming from the passenger seat.

However I've only had the car for a week, and so it is too early to say.

General Comments:

The Renault Clio is a car which places very competent among its rivals.

I had a Clio 1.2 16v Dynamique. It looked good, it drove well, and it is well priced especially if you take the standard equipment into consideration.

The Clio 172 on the other hand is more than competent, in fact it's a natural winner.

I'm still supposed to be wearing the engine in so I haven't unleashed the cars full potential yet, but I know when I do ill have to watch out for the blue flashing lights!

The fact that I'm used to driving a 1.2 is one thing, but the 2.0L engine is greatly assisted by Variable Valve Timing, which for someone who likes to drive with the needle approaching the red line it's a dream come true.

The handling is a lot firmer than my old Clio, and feels more precise, therefore capable of murdering every other car in this class on those twisty country roads.

The equipment level is high for the price, and comfort OK for what I want it for, after all its not an old blokes Jaguar.

If you want thrills and spills, but don't want to fall into the same class as all the cheesy boy racers I see in my local McDonald's car park then this is a good choice of car for you.

I just can't wait till I can really nail it and have all hell brake loose with me playing the role of the Devil!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2003

2003 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance3650 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Quick and cheap to run car

Faults:

Engine occasionally cuts out when starting car (once a month at the most), starts fine straight after though.

Slight vibtation/noise from the manual sunroof, easily corrected by just reopening or shutting again.

General Comments:

I bought the 2003 1.2 16V Dynamique model brand new froma Renault main dealer on an 03 plate as standard with no extra option packs. 4 months and 3500+ miles later I still smile every time I get in the car, aside from the extremely minor problems listed its been a joy from day one. Unfortunately day one took a long time to arrive, as from the day I bought my new Clio it took over 3 months for my car to be delivered.

I won't go too much into how the car drives as everybody finds cars different, a test drive is of course a good idea, I will say however that the new Clio is an absolute joy to drive. Compared to the old 1.2 Clio's the new 1.2 16V models are seriously quick, actually quicker than most 1.4 cars on the market. Of course its no use being quick if the handling isn't up to it, thankfully it corners like a dream and tackles any bend you throw it at with a smile on its face when it comes out the other side.

The drive is very comfortable, the interior consists of lovely sports seats, a great standard 4 speaker CD player, intelligently positioned controls and good boot space. Sadly room in the back seems to have been seriously restricted since the old Clio, its anything but spacious for rear passengers.

As seems to be standard from new Renault cars you get a whole range of extras built into the car; rain sensitive wipers, light sensitive headlights, fog lamps, cup holders (!), CD control stalk and much more. Sadly the sensitive headlights can't be switched off as far as I know, so everytime you enter a multi-storey car park they switch on regardless. Suprisingly the rain sensitive wipers are very effective, once you are happy with the sensitivity all thats needed is a quick flick of the stalk when you get in the car and it will do everything for you.

As you would expect the 1.2 engine is very economical, on average I've managed 49MPG, which includes a range of motorway and fast open road driving, and lots of quick around town trips. The tank holds a good £30 of fuel which seems to last forever.

In conclusion I really don't have anything bad to say about the new Clio. I owned a 1996 1.2 Clio before this and things have come along greatly since then, the speed, the handling, the extras and the comfort are all miles ahead of older models. And for the money you get a small car with a lot of extras as standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2003

21st Jan 2004, 11:45

I also have a Renault Clio Dynamique, I bought mine in march last year, so it is 03 reg now. In the report the guy says that you are unable to switch off the automatic headlights, you are unable to turn them off. You are able to, what you do is with the engine off, switch the lights on and off 3 times, and they will be switched off, and to switch them on, you do the same.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 59 reviews