2004 Renault Laguna Tourer 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Run away!

Faults:

Axle, tyres, drop link, bushes, battery, steering, shocks, etc. etc.

General Comments:

Piece of crap!

Spent 3k on repairs, and now the catalytic convertor has gone.

I'm dumping it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2013

2004 Renault Laguna Privilege 2.2 dCi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Was good value, but now expensive to maintain

Faults:

Owned the vehicle for 3 years, previously a dealer sales demonstrator. Problems include excessive wear of rear tyres - I'm told there's a known design/build fault on rear axles.

Also, tyre pressure sensors have corroded - replacements (X2 so far) have been expensive and fitters have been unable to reset system to activate sensor readout on dashboard. Frustrating!

Dashboard advisory/warning sensors occasionally illuminate for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

For a 2.2 diesel it's surprisingly nippy - both from a standing start and when accelerating in the cruise, and fairly good on fuel consumption - typically mid to top forties on mostly urban/slow rural driving with seldom a chance to get into 5th let alone 6th gear.

Comfortable to drive and for passengers.

Split tailgate useful, but mine rattles annoyingly and I can't seem to cure it.

Plenty of room for rear seat passengers and good load space, especially with the rear seats folded/removed.

Local dealer has flashy showrooms and talks the talk, but hasn't been particularly helpful with above problems, which doesn't make me warm to considering another Renault (this is my second) - shame because I like the new Laguna Coupe due out in Jan 09.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th November, 2008

2004 Renault Laguna Mirage - high spec 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Tyres/wheels - have had to replace front left 3 times. Very soft.

General Comments:

I like this car, it's the best I've driven - after 20 years - has given me one problem though, don't know what I want to replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

2004 Renault Laguna Extreme 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nice cruiser - shame about the 0 - 60!

Faults:

Radio repaired and replaced 3 times (warranty repair). Normal CD's still get stuck!

Poor radio reception.

Air conditioning inoperable (warranty repair - pipe snapped)

Air conditioning does not seem to be cold enough (being recharged tomorrow).

Sunroof only goes half way back, and then closes automatically, and chunks of stiff black foam end up on seats (being looked at tomorrow).

General Comments:

Once this car gets up to speed it is OK, but the acceleration is embarrassing. Pretty good on the motorway; though wind noise can be a nuisance.

Reversing is an experience, as there are lots of blind spots, and the rear window sill is high, and further obscured by a spoiler.

Front and rear seats are very comfortable, and really help with my bad back.

I think the car looks good, but really wish I had gone for a 2.0.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2007

15th Jul 2010, 01:11

The stuck CDs + poor radio reception problem appears occasionally also in my Megane 2005. I'm pretty sure there's nothing you can do about it, but it's not big deal, since the CDs eject 80% OK.

2004 Renault Laguna Privilege 1.9 TD from UK and Ireland

Summary:

As good as my previous BMW

Faults:

Absolutely nothing in almost 3 years of ownership.

General Comments:

Good looking.

Stylish

As well built as any other mainstream car.

Between 40 and 55 mpg depending on road speed.

Main dealer servicing is crap, go to a good local garage.

Don't buy a 1.6, ideally go for a diesel.

I know a few people who own them and the unreliable ones all appear to be older high mileage ones, or ones with a patchy history.

Buy a good one and you'll love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2006

2004 Renault Laguna Dynamique Tourer 1.9dci from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An excellent car with the back-up of a reassuring warranty package

Faults:

External trim on passenger door loose due to cracked clip.

Front drivers disc warped at 4000 miles.

Drivers seat frame assembly failed at 9600 miles due to faulty welds.

Clutch Master cylinder sticky at 17000 miles.

Note that each of these problems were rectified immediately at no cost to myself under Renaults excellent Warranty scheme.

General Comments:

The car is a gorgeous shape and is full of useful extras (opening rear glass, cruise control, audio controls on the wheel etc etc)

It is beautifully smooth and rattle free making long drives a delight.

The cabin is comfortable, airy and spacious.

It is both economical and rapid, sitting at under 2000 rpm in 6th on the National limit and returning 55 mpg!

It has proven to be an excellent tow car handling a large 5-berth caravan with aplomb.

Note that I have owned a lot of cars including Volvo 850, subaru Legacy, VW Passat and Golf, Toyota and Vauxhall Vectra. The Laguna is no worse than any other in terms of owner experience. The car is very practical, comfortable and economical. Its also the best looking and most stylish estate car in its class bar none. Perhaps we have been unusually lucky, but I doubt it. The scenic my wife owned for 2 years was an equally impressive machine...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

25th Dec 2006, 14:48

Hi, I've been having a look at the reviews as I am planning on changing my car around about February. I'm interested in a Laguna and want a diesel, cruise control and air con. Unfortunately I'm not that up on the range and wondered if there was anyone who could enlighten me with any pros and cons and what models are the best value.

28th Dec 2006, 12:40

Renault Laguna 2002, 1.9DCI Saloon.

Spacious, airy vehicle and comfortable to drive let down with the Price of parts and highway robbery Renault dealership.

2005 - Front discs and pads at 26000 miles, £348.

Dec 2006 front offside suspension strut spring broke at 60mph, clean underpants needed. Only completed 32,000 miles.

Recovery mechanic informed me they are heavy on Disc, Pads and springs break.

New springs Struts in Pairs £183.

Anti roll bar £85.

Labour £255.

Total £ 523.

Also advised to change rear bushes at £258.

All in all a nice vehicle, but expensive on parts and labour.

Was wondering if anyone else has had problems like these?