1998 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1998 Renault Megane RT Sport 1.9tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9tdi Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Good car, but beware of electronic gremlins

Faults:

New Clutch at 120000 miles, 6 hour job requiring full engine removal, not cheap!

Brake discs were replaced 121000 miles.

ECU fault remains.

General Comments:

Fuel economy is excellent, especially on the open road. I average around 50 mpg.

Biggest problem with this reasonable car is the useless ECU. If you use a moblie phone in or near this car the ECU light comes on and the engine jams at 2250 rpm. Also the throttle can become irratic leading to the throttle jamming again and the ECU light coming on. As yet I've not found a mechanic who'll look into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2004

1998 Renault Megane RT 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24060 miles
Most recent distance50450 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Nice to drive, but I worry about its reliability

Faults:

Amazing, your example of possible problems is exactly what happened. My first indication of a problem when the temperature needle shot up. The head gasket had blown at about 50.000 miles on a very damp morning, on a motorway, in the rush hour.

The head gasket was replaced. I drove the car for a couple of weeks and then put it in for an MOT. It failed the emissions test. The oil and water had mixed.

It seemed the head gasket had failed again. It was replaced again.

Three weeks later the water and oil had mixed again.

I bit the bullet and bought a replacement second hand engine.

I live in hopes.

General Comments:

I like the car and enjoy driving it. I would like to be able to keep it. My fear is that the same problem will recur.

It does not help that I have had to call out the AA so often for this car that I will be billed by them if I call them out again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

28th Mar 2005, 11:33

I sympathise with the problems regarding the head gasket as mine has gone twice in the three years I have owned the car. It seems to be a problem with the 1.6 8valve engines on the meganes. Other problems with the exhaust rattling and countless other jobs not covered under normal servicing and repairs would make the decision to buy the next car point away from Renault. There are too many reviews that give poor results for the Megane.

31st Mar 2005, 07:49

I too have had similar problems. The head gasket went spectacularly in Dec-04 and the engine cracked requiring replacement (160k km). In Feb-05 the replacement engine had the head gasket replaced. I've also got what seems to be a popular problem with an unsolvable fluctuating temperature gauge and am disillusioned with Renault main dealer service. I won't be rushing to buy a Renault again in a hurry I'm afraid.

28th Feb 2006, 08:50

Bought my '88 Megane 1.6e RT a year ago, impressed by its handling, responsiveness, and features. It still runs fine, but started losing water, then oil, the water is foamy, so it's looking like I too have succumbed to head gasket failure. It's got 69k on the clock so maybe that's not so bad... I just hope the replacement lasts that long!

21st Sep 2006, 03:42

I have a 1999 16v Megane and it too has the strange problem with fluctuating temperatures. It seems to be losing coolant somewhere, but I can't see a leak. I replaced the thermostat, but that didn't seem to solve the problem as it still overheats. Any ideas? Head gasket?

2nd Feb 2009, 08:43

Hi, I've just got a Renault Megane 1600 Sports Coupe 1998, and just wondered how much a new head gasket costs if it goes?

Thanks, Graham.

1998 Renault Megane RT 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

When I first got it the electric light kept coming on and the car would stall. I had the ECU changed, luckily still under warranty.

The clutch cable snapped.

Rear wheel barrings went every 4 months during the 1st year of having the car.

Rear demister does not work, coincidentally after having the car serviced.

The exhaust is blowing at the moment - is booked in to get fixed next week.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable.

Handles well.

Good on petrol on the motorway.

A good looking car!

I got the car at a bargain, the sales man at Renault gave me a price, I bought it and minutes later his boss told the sales man that he sold it to me £2000 cheaper than it should have been!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2004

29th Jan 2004, 10:55

My megane demistor also failed. traced fault to connector block under passenger door sill trim (overheated)

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews