1998 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1998 Renault Megane Liberte 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Bought 6 month old demonstrator. Airbag light on all time on delivery, although car was meant to have been fully serviced. Otherwise all fine.

General Comments:

Good value, ABS, aircon and central locking all fitted. Doing 46 mpg!

Dealers fairly chaotic, tried 2, first wasn't even honest. Parts delivery seems excellent. Car well made, I expect it to last a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 1999

19th Jan 2001, 05:11

Must be a fault in Megane Libertes as my airbag light has started to stay on, it too is a 1998 model.

7th Feb 2001, 14:03

Guess what, my airbag light's on... A 1998 Megane Scenic, and the service agent keeps replacing the "airbag computer", but three weeks later guess what?... the airbag light is back on. I think the airbag light has been on more than off. I wish my dealers would fix it.

On the subject of dealers, mine have a wickedly high turnover of service staff... it makes you wonder.

22nd Feb 2001, 17:58

Just bought one - a 1999 S.

There was a starter problem, but the dealer fixed at no cost.

Need a spare key - £110, is this a fair price? No central locking - bummer. Can it be fitted? Love the car, just don't lose the only key.

26th Aug 2002, 15:12

I have a 1998 1.4 RT when new the radio did not work it took 4 months to get a new one. back light keep breaking 3 times Renault have fixed. the car sometimes it dose not start and has to be pushed to get going I will not be buying a new Renault again.

1998 Renault Megane Coupe 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Broken suspension housings.

Shattered left drive shaft prop.

Floppy alloys (very easy to crack).

General Comments:

Good car but has a lot of rattles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

10th Feb 2002, 15:22

Safe car in a 60mph impact. Ask my wife, the air bag burnt her wrist and she had belt bruising, not bad looking at the vehicle. Not a write off, but a real mess. 1998 1600e Coupe.

1998 Renault Megane Classic RN 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing major but a lot of small things. Many electrical problems such as permanent alarms up.

Steering lock has never worked. Gearbox is very notchy, quite often cannot get first gear.

ABS is permanently faulty. Dealer has been very unhelpful in contrast to Renault UK who have extended the warranty by another year at their expense.

Nearside door lock sometimes turns in the door.

Internal heater/ventilation fan very noisy.

On the positive, car is comfortable and has a huge boot.

General Comments:

Unless you are lured by the cheaper price or need a car with a massive boot, pay the extra and get the Golf or the Focus.

I had my previous car (a Ford Escort) for 9 years. I don't think this car will last as long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

15th Apr 2001, 13:18

I entirely agree about the noisy ventilation fan. Unfortunately it has to be kept medium / high to ensure the center vents still work.

2nd Jan 2004, 06:47

My wife has got one of these and we bought it for the boot. We also get problems with the door lock rotating in the door, but other than that we have had no problems. I think it makes a nice whistling noise when revved hard, but the controls and warning lights can be hard to see. Ashtray is very poorly made and has now been removed as it kept falling out when we put the mobile phone charger in.

13th Feb 2005, 14:45

Must agree about the noisy heater, but everything else is excellent. Very comfortable and easy to drive, no problems with electrics or anything else if you are considering buying one of these you could do a lot worse.

:)

15th Mar 2005, 09:17

These cars come as cheap as chips. I got mine 3 years old with 21,000 miles. It had been a Motorbility car, which meant it had been main dealer serviced, and had true mileage (the driver didn't own it so didn't need to clock it) The stuff I have moved in this car is unbelievable. 5 fence panels, 6 fence posts and 3 bags of post fix with boot closed.

Never noticed noise of vent fans, I've always got radio on.

Great car for the money.

21st Jan 2010, 06:58

The worst car I've driven by far. Where do I start?

Key to the immobiliser wouldn't work; it cost me 400 euro to get new key.

The coolant system blew, then to top that off, the head gasket went.

It has broken down a lot and has left me stuck. I would strongly not advise anyone to buy a Renault.

p.s This has happened to another girl I know.

1998 Renault Megane Coupe Sport 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Car has been de-restricted, Green Air Filter, Full ICE install, Clifford 50x Alarm, Full Maxi Bodykit, full Koni Suspension kit, Ashley 4" Sports exhaust, TV & Playstation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 1998

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews