1999 Renault Megane rte 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A potentially good car let down by reliability

Faults:

A fuel sensor light appeared on the dashboard after 65000 miles. I brought it to my local dealer who said they replaced the speedo sensor (I had never heard of that, but took their word for it). The light re-appeared driving down the road and when I went back, they did not appear to have any answers, but I got a refund for the sensor. I took the car to another dealer, and asked them to do whatever neccessary to fix it. All they did was hook it up to their diagnostic tool and verified there was a problem and then did nothing else! The sensor led cropped up after about 30MPH, but I did not notice anything wrong in driving the car, but wanted to get it checked out anyway.

I also had a short at the back light cluster on the drivers side. When the lights were on, and I turned on the indicators, the other lights would flash in sync with the indicators! I have seen this happen on another Renault Megane as well.

General Comments:

The Megane was an extremely comfortable car for its class and was pretty spacious too.

It was an 8V version though and was somewhat sluggish when overtaking.

If the electrical problems were absent, it would be an excellent car, but has turned me off this particular manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

9th Dec 2007, 20:41

Take the light cluster out spray wd40 on all metal then replace back on and presto will be OK.

1999 Renault Megane coupe e sport 2 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap to run - great for posing!

Faults:

Nothing has gone seriously wrong with the car.

The exhaust needed changing after about 40k miles.

The gears need a lot of wrestling when changing down / up, something I'm used to now.

Roof leaks in heavy rain through sunroof/Map reading lights (this also happened on my old Clio)

General Comments:

The leather seats, are still very much the way they were when I brought it, and back then were not worn at all.

The stalk radio/CD controls are easy and great to use.

The standard speakers are of very high quality.

Heater is very fast and does it's job superbly.

My model is red, looks brilliant when it's waxed, my own little Ferrari!

Very reliable, very classy.

Reached 115mph, beating a 318i BMW!

Insurance is very cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

1999 Renault Megane 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good value, well equipped and satisfyingly quick

Faults:

The rear disk brakes can be heard at low speeds.

The sun roof leaks slightly after heavy rain.

General Comments:

I have had no mechanical problems as yet. The CD changer doesn't work, but I have yet to have it inspected.

Passengers complain about the high seat position.

With 150BHP it is a good match for most hot hatches. 0-60 in 8.5 seconds and a top speed of over 130mph, the performance is class leading yet it is practical, comfortable and good value. The car has air conditioning, electric sun roof and windows and a CD multi-changer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

1999 Renault Megane Liberty 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Slow, but very reliable

Faults:

Over steering at the back end when driving around corners. Took to main dealers who could not find anything wrong! Does anyone else have this problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1999 Renault Megane Coupe Monaco 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A luxury sports car which would outdrive a Viper GTS

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

I had a Megane Coupe 1.6e before, and enjoyed driving it so much I bought another - this time the top of the range Monaco model.

I noticed the difference in performance straight away - I can reach 30 Miles per hour in first gear and it goes up to 60 in third. The top speed I have managed was 125mph, at which I was too scared to go any faster.

The boy racers are left dazed in a cloud of my dust.

This car seriously enhances your image - I find people are always looking twice when I drive past them - a true flirts car.

Fuel consumption is not bad for a car of this speed (about 40 miles per gallon).

The most impressive thing apart from performance is the equipment level. The car has leather interior, alloys, trip computer, air conditioning, 6CD player, Electric front/rear windows and a sound proof windscreen all fitted as standard - a truly wonderful car to drive.

I would definately buy another car from Renault - this is my second Megane Coupe and I have been pleased from day 1.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

25th Oct 2002, 04:31

"This car seriously enhances your image - I find people are always looking twice when I drive past them - a true flirts car"

Maybe it is just the monkey behind the wheel they are looking at.

28th Apr 2008, 14:09

Nice try to humiliate him. But in fact you humiliate yourself by showing jealousy! ;)