1999 Renault Megane RXE 1.6 16v from Venezuela


A great 4 door cruiser


Absolutely nothing.

I put a 7 in dealer service because they keep the car one whole day and sometimes two days to do an oil change and brake inspection.

Oil changes every 5000 kms in the dealer to keep the warranty.

General Comments:

The car is perfect, everything is like new, I was afraid of buying a Renault but now I can see that they have worked hard on reliability items.

The engine is great, uses no oil, fuel consumption according to the dash screen is 9.4 lts/100 kms.

The A/C and heating works well even on really sunny days.

I've got the top of the line (RXE) with all electrics and I put a sunroof and a spoiler, it looks great.

The trunk is big, even bigger than my last Cavalier (which was a piece of crap).

The sound system is average.

It's the most silent car I've ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

1999 Renault Megane RTE 1.6e from Turkey


Nice car, but won't buy twice from Renault


The interior air circulation motor broke down after 1.5 years although not used much. The standard rigging of the car has been changed by the manufacturer.

General Comments:

Could be best in its class if the quality was OK. But still has the best performance and comfort in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

24th Jun 2001, 12:16

I have the same problem with my Renault Megane Classic RTE (Bought in Morocco in July 1999).

This car was imported from Turkey.

The guarantee period has expired 1 year ago.

What should I do?

1999 Renault Megane Coupe Sport 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland


Yellow is the colour for a coupe!!


The electrics have given us problems.

General Comments:

Nice car to drive, Renault is a much improved marque then it used to be. Most importantly our one's yellow and it looks gorgeous!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

17th Jan 2001, 09:17

I've got a Megane and I think it's the best car I have ever owned!!

The colour is yellow and it's a W reg.

The handling is the best and ten out of ten for the looks!

I own 2 Ford Escorts and a Porsche 944, and they are not a mark on the Megane!

3rd Jan 2007, 02:17

Just bought one, all I can say is WOW.

1999 Renault Megane RT 1.6 8V from UK and Ireland


Still a good car - 8V engine definitely NO GO!!!


I liked my previous Megane so much (even though it had a major engine fault - please read previous posting) I got this one. "I'll never have a problem like that again", I thought -- WRONG!!!!! There is a known fault with the Renault Megane's fitted with the 1.6 8V engine - it could be the same with the 1.4. Big-end bearings fail on these cars and if noisy need to be replaced at the dealer's cost - not yours (£2000!). This fault occured when the car had only covered 4000 miles!! HAVING HAD 2 WITH THE SAME FAULT I'M TALKING FROM EXPERIENCE!

General Comments:

Top marks to my Renault dealer whom sorted the problem out ASAP at their cost, supplied me with a courtesy car etc. while the car was being sorted (5 days!)

This fault is known by Renault, so much so that there is a "kit" supplied by Renault for dealers to sort this problem out. Take a tip from me - buy a 16 Valve Megane - I got one (my 3rd Megane, I must be a glutton for punishment!), they are a brilliant car - well made, quick, and do not need a major engine overhaul every 4000 miles!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2000

1st Oct 2002, 11:38

I have a Megane 1.6 RT sport which I imported in Nov 98. From day one the engine rattled, Renault UK stated in writing that they are aware the 8v K series engine rattles. They also stated that it has no detrimental effect on the car, which is a joke. It is now up to 20k and rattles very loudly, I have just spoken to my local dealer again, and they are not aware of any modification. Does anyone else have a similar fault.

1999 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6 16v from Greece


Until now, nothing.

General Comments:

A very nice and fun car to drive. Powerful yet friendly and secure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2000

1999 Renault Megane RT 1.4 16V from Greece


Oil leaks from camshaft case, easy to crack alloy wheels, rattles from the interior, faulty steering column, faulty generator belt bearings. Noisy shock absorbers. Counter: 15000km.

General Comments:

Nice ride, best engine in its class, many disturbing faults. Quality wasn't Renault's major concern.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2000