2001 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2001 Renault Megane Priviledge petrol from South Africa

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Real Renault rubbish

Faults:

Automatic fluid leak repaired by dealer, but started leaking again the next day.

Windscreen wipers stall in mid-sweep, very distracting especially in bad weather and heavy traffic. Problem still not fixed after 5 requests to service agents.

Window creaks when raising or lowering (electric window lifters). Also, still not fixed.

Rattles and creaks from back seat rest. According to the agent I need new cushions. This is the most ridiculous thing I have heard from a dealer.

Rattles from dashboard also not fixed.

Clattering noise through steering wheel over rough surfaces. This is very worrying. Dealer says this was the bonnet catch, but still the problem remains unsolved.

General Comments:

The most painful things about owning this Renault is the massive depreciation and very high servicing costs (if one can call it servicing since very little has been fixed).

Each time I drive it a new rattle or creak starts. I'm paranoid about what will go wrong next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

29th Jan 2003, 04:22

You're not alone in your misery owning a Renault.

Renault; great looking cars, but the dealers are shockingly over priced with bad attitudes.

The poor quality of the parts and components used to build Renaults - is in reflection why they are plagued with faults.

Will i but another Renault - 'NO CHANCE' i want an easy life, not sat waiting around renault service reception's while they fix the dam thing !

4th Feb 2003, 07:04

I wonder if a customer has tried and succeeded in charging a sloppy service agent for lost work hours?

I'm curious about this because it's becoming an issue. I am taking my Megane to the garage again tomorrow for the third time this year - it's only 4 Feb today. A visit to the garage cuts about 2 hours out of my day.

20th May 2006, 04:37

Renault South Africa have not been very forthcoming to the public regarding their Airbag saga.

21st May 2006, 00:08

I brought a Megane Coupe a 2001. It is the worst car I have ever bought. It drove like an old Escort with loads of rattles, flat spots, you name it. Stay well clear of these cars as they are rubbish, but they do look nice.

2001 Renault Megane Dinamique 1.6 16v from Israel

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Great sports car for its value

Faults:

Problems with the engine controlling chip at 20,000 Km.

A few plastic seat parts started to come out of place.

General Comments:

The Megane Coupe is a very decent sports car for its costs, both buying and running.

It looks great on the outside, and very practical on the interior.

The seats are very comfortable, tough not for very tall people.

It is made mainly for a driver and a passenger. 4 adult could not seat comfortably in the car.

It handles roads very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

2001 Renault Megane Classic 1.6 16v from Venezuela

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16800 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

You get a lot for what you pay for

Faults:

Airbag calculator (replaced under warranty)

Electrical problem due to damaged wire insulation that caused the engine to run rough and stop (dealer believed it was a faulty vacuum sensor and replaced it, the problem persisted and then I found the fault and fixed it myself)

General Comments:

The car handling is excellent, safe in wet pavement.

Braking is very good, specially the automatic emergency braking system that boosts the braking power if the brake pedal is depressed quickly, making braking distance shorter in emergency situations.

The engine power is enough, but it could use 20 more horses.

The equipment is very generous: airbags, ABS, excellent stereo, electric mirrors, power windows, power steering, air conditioning, there is nothing more I could ask for.

The interior was designed with excellent taste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

2001 Renault Megane Expression 1.4 / 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 / 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

A good day to day solid car

Faults:

Water seeping into the front passenger well 5,000 miles soaking carpets. Has been into the Main Dealers (Darlington) three times up to now, but they seem incapable of fixing the fault. Wet carpets now starting to make the inside of the car smell. Having read up on Meganes, this water seepage seems to be a common fault.

1 Coil stopped working 9,000 miles.

Font passenger seat belt twisted. Main dealers have had two tries to rectify.

General Comments:

It is basically a reliable, comfortable car, but quality control would appear to be non existant. Are main dealers really Renault trained?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

31st Jul 2008, 09:02

I have just found a solution to my water leak into the drivers side floor well. After heavy rain the water was collecting behind the plastic air vent in the engine compartment and overflowing inside and.down the clutch pedal. I simply made a soak away in the plastic flooding airvent inside the engine compartment.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 31 reviews