2001 Renault Megane Coupe 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland


Nice looks, shame about the quality control


The wheels need balancing continously.

There is (according to the Renault dealer) an unrepairable fault with the clutch pedal.

The seats wear very badly.

In general the build quality is poor.

General Comments:

After 12 separate visits to the Renault dealer the clutch pedal continues to make grating/creaking sounds everytime it is used!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

2001 Renault Megane RXE 1.6 16v from Venezuela


Better than I thought


A fog light that fogs internally.

Dead battery at 8 months. Replaced under warranty.

Dead remote control battery a few days ago, cheap to replace.

General Comments:

It's an excellent car, even at 150+ kph it handles right, it likes driving in wet weather.

A/C works perfectly, heater heats very fast.

Engine could have 10 or 20 more horsepower but its still above average.

Transmission works smoothly and precise.

Can't complaint about the service, a bit slow but is a high quality costumer service.

This is my first Renault ever and I can't complain, my last Fiat Marea got totalled in a small crash against a lamp post at 20 kph, engine mounts moved badly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

11th Jan 2002, 06:53

I have to add that my model equals to the Privilege model with double optic headlamps (work excellent!) and all windows are electric operated, trip computer, spoiler, 15 inch wheels and leather all around.

1st Mar 2002, 22:26

I have the same 16 valve 1.6 litre produced in Colombia. Excellent ABS, have fully tested it on the road. No spoiler still, but I'm looking forward to getting one.

2001 Renault Megane Fidji 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland


All round good package


On collection of the car from the dealership, the wrong specification alloy wheels were fitted.

Paint defects on various parts of the car, including the bonnet which had to be re-sprayed.

High level brake light is not bright.

Car had been driven through wet tar prior to collection and was covered along the passenger side.

Tar footprints in the driver's footwell.

Front mats securing clips not fitted. Clips were later found in a plastic bag in the driver's door pocket.

General Comments:

This particular model of the Megane has lots of toys for the money. Cannot fault the car with regards to performance or driver appeal. The little faults highlighted above cannot be attributed as faults against the car, but rather a sign of poor pre-delivery inspection.

The car was purchased from Glenvarigill Renault dealership in Scotland which should have a good reputation. However this particular franchise is totally incompetent in sorting things out. They have had the car 3 times to rectify the above "faults" and it is still not fixed. Their mechanics could not resolve the high level brake problem saying there was nothing wrong with it. However upon inspection by myself found that the bulb was not located in its holder.

Apart from these initial problems, the car itself is a good buy and certainly great value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2001

3rd Oct 2001, 17:00

I'm glad that someone is happy with their Fidji.

I have waited over 11 weeks for mine and it has been delayed three times. As a result, I have cancelled my order as I'm not prepared to wait another two weeks!

4th Oct 2001, 12:29

To the guy who cancelled their order. If you are still interested in a Fidji Glenvarigill, St Andrews in Fife has 2 in their showroom. One is Metallic Green, the other Metallic Blue - The Metallic Green one has my "old" alloys on it - (see previous entry for the story).

2001 Renault Megane 16v 1.6 petrol from Israel


Good value for money, but un-exciting


Nothing serious, plastic boot lock inside the cover keeps falling off, despite being replaced by the dealer.

General Comments:

Seats are too soft and do not provide enough support.

Car goes like the clappers when required, great acceleration.

Generally pleasing to drive, but it's not a sports saloon.

Plenty of room in the large (classic) boot, but at the expense of rear legroom which is severely restricted.

So far, so good, but not an exciting car to drive, most probably I will go for the Ford Focus or Seat Toledo next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2001

2001 Renault Megane Coupe Expression 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland


Good looks, good value and fun to drive


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This car looks great and handles well.

The interior is a little uninspiring. The white dials are a nice detail though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

2001 Renault Megane Classic Expression+ 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland


Well-specified mid-range car


Delivered with a loose interior light.

As with the Clio and Laguna, the center air vents do not maintain the same temperature as the rest unless the fan is at medium or high. Below this the driver gets a cold draught. This is a design fault Renault are reluctant to acknowledge.

General Comments:

I miss the ease of hill climbing and cruising of a 1.9 engine.

The Classic (saloon) version gives a better ride than the hatch-back.

Having to guess when the screen washer reservoir needs topping up is plain silly.

Handles well and is comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

2001 Renault Megane RXT from Israel


Good, but could be better

General Comments:

Pros: Engine, build quality (almost German), ride, well equipped (1.6 RXT).

Cons: Noisy, awful automatic shift, heavy power steering, not enough storage space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th December, 2000