2006 SAAB 9-3 2.0 turbo from North America


Disappointed in reliability and service


When the car hit 80,000 miles, problems started to pop up.

The entire AC unit had to be replaced, the windshield wiper rack had to be replaced, the CD player no longer works properly, the car bangs into gear when backing up and going into drive, it bangs or hesitates occasionally when shifting from second into third gear, and when shifting from third into fourth gear.

I have had it to two Cadillac/Saab dealers for repair, and neither has fixed the problem.

General Comments:

I am a Saab fanatic and love my car. The 2006 9-3 is my third Saab, and I love driving the car. The handling is excellent and it's a fun car to drive. Up to now it has been very reliable. I take excellent care of my Saab's and make sure that it is serviced at the required intervals. However I am finding it difficult to get good servicing when something goes wrong with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2010

2006 SAAB 9-3 Vector 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland


Most unreliable car I have ever owned


In-Warranty: front doors rattled.

In-Warranty handbrake failed - charged for re-adjustment, told it was not part of the warranty.

July 2009 (1 month out of warranty) - handbrake failed, linkage replaced, cost £282.89. Mileage 42,439.

December 2009 - gear shift mechanism seized. New mechanism fitted, cost £363.40. Mileage 47,478.

February 2010 - Fly wheel broke, damaging clutch slave cylinder. Being repaired as I write. Estimate cost of repair £1200.

General Comments:

Very unreliable mechanics.

Appears to be designed to fail after the warranty period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2010

28th Mar 2012, 14:36

Too many Vauxhall / GM parts.

2006 SAAB 9-3 2.0t 2.0 turbo from North America


Excellent reliable car for the price


Nothing has gone wrong with the car, and the maintenance has been free up to now. Have a bumper to bumper warranty until 5 years or 100,000 miles, whatever comes first.

General Comments:

The car has great handling, almost as good as a BMW 3 series (and the best for a front wheel drive car). The car is fun to drive and gives you a good feel for the road, with a little under steer at the limits. If I drive aggressively, only BMWs can keep up, and that is only if the driver is willing to push their car to keep up as the Saab 9-3 is no slouch in the corners.

The turbo lag is nearly non-existent, and is only there for a brief 0.5 seconds from a standing stop, as it picks up speed rapidly after you push the accelerator down. It is nice that this car gets much better gas mileage than the Acura TL I used to own, but has the same acceleration with its turbo 4. In addition, it has been far more reliable as the 2001 Acura TL blew out its transmission at 61,000 miles due to a chronic unit failure that Acura recalled and reimbursed me for (but the car was out for two weeks while the transmission was on back order - I was behind 6 other Acura's waiting for the part).

The Saab is comfortable with good seats and support. The handling comes at a price however as the ride is a little more rough than one would expect, but the trade-off is acceptable in my mind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2009

2006 SAAB 9-3 Aero 2.8 from UK and Ireland


SID flickering - fixed under warranty.

Lumbar support broke - fixed under warranty.

Rear alu sport combi tailgate had corrosion from poor paint finish - fixed under warranty.

Engine has a Hirsch map, it had to be re-Hirsched due to over boosting - under warranty.

Driver's seat doesn't wear well. Lots of rattles from door cards and rear tailgate. Fixed under warranty. I've managed to fix most myself..

General Comments:

Previous cars I've owned are a Mondeo ST220 (226PS) and currently also own a 2001 XKR with the Supersport pack (Brembo, retuned CATS, steering etc).

The car is generally quite quick in the low to mid range. 275bhp with 300lb/ft at 2000 RPM, and 90% of that available from 1500 RPM makes for effortless acceleration.

It is faster than the ST220, but definitely not as stable as the ST220 on autobahns at 100-140mph or as nice to drive. I also have the Hirsch upgraded brakes fitted as well, which still aren't great.

IMHO the car is let down by poor interior build and an overly stiff suspension.

A good car let down by cost cutting.

Fuel consumption is good though. I easily get low mid 30s at UK motorway speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2009