2006 SAAB 9-3 ARC 2.0T from North America

Summary:

Pretty good car, but could be excellent if the interior materials quality was improved

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far, either mechanical or electrical.

The principal weakness on this car rests on the interior rattle noises and buzzes. There are a number of them particularly coming from the interior door trim, dash, and sunroof. These noises have either been resolved by the dealer or myself to an acceptable level.

General Comments:

Car runs very smoothly.

Very good acceleration from start with relatively low turbo lag.

Some torque steer as in most front wheel drives.

Outstanding acceleration from constant cruising speeds in either city or highway driving.

Relatively good handling on curves and bends.

Radio/speakers not up to current standards in audible quality, however, listening to audio Cd's is acceptable.

Comfortable seats and very good climate control.

Poor quality plastics especially around dash area and surrounding controls, ex: turn signal and wiper control.

Superb breaking capability and control.

Dash controls and displays are quite confusing at first - but you will get accustomed to them over time. Fair amount of tunable settings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th November, 2006

2006 SAAB 9-3 Aero 208 V6 from Kuwait

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

At 2500 Km, the information display (trip computer) got stuck. When I reset it the next day, it worked fine. The dealer checked the car and said there is nothing wrong with it.

General Comments:

Audio system is fine, but could be be better.

I like the AC, it cools the car very fast.

Handling is great, you can go fast as much as you want, and the car just asks for more. Feels safe in corners.

I have to use 98 octane gas, especially in the summer. I live in hot climate, it's expensive, that increases the running costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

5th Oct 2006, 08:47

I used 95 octane when I drove mine in Germany. No problems.

(95 octane in Germany is about equivalent to 89 octane in the USA)

2006 SAAB 9-3 Vector Sport 150ps TDi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not good enough for the money

Faults:

Sat Nav performance below expectation. Dealer confirms many complaints received and that no remedial action available. Up to five minutes to input address and receive limited directions. Often freezes while driving while in London, now I take wife's portable unit. Also gives many false directions.

Phone performance is dire. Can take twenty minutes to come on line. So many complaints from clients.

Intercooler pipe came adrift resulting in virtual breakdown.

Many rattles from interior.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, but spoilt many faults that should not have existed on premium brand car. The Vectra is better.

Performance is sluggish compared with identical Vauxhall unit.

Sound system is very poor in terms of sound quality and outdated in that MP3 capability is not available.

Steering wheel controls are ill conceived.

Seat cushion is too short.

Typical Saab cheapo interior. Poor quality and ill fitting leather.

Uncomfortable gear knob with cheapo painted gear position inset that has worn out.

Cramped rear seating.

Handling is OK, but not great. Has deteriorated noticably over 15K miles.

Air con not very effective.

HID lights are OK, but no match for Vauxhall units. Unforgivable as this is GM's prestige brand.

Some nice plastic finishes and textures.

Idle is both smooth and quiet.

Is a proper car, not a hatchback.

Nice interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

17th Jul 2006, 15:24

I'm confused. In one line you say:

"Typical Saab cheapo interior. Poor quality and ill fitting leather"

And then a few lines later.

"Nice interior"

Which is it?

I agree the quality of the GM era Saabs doesn't match the older models (I reckon the mid 80's 900 is a better built and more solidly engineered car than any Mercedes, Audi or BMW), but come on - it's hardly "cheapo".

2006 SAAB 9-3 Aero 2.8 turbo V6 from North America

Summary:

A very nice machine

Faults:

So far nothing mechanical has gone wrong with the car. I'm very pleased.

General Comments:

My old GS300 was a good car up until 2004 when it occasionally stalled while at a stop. The Lexus had about 75,000 miles on the odo when it began having issues. At about 80,000 miles I was sick of the car, and traded it in for the Saab.

I love this Saab. It has the most comfortable seats for long distance cruising. With my new job, I basically live in my car. This Saab is much faster than my old GS300, but it is slightly noisier on the inside. I don't mind it though. The stereo is great and I feel very safe in it.

The car feels solid and holds the road very well. I would recommend this car to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2006

2006 SAAB 9-3 Aero V6 from North America

Faults:

ABS failure after 6 weeks of owning the new car. Saab USA doesn't have a replacement part in stock so they say it will be 10 days before they get replacement ABS unit in. Fortunately the dealership gave me another new 9-3 as a loaner until the part comes in.

General Comments:

Fast, comfortable, and enjoyable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd April, 2006

2006 SAAB 9-3 linear 2.0T from North America

Summary:

Nice looking, good performances and comfortable

Faults:

Coolant liquid leak and problem with airbag sensor on passenger seat on delivery.

General Comments:

This car looks very nice and is very roomy and comfortable. The power of the 2.0 turbo engine comes progressively and sounds great!

The car is quick enough and the handling is very good and it sticks to the road like any German sport sedan I've tried.

The trunk is impressive and the two handles that drop the rear seats are appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2006