1999 SAAB 9-5 SE 2.3 turbo from North America

Summary:

This SAAB is a total pieice of garbage

Faults:

Head gasket blew.

Water pump went twice, 2nd after 500 miles.

EPG valve needed to be replaces.

Coil, 2, with 200 miles.

Timing chain cover cracked.

Piston needed to be replaced after head gasket went.

Air filter box got a crack and needed to be replaced.

Mechanic now says axles need to be replaced.

General Comments:

I hate this car, for a 1 owner with 74,000 miles on it, you have to be kidding me, this car has seriously been in the shop more than it has been on the road, it has cost me almost 8K in repairs and endless fights with my girlfriend, it has left me stranded twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2009

1999 SAAB 9-5 2.3 turbo from North America

Summary:

Good, reliable car to drive

Faults:

Had to have the oil pan cleaned out.

Leaks a little oil; from where I don't know.

Replaced serpentine belt (pulley seized and cold didn't help either).

Speedometer/tachometer burned out.

General Comments:

This Saab has been to hell and back with me. She has been in an accident. And I have run her out of gas a few times.

Most recently drove her through a puddle that was about 5 feet deep and she still runs (amazing in my opinion - the engine went underwater).

Saab builds an incredibly strong car and very durable.

She has been a charm to drive over the last year; extremely comfortable and fun to drive.

The 9-5 is the luxury model from Saab, but there are a few things that I am not sure if it is the car itself or all 9-5s, but the brakes on the car are not the greatest, her suspension is extremely soft, but that is due to her old age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2009

12th Jul 2009, 10:41

You do know that if the "puddle" was 5 feet deep - the entire car would have been submerged, don't you?

Where I come from we call "puddles" that are 5 feet deep, lakes.

15th Jul 2009, 10:49

It was extremely deep it came up to my windows, so it was at least 3 ft deep. It was an exaggeration to say it was deep.

1999 SAAB 9-5 from North America

Summary:

I wouldn't trade my SAAB for the world!

Faults:

The A/C blower went out this year.

General Comments:

I have nothing but praise for this car. It is nice looking, and I always get comments.

Coming from a Cadillac, this is not the most comfortable car, but it gets the job done.

Great on gas and no down time (except regular maintenance)! I have abused this car since I got it, and it is still ticking just as good as it did when I bought it. It is as reliable as an old faithful dog; always there and always ready. My next car will be a SAAB!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2009

26th May 2009, 14:19

No -- keep your car! SAAB 9-5 reviews are not very encouraging, and a friend who has had 3 SAABs has been dissuaded by his SAAB specialist mechanic from getting a 9-5 because of problems with it. You've clearly had a car built on the day that all the planets were aligned right. Just keep it.

1999 SAAB 9-5 from North America

Summary:

It's a great car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Both my Saabs were economical, dependable, trouble-free and a delight to own/drive. I don't know what these other people expected, but the car is exceptionally agile, good on fuel, fast and easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2009

6th May 2009, 14:07

I own a 2003 Saab 9-3 Convertible. I've had a similar experience. My Saab is quiet, comfortable, reliable, and gets excellent fuel mileage. (31 mpg on a recent 750 mile trip).

I couldn't ask for a better car.

1999 SAAB 9-5 SE Estate 2.3t petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A realistically priced luxury alternative to BMW / Mercedes that has been a pleasure to own

Faults:

We had to replace the badges on the bonnet and rear tail gate due to flaking paint.

The central locking does not work on occasion, but I am unsure if this is the car or the remote.

General Comments:

The car is fairly fast when the pedal is pushed hard, but the handling is not the best in corners due to its size.

Petrol consumption is an issue, however on long journeys it returns 34mpg, not bad for a 10 year old car!!

The interior is spacious with easy to use controls and extremely comfortable seats. The boot is large and easy for loading.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2009

30th Jun 2009, 04:29

Update on my original review:

The car recently started losing water through a faulty heater bypass valve. I replaced with an aftermarket Vauxhall part at a cost of £16, and all is good again.