1999 SAAB 9-5 Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1999 SAAB 9-5 wagon 2.4 t from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 t Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles

Summary:

Never buy another SAAB made by GM

Faults:

This is the most unreliable piece of junk. So far seat heater has broken (1500), fuel pump replaced (800), modulator replaced (800), oil pressure switch replaced (600), light bulbs always need replacing and the headlights go in and out of power, Yes, there is the stutter when accelerating. Horrible reliability. Thank God for AAA.

General Comments:

It was a better car before GM made it a piece of junk when they bought the company.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

1999 SAAB 9-5 2.3 turbo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

Great car except for major mechanical failure for no good reason

Faults:

Climate control display numbers spotty.

Air conditioning smells for first ten minutes every use.

Seat adjustment buttons stick.

Brakes rotors require replacement every other pad replacement.

Number four cylinder blown at 82k.

Suspect turbo ceased to function around 82k.

General Comments:

Car feels and drives well.

Comfortable and civilized overall.

Relatively serious rear end collision at 76k miles did not affect straightness or function of overall chassis.

Excellent looking vehicle.

Purchased used from dealer and seemed like a lot of car for the money.

Engine replacement required at 82k miles seems premature. Dealer states that oil sludging not an issue, but would not specify cause of catastrophic engine failure. Have been hearing rumors that this is not an uncommon problem with this model. Is there any class action/legal activity associated with these failures?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2006

3rd Mar 2007, 10:26

Your engine failure was caused by enging sludging. The dealer most likely told you that sludging didn't cause the problems in your car's engine to avoid paying for it to be fixed / replaced. There was a class action suit in America against General Motors and I believe they were ordered to have all saab 9-5 and possibly 9-3 engines rectified of the sludging fault.

1999 SAAB 9-5 Wagon 2.6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.6 turbo Automatic
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Problematic

Faults:

Turbo blew at 68,000 miles. They suspect an oil sludge problem.

Have to replace the front & rear bulbs and relays constantly.

General Comments:

This car handles well, but it has been a nightmare in the past 2 years. In the past six months alone I have spent $4,000 to replace everything you can think of including a turbo.

After doing some research, I discovered that this model may have oil sludge problems, but I am not the first owner, so have heard Saab will not help out. If they would make due, I would probably remain loyal and purchase another Saab.

The electrical systems are awful with lights burning out nonstop or not working properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

2nd Mar 2006, 08:57

I don't think there is a positive Saab review on this site, at least not for the late model cars.

I have always loved the concept of Saabs (handling, great room, good ergonomics, etc.) but it seems that the brand should just be put to sleep like Oldsmobile was. The only "good" Saabs appear to be the 92-X (built by Subaru) and the 9-7 (built by Chevy and warmed over by Saab), and that is sad.

11th May 2006, 11:36

I think GM should be put to sleep NOT Saab. Saab was a fantastic reliable brand before GM messed with it. The 9-3 and 9-5 models aren't bad, I've owned a 900, and two 9-3 (convertible and hatchbacks) all have been 100% reliable. The Saab 92x is an interesting car, but the 97 is terrible and is just a bad Chevy trailblazer dressed up. GM should learn how to invest in a brand from Ford who have done a great job with Volvo.

1999 SAAB 9-5 SE Auto 2.0 LPT from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 LPT Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

Fast Car - horrendous Fuel Consumption!

Faults:

All within the last 12000 miles:

Air Conditioning intake seal failed - sucking water into the car, cooling it and spraying it out via the cabin vents onto me and my passengers!! Quick fix @ Saab dealer - £100.

V Poly belt seized, taking several pulleys with it. £300.

SID info panel very hard to read - I'm told a common problem.

Constant overheating in traffic - have to put the heat on full to ensure it doesn't boil over.

Turbo gasket blew.

Turbo charger is about to blow

Drive chains are about to break

...time to get rid!!

General Comments:

Considering the size of the car, it is remarkably quick - but fuel consumption is horrendous - 17mpg on a good day!

Even though I have had the above faults, I am not "annoyed" at saab nor the car- it is nearly 7 years old - what do you expect?!

Nice car to be seen in - paintwork is great, leather seats are very comfortable. I will miss it when it has gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

14th Nov 2005, 06:06

Fuel consumption - 17 mpg is very low:

I got 36.6 mpg on a trip to London and back from Hull, East Yorkshire. I didn't cane it too much, kept pretty much to the limit, and was pleasantly surprised. Around town, well that's a different story, but still not bad considering - currently about 25 mpg. This is on a '99 2.3t auto estate.

Check the read-out is giving the correct units for where you are located. US gallons are smaller than UK gallons. I UK imperial gallon = 1.2 US imperial gallons.

On a general note, change the oil every 6,000 miles and use quality fully synthetic with the new black oil filter recently introduced. That should help keep the engine sludge free, and extend the turbo life.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 35 reviews