1992 SAAB 900 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1992 SAAB 900 Turbo Convertible 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carVolvo V70

Summary:

Best one I've ever driven

Faults:

Nothing, had to replace the convertible top (used to leak, one time I gave someone a ride home from work during a rain storm, stopped at the store to run in & buy milk, and when I got back, she had her umbrella open while sitting in drivers seat).

General Comments:

Love the car, other than the top

Never put a penny in it, runs great, very comfortable, and is a blast in the summer with the top down. Also, it's very warm in the winter.

Only issue: the leather seats are losing their stitching. Also, had to fix the rear electrical harness for the back lights (minor, under $100)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2008

1992 SAAB 900 s hachback 2.4 16 valve from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 16 valve Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Better than good and still going!

Faults:

Drivers seats worn

Have spent 4000 on car in last 2 years.

General Comments:

Our saab 1992 s 2 door hatchback has been and stil is better than good

Our saab runs like new

One of the BETTER THAN GOOD autos we have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2007

1992 SAAB 900 Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles

Summary:

Awesome car which saved my life, but I wish I had more time before I wrecked it

Faults:

Tie rod end cap needed to be replaced when bought at 68000 miles.

Needed new CV joint when bought at 68000 miles.

General Comments:

This car saved my life. It absorbed impact well. I was hit driver side and walked away without a scratch.

This car handles great and the turbo kicks in as it should.

Only complaint I had was that there are no cup holders, but it is well worth the sacrifice of installing some ;).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

1992 SAAB 900 2.1 Liter 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.1 Liter 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

A fine Swedish automobile

Faults:

Nothing major so far.

Radiator hose sprung a leak shortly after I bought the car.

A few electrical problems that I attribute to Saab quirks... central locking works intermittently.

Intermittent wiper setting doesn't work.

Light in instrument cluster hasn't worked since I bought the car... I've gotten used to it.

The A/C sometimes shuts itself off, possibly a fuse problem.

Headliner sagging above driver's seat.

General Comments:

The old 900's have a distinctively quirky look and personality that sets them apart from most other cars on the road.

I wanted a car that didn't look like everyone else's and knew I couldn't go wrong with this one.

Driving this car is an absolutely wonderful experience... the backward mounted 2.1 liter 4 is still pretty smooth for its age and mileage. I initially had reservations about the 3-speed automatic because I'd heard that they tended to be troublesome. Mine has been OK so far.

The paint job is practically flawless and there's no rust to be found anywhere. The interior is in mostly good shape, aside from the saggy headliner (a common 900 problem). The cloth upholstery is still nice looking and the seats are still firm and comfy.

Handling is great and the ride is nice and firm, though it can get a tad harsh on rough roads. Braking is excellent.

Overall my 900 is still in pretty good shape. I love the turn signal cornering lights at night and the side lights that come on when you shift into reverse... I feel like I'm landing a spaceship.

If you want a truly unique car that strangers will compliment you on then definitely consider a 900. Just be ready for a few eccentricities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

12th Nov 2005, 22:25

The old 900's are a work of art, I've had a few and the automatics have always been the worst, if you get a 5spd turbo it will seem like a different animal.

15th Dec 2005, 15:12

Thanks for the comment! I am sad to report that the automatic transmission in my 900 did indeed pass away at 153,000 miles. The car was in pretty good shape otherwise so I ended up selling it to someone who planned to fix it. I definitely plan on having another Saab at some point in the future, but I'm not sure how I feel about the 94-02 900/9-3. Maybe a 9000... but I hear their automatics are also a nightmare. Guess I should learn to drive a manual!

5th Oct 2008, 09:08

I've owned and work on Saabs since 1980, I've owned 96's t0 9000's. I've enjoyed them all. 9-3 9-5's I don't like - they are finicky and a pain to repair.

The main thing with the 900 and 9000 automatics is to change tranny fluid every twenty thousand miles, even if looks like it doesn't need it.

I've learnt with the ones I owned; they out lasted the car.

10th Apr 2010, 20:37

Does anyone know why the headlinings on the 900's sag? I've noticed that in many 900's.

11th Apr 2010, 20:02

The reason the headliners on so many 900s (and 9000s) sag is attributable to the adhesive and clips used. This phenomenon is much worse in hotter climates than cooler, temperate markets.

29th May 2013, 14:32

The reason the headliner sags on any car is that over time the foam layer between the cloth and the adhesive degrades and crumbles. The cloth then sags. There is no other fix other than replacing the cloth headliner, which is glued to the fiberglass headliner shell.

30th May 2013, 15:04

I live in New Zealand, very temperate climate, but I've had a friend with a SAAB 900, and the headliner was also sagged. And even a '93 BMW 320i of another friend, similar problem. So it isn't unique to hot climates. From what I've been told, it's because of the environmentally-friendly adhesive used. Great for keeping the greens happy, but they aren't the ones paying for the repairs, which shouldn't happen in the first place.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews