2004 Saturn ION 2 gas from North America

Summary:

The worst car I have ever had!

Faults:

I know this car has some high mileage on it, but I have had so many problems with it. The biggest problem is it won't start ever! It is very unreliable. Cold weather or extremely hot weather, it doesn't matter. I have replaced the wheel bearings, fuel filters & ignition switch. There was only one other owner besides myself, & he had many problems as well from the get go! I would never buy another one!

General Comments:

The seats rip and stain easily. It never starts, & is very unreliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2011

8th Jul 2011, 01:57

Well it must have started sometime to get to 150K miles.

2004 Saturn ION 1.3 from North America

Summary:

Saturn needs to recall the starting issue

Faults:

I would never buy this car again, and suggest no one else do either.

The power steering went. I spent 450 dollars to get it fixed. It got recalled a month later, but I didn't get my money back from Saturn.

My car randomly won't start in hot or cold weather.

It's an unreliable car. Saturn needs to do a RECALL. So many people are having the same problem and taking it to numerous car shops and never figuring out the issue is a pain! It's a cute car, but not reliable!

General Comments:

The car would be great if it would always start! RECALL!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2011

2004 Saturn ION from North America

Faults:

I do not live in cold weather, and my 2004 Saturn Ion at totally random times will not start. If I leave the car and come back later, it will start right up.

Other than the occasional not starting, the car runs fine. This is very frustrating, and since it only does it at random, it's kind of hard to take it somewhere and get any answers.

This has to be some kind of defect in this model of car; way too many of the same complaints on this issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2011

2004 Saturn ION 2 2.2 from North America

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

My ION2 is a great car.

I love everything about it, but within the last year, the front turn signals have stopped working.

I would love to know if anyone else has had this problem and how they fixed it? I have been told it was a DRL jumper kit any ideas please help.

General Comments:

I love the power and handling of my car, and it goes when you want it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2011

2004 Saturn ION 3 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Great for first 6 years / 135000 miles

Faults:

It has been a good car until last year when it would not start in cold weather. Like some others that had starting problems, it happened in cold weather when outside overnight, but never when in garage. It makes a partial crank, but is like the crank is stuck. Replaced starter with no change in occasional starting issues. Jumping does not help and the battery is new. After waiting it out and trying over and over, it will start and then run rough and immediately stall. After that, I try a few more times and eventually it starts rough, but finally runs OK, and no problem after that.

I can start consistently in the garage, and even when outside, but occasionally, it will fail to start when it is not all that cold and the car was parked outside. It always tries to crank and if I push car in gear, engine turns. It seems like valves are stuck closed and the starter cannot crank against pressure locked cylinders. Any more clues?

I like the car and wanted to keep it another year, but working out of town occasionally gets scary when you can't depend on it starting. Been lucky so far, and only needed to challenge the battery for 15 minutes before it starts on 3rd or 4th crank that actually cranks.

General Comments:

The car has been economical overall, and runs well almost all of the time except when the cold start problem issue exists.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2011

14th Sep 2011, 20:48

You had 135,000 trouble-free miles (6 years) and now you get a problem... so it becomes "the worst car you ever had"???

18th Nov 2011, 11:52

Yes!! I wondered what the deal was. I replaced the battery & starter. I had a mechanic check the sensors. Nothing. For whatever reason, the car does not want to start when the temp is below 32. I realize it has what is considered high mileage for an American car, 112,000. But I sold my Ford Ranger, with 262,000 miles, to get this car. As a single mom, I really expected more from a GM car!