2004 Saturn ION Reviews - Page 4 of 27

2004 Saturn ION 2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carSaturn ION

Summary:

This is the worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

Won't start.

Right blinker flashes rapidly most of the time.

Can't change the setting on the air control; it's stuck on vents, won't switch to the defrost location.

General Comments:

My car won't start most of the time with the first attempt, but if I come back later, it generally will. I don't have time to play the wait until I start game. I have been stranded and late for work because of this.. I have taken it to a mechanic, but it started every time for them, so they said it would have to be acting up before they could diagnose the problem.. jokes on me, I can't drive a non-starting car to the dealer. I feel I got a lemon. I've read where some say it's been on really hot or cold days, but mine has been on really nice days. I just wanted a dependable car, any solutions to this problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st October, 2010

3rd Nov 2010, 12:32

You've put 31,000 miles on the car in a year. :O, that could be a cause of your problems! Have it towed when it doesn't start, don't drive it after it does start.

10th Nov 2011, 10:29

That has nothing to do with it. My Saturn Ion does the same things (and much more), and I put 7,000 on mine in a year, because I live around the corner from my job. Most of the miles on the car are from several round-trips from Kansas to Texas in a year.

2004 Saturn ION 2 2.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Nice time to go out of business

Faults:

Electrical starting problems; usually the alarm system keeps the car from turning over. Seems like the battery is dead.

The real big issue is the timing chain jumping off the gears due to mechanical failure of the self adjuster. This wrecks the valves and costs over a thousand to repair.

GM needs to recall them due to poor engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th August, 2010

2004 Saturn ION 2.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance105487 miles
Previous carSaturn ION

Faults:

I have owned several cars, and have never had the bolts fall out of the struts. This happened to the driver's side while driving. Replaced it. One week later the bolt on the passengers side came loose. Was tightened up. The same thing is happening again. Just a few days apart. So much for a 19 point INSPECTION! Has this happen to anyone else's Saturn ION?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th August, 2010

2004 Saturn ION Series 2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

This car is a serious danger to anyone who has to drive it!

Faults:

No power steering.

Unable to shift in and out of higher gears.

Air conditioning unit has gone out 2 times.

Power windows won't work.

Reverse switch plate replaced.

Won't start in cold weather.

Loses RPMs when too hot outside.

Radio problems.

General Comments:

This car is a serious danger to anyone who has to drive it! I would not recommend this to anyone. I have no choice but to now drive without any power steering. I cannot afford another vehicle, nor to fix the piece of crap that I have (what a waste of money that would be!).

Oh, and don't let the "it won't dent" feature fool you. I won't dent because it cracks instead!

All in all, I'm very thankful that Saturn will no longer be making their version of "Quality vehicles"!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2010

2004 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance81560 miles
Previous carSaturn ION

Summary:

What a nice looking piece of JUNK!

Faults:

Transmission went out 60,452 & 81,000 miles.

Battery died at 65,000.

Power window stopped working at 80,000.

General Comments:

The appearance of the car is very nice, but under the hood is another story! The Saturn Ion has a MAJOR transmission problem, and Saturn is unwilling to fix it!

The leather seats are very cheap!

The power windows always seem stop working for some reason after about a year!

Don’t buy this car! You will be sorry!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2010

2004 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carSaturn ION

Summary:

I love this car!

Faults:

Windshield wiper transmission failed.

Front wheel hub bearing failed.

General Comments:

I have loved this car.

The biggest problem I had was with the windshield wiper transmission. This is the linkage that hooks the windshield wipers to the motor. I had the dealer replace it 3 times, and it still kept failing. I finally bought an aftermarket version on Amazon.com and it worked awesome. It has been redesigned, and the Saturn dealer keeps installing the same cheap plastic one that keeps breaking. I couldn't believe that the one on Amazon was better, but I got it and saw it with my own eyes. The piece that keeps on breaking is metal, instead of the plastic one Saturn sells.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2010

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 95 reviews